Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 11 Dec 2019, 04:12
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Working Python3 with pip?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
LlamaFu

PostPosted: Sat 16 Nov 2019, 17:50    Post subject:  Working Python3 with pip?
Subject description: Trying to get pip to work with python3

Hello All,

I am a novice user of ubuntu and mint. This is my first time really using Puppy linux for anything but system restores. I am all thumbs with the package manager... I was able to install python 3.7 and python3-pip_9.0.1-2.3 from the package installer.

I am able to start python3.7, and Python 3.6 was already installed (I didn't know that at the time)

root# python3.6 -V
Python 3.6.8

root# python3.7 -V
Python 3.7.3

root# pip3 -V
pip 9.0.1 from /usr/lib/python3/dist-packages (python 3.6)

So that leads me to believe Python3.6 should install packages with pip3. But when I try:

root# pip3 install requests
pip is configured with locations that require TLS/SSL, however the ssl module in Python is not available.
Collecting requests
Retrying (Retry(total=4, connect=None, read=None, redirect=None, status=None)) after connection broken by 'SSLError("Can't connect to HTTPS URL because the SSL module is not available.",)': /simple/requests/
Retrying (Retry(total=3, connect=None, read=None, redirect=None, status=None)) after connection broken by 'SSLError("Can't connect to HTTPS URL because the SSL module is not available.",)': /simple/requests/