Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 14 Dec 2019, 00:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Good place for a Puppy newbie to start?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
levaculik

PostPosted: Fri 13 Sep 2019, 09:51    Post subject:  Good place for a Puppy newbie to start?  

hi guys i'm new to the puppy i was using ubuntu 18.04, i changed it because i needed a lighter distro and i got to the puppy so now i'm confused about the commands and stuff if anyone can tell me a good site to start would be very happy.
bigpup

PostPosted: Fri 13 Sep 2019, 10:22    Post subject:  

Welcome to Puppy Land!

If you are asking about terminal commands.

Well ,first you do not use sudo with commands.
Puppy runs as root user.
sudo not needed.

PuppyLinux Reference Card
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=46435

If you are asking how to do things in Puppy.

How to section of this forum has a lot of how to do something information.

The Puppy menu.
Look in the menu for a program to do what you want to do.
All the major programs have an icon on the desktop.
Most programs have a help or guide you along as you use the program.
Program names may be different from what you have used, but the basic function is there.

Really the only way to learn is just use the program.

First few topics in the Beginners Help section of this forum has a lot of general information.

Puppy School for Beginners
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=115

bigpup

PostPosted: Fri 13 Sep 2019, 10:40    Post subject:  

If you post a problem of ask about a specific process.