(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Sep 2020, 22:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Disable Predictive Network Interface on live CD? [SOLVED]
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 1601
Location: ¿Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.?

PostPosted: Thu 17 Oct 2019, 08:48    Post subject:  Disable Predictive Network Interface on live CD? [SOLVED]  

Doing the following in BionicPup32_19.03 with latest updates.

Trying to disable the Predictive Network Interface in a remastered BionicPup32 live CD so that network interface naming will use the old naming convention such as wlan0 when booting from live CD or live USB

The method to disable Predictive Network Interface in Grub4 menu.lst in puppy is add net.ifnames=0 to the kernel line in menu.lst like this
Code:
kernel /biopup32-new/vmlinuz net.ifnames=0

Referenced from here http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=989998#989998
That works well in a frugal install.

Now trying to apply some form of this kernel line to grub.cfg in a remastered CD that will be booted on different machines as a live CD, I have a need for the network interface name to remain the same between machines.
Using this stock grub.cfg from the live CD
Code:
insmod png
background_image /splash.png
set timeout=10

menuentry "Start upupbb 19.03" {
    linux /vmlinuz pmedia=cd
    initrd /initrd.gz
}

menuentry "Start upupbb 19.03 - RAM only" {
    linux /vmlinuz pfix=ram pmedia=cd
    initrd /initrd.gz
}

menuentry "Start upupbb 19.03 - No X" {
    linux /vmlinuz pfix=nox pmedia=cd
    initrd /initrd.gz
}

menuentry "Start upupbb 19.03 - check filesystem" {
    linux /vmlinuz pfix=fsck pmedia=cd
    initrd /initrd.gz
}

menuentry "Start upupbb 19.03 - No KMS" {
    linux /vmlinuz nomodeset pmedia=cd
    initrd /initrd.gz
}

menuentry "Start upupbb 19.03 - Ram Disk SHell" {
    linux /vmlinuz pfix=rdsh pmedia=cd
    initrd /initrd.gz
}

menuentry "Shutdown" {
   halt
}

menuentry "Reboot" {
   reboot
}


I have also found the Ubuntu way to do this https://michlstechblog.info/blog/linux-disable-assignment-of-new-names-for-network-interfaces/
by adding the following to the kernel line net.ifnames=0 biosdevname=0
Ubuntu uses " " quotation marks around the kernel parameters.
Code:
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="net.ifnames=0 biosdevname=0"


I have tried booting the remastered CD using the ubuntu parameters on the kernel line with and without " " quotation marks.
I have tried booting the remastered CD using the Grub4 puppy parameters on the kernel line with and without the " " quotation marks.

So far there is never a change in the network name when adding the parameter to the kernel line trying both puppy and ubuntu method booting the live CD or live USB

Stuck here with nowhere to go with this, its not a show-stopper just a minor irritant that would be nice to work out.

Anyone made this work on a live CD or live USB?

.

Last edited by perdido on Thu 17 Oct 2019, 12:12; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 1258

PostPosted: Thu 17 Oct 2019, 11:17    Post subject:  

Try adding it to one of the relevant "append" lines in the "isolinux.cfg"
Code:
append pmedia=cd net.ifnames=0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 1601
Location: ¿Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.?

PostPosted: Thu 17 Oct 2019, 11:31    Post subject:  

jafadmin wrote:
Try adding it to one of the relevant "append" lines in the "isolinux.cfg"
Code:
append pmedia=cd net.ifnames=0


Thank you, I will give that a try and report back a little later today.

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 1601
Location: ¿Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.?

PostPosted: Thu 17 Oct 2019, 12:10    Post subject:  

Hi jafadmin,
Thanks for the great help, works perfect!
.....................................................................

This issue is solved Smile

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 1258

PostPosted: Thu 17 Oct 2019, 12:20    Post subject:  

Yep, the CD boots using isolinux (a CD is an iso img)

https://wiki.osdev.org/ISO_9660
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0692s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0401s) ][ GZIP on ]