(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Sep 2020, 12:55
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-810 Final [17 Jan 2020]
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 19 [277 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 17, 18, 19 Next
Author Message
LateAdopter

Joined: 27 May 2011
Posts: 362
Location: Reading UK

PostPosted: Wed 18 Dec 2019, 06:24    Post subject:  

kirk wrote:
Quote:
Fatdog 800 + mesa 18.3.6 + xf86-video-amdgpu 19.1 WILL BOOT

That's three out of three boots. GLXgears scores 12,500, so it's working properly.


But that can't really work. The xf86-video-amdgpu-19.1.0-x86_64-1 package is compiled for 810's xorg-server and will not work with the one in 800/803. So what's probably happening is the xorg-server tries to load xf86-video-amdgpu and fails because it's not compiled for it, and then falls back to xf86-video-ati or maybe even the generic modesetting driver. So what you're essentially doing is removing the xf86-video-amdgpu package.

Ha! Ha! After years of trying to make sense of the linux display driver tower of cards, I think I may be ahead of you. I've been off AMD for a few years but I'm up to speed now.

For xf86 it's only the ABI 24 that matters. I have attached the Xorg.0.log which you can see is for xserver 1.20.3 and does successfully initialise amdgpu.

With RadeonSI and later there seems to be an implied dependency between mesa and the xserver. This probably doesn't apply to i965 or Radeon that don't use libglamoregl.
It looks like mesa needs to have been built against an xserver version that is equal too or later than the version to be used. So it should be possible to update or backport mesa without recompiling the xserver. But, if you update the xserver, then mesa needs to be recompiled.

Looking at the dates of the packages mesa 18.3.6 was built after the xserver FD800 and before the xserver in FD810. According to my hypothesis that means that it will work with FD800 but not with FD810.
Xorg.0.log.fd800.gz
Description  FD800 with mesa 18.3.6 xf86-video-amdgpu 19.1 on Athlon 3000G
gz

 Download 
Filename  Xorg.0.log.fd800.gz 
Filesize  6.54 KB 
Downloaded  206 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1802

PostPosted: Wed 18 Dec 2019, 09:44    Post subject:  

stemsee wrote:
has permissions for fixmenus changed?

It's been like this for a while now.
We use fatdog-jwm-xdgmenu.sh script (which in turn uses jwm-xdgmenu binary) instead.
But it makes sense only if you use JWM. Otherwise LxQt-Panel is capable of refreshing the menu on its own.
If you use JWM indeed, after installing a package you need to run 'Menu -> Window Manager -> Restart JWM' to refresh the menu.

Quote:
Also for running Ardour 5.12 (available in repo) libaubio needs installing. This one works https://packages.slackonly.com/pub/packages/14.2-x86_64/libraries/aubio/aubio-0.4.9-x86_64-1_slonly.txz

aubio-0.4.7-x86_64.txz is also in the repo.

Quote:
Also running qjackctl locks up the entire system.

Yep, it does that for some reason, but we're not alone: http://linux-audio.4202.n7.nabble.com/qjackctl-freezing-desktop-td104541.html
I just rebuilt it with the suggested '--disable-xunique' option and it doesn't freeze anymore.
I'll let James know about it.
___________

don570 wrote:
There is a small change to Zigbert's pfilesearch ...
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1044707#1044707
It works in fatdog64...

Thanks, it's in.

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1552
Location: florida

PostPosted: Wed 18 Dec 2019, 10:48    Post subject:  

Quote:
For xf86 it's only the ABI 24 that matters. I have attached the Xorg.0.log which you can see is for xserver 1.20.3 and does successfully initialise amdgpu


Yes, if there's not much change in the xorg-server then it can work. Forgot the xorg-server hasn't had a major update in the past year. We'll recompile mesa for final and you can see if that helps. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 403

PostPosted: Wed 18 Dec 2019, 12:14    Post subject: remaster question  

I ran into a puzzling situation when trying to remaster a hard drive frugal
installation. I had added firefox and a old version of thunderbird without
being concerned with removing anything I'm not interested in. So the initrd
size was expected to increase by maybe 200 to 300 mb.

My remasters are being done using the humongous initrd. Instead of /tmp
I aim the result at a very large ext3 partition (/mnt/home).

While booting the remaster I got a error message saying there was
insufficient ram. But I have 4gb ... so what gives? After doing the remaster
again and getting the same error message, I removed seamonkey and
libreoffice. No error message when booting and the remaster works
perfectly.

So color me puzzled Smile

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3725

PostPosted: Wed 18 Dec 2019, 13:29    Post subject: Re: remaster question  

artsown wrote:
I ran into a puzzling situation when trying to remaster a hard drive frugal
installation. I had added firefox and a old version of thunderbird without
being concerned with removing anything I'm not interested in. So the initrd
size was expected to increase by maybe 200 to 300 mb.

My remasters are being done using the humongous initrd. Instead of /tmp
I aim the result at a very large ext3 partition (/mnt/home).

While booting the remaster I got a error message saying there was
insufficient ram. But I have 4gb ... so what gives? After doing the remaster
again and getting the same error message, I removed seamonkey and
libreoffice. No error message when booting and the remaster works
perfectly.

So color me puzzled Smile

Art

Are you loading/running all in ram?

https://www.lightofdawn.org/blog/?viewDetailed=00128

If the uncompressed size is getting on for 2GB (IIRC the standard uncompressed size is around 1.2GB), but you expand that by 300MB of compressed, perhaps 900MB of uncompressed (2.1GB) alongside 700MB of compressed (rounding combined 3GB total), then after graphics and the main system also take their slice I would have thought that would 'fit', but in your case apparently not.

Not using humongous and not loading into ram would be the solution (or at least worth giving a try to see if that loads/runs OK).

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 403

PostPosted: Wed 18 Dec 2019, 14:20    Post subject:  

rufwoof, thanks much for the quick response and link to james's tutorial.
Since my results aren't totally unreasonable, I doubt that I'll fiddle with
the issue any longer. I just hope that other users will be alerted to be
careful because of this discussion. It sure took me by surprise! Smile

EDIT: Well, I did eventually "fiddle", and I'm now using a method that
allows me to use the standard humongous initrd. I have firefox (199 meg)
and thunderbird (64 meg) extracted folders on the home partition instead
of in /opt. The only package removed from fatdog is seamonkey. Added to
fatdog are qpdfview, gtk+3, my traytemp, and some smaller items.

I share the firefox and tbird folders with a few puppies on the same partition.

The remastered fatdog is not only quick to boot, it runs beautifully fast
using a save folder that's relatively small in size.

Art

Last edited by artsown on Mon 23 Dec 2019, 06:26; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 3475
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Wed 18 Dec 2019, 21:35    Post subject:  

kirk wrote:
Quote:
For xf86 it's only the ABI 24 that matters. I have attached the Xorg.0.log which you can see is for xserver 1.20.3 and does successfully initialise amdgpu


Yes, if there's not much change in the xorg-server then it can work. Forgot the xorg-server hasn't had a major update in the past year. We'll recompile mesa for final and you can see if that helps. Thanks.


To follow up kirk: we've recompiled mesa and pushed to the package repo. You can try that now if you want to test it, or otherwise you can wait until final.

_________________
Fatdog64 forum links: Latest version | Contributed packages | ISO builder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LateAdopter

Joined: 27 May 2011
Posts: 362
Location: Reading UK

PostPosted: Thu 19 Dec 2019, 10:27    Post subject:  

Hello jamesbond

Yes that build of mesa works with Fatdog 800 AND Fatdog 810.

I have booted three times and run glxgears each time. Everything looks normal.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 403

PostPosted: Mon 23 Dec 2019, 06:46    Post subject: htop.desktop  

Minor glitch in the beta. When htop.desktop is dragged out to the desktop
and used, two terminals appear.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2572
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Mon 23 Dec 2019, 07:11    Post subject:  

thanks @SFR

qjackctl updated through gslapt ... all good!

stemsee
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
peterw

Joined: 19 Jul 2006
Posts: 431
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 26 Dec 2019, 08:13    Post subject: RAM Issue with booting a Chromebook with Puppy  

Just a note for anyone that gets affected to say that when booting Fatdog or Puppy on a Chrome book you may find that it can't because of a RAM memory problem. The answer is to add the comment "mem=1950m" to your boot manager as below.

menuentry "Fatdog-800 (sda1/fatdog-800)" {
set root=(hd0,1)
linux /fatdog-800/vmlinuz mem=1950m pmedia=atahd psubdir=fatdog-800
initrd /fatdog-800/initrd
}

That is for a grub2 boot manager and the same idea works with grub4dos:

title Fatdog64 (sda1/fatdog)
uuid 735cd2a0-7ef5-4981-bce4-c9c695a1c82f
kernel /fatdog/vmlinuz mem=1950m psubdir=fatdog pmedia=atahd pfix=fsck
initrd /fatdog/initrd

Apparently, after Puppy or Fatdog boots it will then use all the RAM you have and will not be limited to 1950 MB.

There is a UEFI full ROM version that you can get from Mrchromebox and I am not certain but I suspect that it will have cured the issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peterw

Joined: 19 Jul 2006
Posts: 431
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 26 Dec 2019, 08:44    Post subject: Sound Card Drivers  

I am trying to help a member out over here. http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=117617&start=30. And he has a Chrome book Acer R11 CYAN with a full UEFI ROM. His issue is with sound and it has a Maxim 98090 chip. This came up in Fatdog earlier with reports of burnt out speakers when jd7654 tried compiling his own and vtpup also trying[url] http://45.33.15.200/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=115537&start=105&sid=5cfb4db5e161f5aa93f5dc1b694b875e[/url].

Now, I don't believe prell is too worried what flavour of Puppy/Fatdog he uses. In Bionic and other Puppies I see that "CONFIG_SND_SOC is not set" in the kernel which, I think gives the option to include the driver for that maxim 98090 and others. Through ignorance, I can't find the Dotconfig for Fatdog and don't know if that CONFIG setting is the same. Can someone please advise?

If it is not included, can someone point me in the right direction as to how to compile a driver for the kernel or do I have to recompile the whole kernel? And then do what?

Apart from trying to help, tasks such as these help increase my understanding which is not brilliant.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1802

PostPosted: Thu 26 Dec 2019, 09:50    Post subject:  

artsown wrote:
Minor glitch in the beta. When htop.desktop is dragged out to the desktop
and used, two terminals appear.

Thanks, fixed.
For the time being you can edit this line in /usr/share/applications/htop.desktop:
Code:
Terminal=true

Just change it to false.
___________

peterw wrote:
I can't find the Dotconfig for Fatdog

Try:
Code:
zgrep 'CONFIG_SND_SOC' /proc/config.gz

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peterw

Joined: 19 Jul 2006
Posts: 431
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 26 Dec 2019, 17:28    Post subject: Thanks SFR  

Thanks for that SFR. On my version of Fatdog I see "CONFIG_SND_SOC is not set" and so the option has not been set for that max 98090 chip.

I have since discovered that kernel 5.2 was a major upgrade for sound on Linux.
"Linux 5.2 includes Sound Open Firmware (SOF) project, which has been created to reduce firmware issues by providing an open source platform to create open source firmware for audio DSPs. The SOF project is backed by Intel and Google. This will enable users to have open source firmware, personalize it, and also use the power of the DSP processors in their sound cards in imaginative ways."
So in the future that should solve some problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5524
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 28 Dec 2019, 15:20    Post subject: linux kernel news  

linux kernel news...

http://lkml.iu.edu/hypermail/linux/kernel/1912.2/04661.html

Quote:
Last week, Linux kernel developer Greg Kroah-Hartman announced the 18th maintenance update (5.3.18 ) for the Linux 5.3 kernel series. This version has changed a total of 59 files, inserting 369 items / removing 329 items. In addition, developers point out that this will be the last maintenance update for the Linux 5.3 kernel series. As Linux Kernel 5.3 arrives in EoL, users are advised to update to Linux Kernel 5.4 in time to obtain comprehensive support and guarantee.
Greg Kroah-Hartman stated in the email announcement that after the support of Linux Kernel 5.3 expires, he will no longer receive maintenance updates for critical security issues or bugs, and interested friends can read the 5.3.y Git Tree .

Both ordinary Linux users and distribution vendors, once again, strongly recommend that you upgrade your OS to the latest Linux 5.4 kernel series. If this is not currently possible, please update to at least 5.3.18.



_______________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 19 [277 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 17, 18, 19 Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.3228s ][ Queries: 12 (0.1585s) ][ GZIP on ]