64-bit Google-Chrome 'portable' packages

Browsers, email, chat, etc.
Mike Walsh

64-bit Google-Chrome 'portable' packages

#1 Post by Mike Walsh »

'Portable' builds of Google Chrome

Evening, all.

Okay. This will be the last one from me.....I promise! :lol: :lol:

I only started messing about with these Chromium-based 'portables' around a week ago. I've had the idea for doing one at the back of my mind for a long time, but it's only recently that several wee snippets of code have steadily come together all at the same time.....as a result of which there's been an explosion of Chromium portable 'clones' over the last few days.

Purely at random, I started playing around with Opera a week ago. It worked well; so well, in fact, that I began experimenting with my favourite Chromium 'clone', Iron. After some false starts, I finally cobbled together a set-up that worked (thanks to a snippet of code proffered by Fred), and put together a couple of packages the night before last.

I had a play around with getting a portable Chrome to run yesterday.....but it wasn't playing ball. Complaints in the terminal about not being able to get a 'SingletonLock', and errors when it came to creating, and populating, the profile directory, so I put it on the back burner.

---------------------------------------------

I'd been following the thread by RickGT351 about getting the 'Brave' browser running in Xenialpup64. Earlier today, I got a PM from Mikeslr, with the suggestion that since I seemed to be 'on a roll' with these portables, why not take a crack at one for Brave? Not one to turn down a challenge, I set to.....