(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 28 Sep 2020, 18:12
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
How to install XFE in Bionic Pup?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
geo_c

Joined: 15 Nov 2010
Posts: 126

PostPosted: Thu 15 Aug 2019, 09:28    Post subject:  How to install XFE in Bionic Pup?  

I tried installing a couple XFE file manager packages from the repository into Bionic Pup. They appear to be built for Xenial Pup. They run in Studio 1337, but don't work in Bionic.

Is there an XFE version that runs in Bionic?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13981
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 15 Aug 2019, 09:57    Post subject:  

I suggest that you uninstall all the XFE versions you have tried.
Start over trying to do an install of XFE.

You do not say what version of Bionicpup.
Bionicpup32 8.0 (32bit)
Bionicpup64 8.0 (64bit)
Or any number of other earlier versions.
What????

In Bionicpup64 8.0 (64bit)
Puppy Package Manager(PPM)
First run PPM Database Update.
I downloaded and installed this XFE from PPM.
xfe_1.42-1

Seems to be working for me.

Note:
Gives warning about running as root, but XFE still works.
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   77.64 KB
 Viewed   123 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg


_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
geo_c

Joined: 15 Nov 2010
Posts: 126

PostPosted: Thu 15 Aug 2019, 10:42    Post subject:  

Thanks bigpup,

I'm running 32bit, unfortunately (because I noticed ubuntu support for 32bit will soon be ending), but I'll try the ppm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
geo_c

Joined: 15 Nov 2010
Posts: 126

PostPosted: Fri 16 Aug 2019, 12:38    Post subject:  

Thanks again bigpup!

I forgot about updating the ppm. XFE is working fine!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0552s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0283s) ][ GZIP on ]