Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 12 Dec 2019, 02:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Is there a way to adjust the speed of a single mouse click?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Author Message
tallboy


Joined: 21 Sep 2010
Posts: 1572
Location: Drøbak, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 16 Nov 2019, 13:50    Post subject:  Is there a way to adjust the speed of a single mouse click?  

I have had a problem for some time, when I click to open a dir in a new window. It may be related to the mouse itself, because I have seen it in several puppies. I use an optical USB mouse of unknown brand, with L/R buttons and a scroll wheel. If I just click to open, the window I get is usually very small, and does not show all files or dirs inside. When I click slowly - really more press and release, the window opens normally.

I know there are several possibilities when it comes to adjusting double-click speed in .jwm, accelleration and threshold with the input wizard. Settings in ROX are the same I have used for ages.

So, I wonder if there is a way to adjust the speed/response time of a single mouse click?

_________________
True freedom is a live Puppy on a multisession CD/DVD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12987
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 16 Nov 2019, 15:19    Post subject:  

In Rox->Options->Filer Windows

Have you tried to change any of the settings under Auto Resize filer Windows?
Always resize and the largest window size setting?

I have largest window size set to 100%.
Set to always resize.

It seems to do a good job, of making the window big enough, to show all that is in the location being looked at.

However:
If I look at a location that has a large number of items.
The Rox window will cover all of the desktop.
Not really any room left to open another Rox window, to do drag and drop, from one Rox window to another Rox window.
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   26.21 KB
 Viewed   184 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg


_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tallboy


Joined: 21 Sep 2010
Posts: 1572
Location: Drøbak, Norway

PostPosted: Tue 19 Nov 2019, 00:11    Post subject:  

bigpup, I have never used anything but the default ROX setting, in this tahrpup it is 59%. Setting it to 100% and restarting X did not solve the problem. Sad
_________________
True freedom is a live Puppy on a multisession CD/DVD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 1015

PostPosted: Wed 20 Nov 2019, 14:32    Post subject:  

Programmatically, there are two mouse events that get processes by the receiving program; "click" & "release".

There is no mechanics in a normal mouse to process "pressure". It's just a click button that has on/off.

Normally, when you click to select something in a file manager, it waits until the "release" event to process the click.

Exceptions to this are processing drag/drop and "painting" tasks, where the program uses both events to do a task.

I use a USB wireless keyboard & mouse as well, and tested your symptomology here. I failed to replicate your issue. (Bionic64)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0

Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 14538
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Wed 20 Nov 2019, 15:35    Post subject:  

Do you mean change the speed for exactly one mouse click?
(And then you return the speed to the usual speed.) Twisted Evil
Lots of work, if you ask me!
Not a criticism, BTW: you have your reasons,
and it takes all kinds to make a world! Twisted Evil

But seriously:
-- Drag the right bottom corner of your ROX window for the directory to the
size you need (mind you, you can do it from another corner depending on
your window manager)

-- Now right-click on an empty part of the directory inside that ROX window

-- Click "Display" (top entry in the sub-menu)

--Click "Save Current Display Settings" (bottom entry of the sub-sub-menu).

-- Close this ROX window and all others ROX windows (if any others are open)

-- Reopen the ROX window for that directory: it should now have opened with
the size you specified in point one.

This does not provide a general solution to your problem, I understand,
but it's better than nothing.

IHTH

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
Je suis né pour aimer et non pas pour haïr. (Sophocle) /
I was born to love and not to hate. (Sophocles)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
phat7

Joined: 05 Jun 2015
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Fri 22 Nov 2019, 05:52    Post subject: Re: Is there a way to adjust the speed of a single mouse click?  

tallboy wrote:
when I click to open a dir in a new window
click what?
Quote:
Settings in ROX are the same I have used for ages.
Care to tell us what your settings are?

If you suspect that it's related to your mouse, could you try with a different mouse? If you don't have one you could temporarily switch right and left button (Left-handed mouse option in the input wizard) to see if the usually less worn out right button works better.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tallboy


Joined: 21 Sep 2010
Posts: 1572
Location: Drøbak, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2019, 00:09    Post subject:  

jefadmin wrote:
Programmatically, there are two mouse events that get processes by the receiving program; "click" & "release".
There is no mechanics in a normal mouse to process "pressure". It's just a click button that has on/off.
Normally, when you click to select something in a file manager, it waits until the "release" event to process the click.
Exceptions to this are processing drag/drop and "painting" tasks, where the program uses both events to do a task.

OK, I should have been more exact in my desription of the process when a window opens in correct size: I click-hold-release. If I just click-release, a smaller than normal window usually opens, but not always! I have no other functioning optical USB mouse to test, only very old ordinary 3-button mice. It may be a faulty mouse, but I wonder if maybe the mouse reaction speed can be too quick for the USB 2, if such a thing is possible. What I would like to be able to adjust, is the system's registration of the time between click and release, a delay, if you see what I mean.
musher0 wrote:
Do you mean change the speed for exactly one mouse click?
Yes.
phat7 wrote:
click what?
When I click on a dir icon to open it.
Quote:
Care to tell us what your settings are?
Mostly default.
_________________
True freedom is a live Puppy on a multisession CD/DVD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12987
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2019, 01:07    Post subject:  

What version of Puppy?

What version of Rox are you using?

In a terminal
Code:
roxfiler -v
or
Code:
rox -v


Post the results.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
phat7

Joined: 05 Jun 2015
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2019, 02:11    Post subject:  

tallboy wrote:
If I just click-release, a smaller than normal window usually opens, but not always!
How small? You mean the absolute minimum size of 594x89 px? With this size you would be unable to make the window any smaller, your window manager would prevent it. Anyway what you describe is weird. Ever tried with a freshly installed distro? Go from "mostly default" to real default and see what happens.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5656
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2019, 18:33    Post subject:  

@ bigpup/tallboy:-

I generally run with 75%. I find that mostly covers all the bases.

ROX will of course auto-resize to accommodate directories with only a few items, but a window of 75% screen size will show me everything I want to see at any one time.....and if I have to scroll a bit to see the remainder, what of it?

I tend to sub-divide, smaller & smaller, with multiple levels of sub-directory. For my personal 'filing system', it works well, and means I never have windows too big anyway On top of that, it means I can have 4 or 5 windows open on a relatively low-res (by modern standards) 1024x768 monitor, without getting too jammed up.....

Anyway, you, I believe, are talking about the time (in milliseconds) between 'clicking' the button, and 'releasing' the button, yes? AFAIK, you can adjust the interval between double mouse-clicks.....but I don't see there's any possible way to 'adjust' a single-click.

I could, of course, be wrong. It has been known..!! Laughing


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12987
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2019, 20:09    Post subject:  

tallboy wrote:
It may be related to the mouse itself, because I have seen it in several puppies.

If what we have suggested is doing nothing for you.
The mouse is doing this in multiple versions of Puppy.
Good chance it is the mouse.

I am not seeing what you describe.

Still wonder what Rox version you are using.

There has been some tweaking of Rox, but not about your problem.
fixed some rox right click options in the right click menu.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tallboy


Joined: 21 Sep 2010
Posts: 1572
Location: Drøbak, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2019, 00:53    Post subject:  

phat7 wrote:
Anyway what you describe is weird.
I know! Confused
Even weirder: I used Screeny to make a screenshot of a 'small' window, and then the same window in normal size. When I opened /root to view them, I did not find an image in the 'small' window capture, it was empty, 0 byte! Shocked

Mike wrote:
...but I don't see there's any possible way to 'adjust' a single-click
Me neither, that's why I ask you experts! Very Happy

bigpup, right now I use tahr64 6.0.6, where the ROX version is 2.11.
capture12232.png
 Description   
 Filesize   28.53 KB
 Viewed   34 Time(s)

capture12232.png


_________________
True freedom is a live Puppy on a multisession CD/DVD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0632s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0133s) ][ GZIP on ]