(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 27 Nov 2020, 13:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
How to install Bionicpup64 8.0 on UEFI?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 12 [180 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
3guesses

Joined: 30 Sep 2014
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jan 2020, 20:19    Post subject:  How to install Bionicpup64 8.0 on UEFI?
Subject description: Asus Transformer T100TA
 

OK, so my current project is to get Puppy working on a machine (Asus Transformer T100TA) which only supports UEFI (ie no BIOS/MSDOS/CSM boot).

I have managed to boot into Bionic Puppy 8.0 x64 live CD by creating a memory stick using Rufus v2.8.1213 and the ISO. However, after booting when I tried to install to the [eMMC] hard drive, Puppy refused saying it doesn't support UEFI - yet clearly Rufus managed to get it to work with UEFI.

So, the inevitable question: it would seem that it should be possible to install Puppy to a UEFI system, so how can you do it? I have installed antiX 19 on the machine (and can boot into it so that I can work on this), created a 3GB NTFS partition and copied the bionicpup64-8_0-uefi.iso to the root of it, and then added the following to grub.cfg:

Code:
menuentry "(0,5) Start bionicpup64 8.0" {
    loopback loop0 (hd0,gpt5)/bionicpup64-8_0-uefi.iso
    linux (loop0)/vmlinuz pfix=ram pmedia=cd
    initrd (loop0)/initrd.gz
}


This starts to boot Puppy, but then bombs out because it can't find "sda1 /puppy_bionicpup64_8.0.sfs". I have very little experience of GRUB2 and even less of UEFI, so I don't actually have much of a clue as to what I'm doing and am just winging it. Does anybody have any ideas how to get Puppy working from the hard disk (rather than USB), either as a frugal or a full install?

TIA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 13653
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jan 2020, 23:00    Post subject:  

Can you get into the BIOS and change any settings?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 4499
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 19 Jan 2020, 02:53    Post subject:  

He is running Ubuntu, but that doesn't matter.

Look at the video to turn off MS crap boot options.

:::::::::

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nsp8XFcAS7o

Running Ubuntu on the Asus Transformer Book T100\

Go to settings as he describes..

On reboot >>>> HOLD down F2 key

Bionic Puppy 8.0 x64 should work....others will advise as to that.

:::::

And good or bad get back to us so we know a good answer for the next person who asks.

Welcome to Puppy.

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup

Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 1141

PostPosted: Sun 19 Jan 2020, 06:39    Post subject: Re: How to install Bionicpup64 8.0 on UEFI?
Subject description: Asus Transformer T100TA
 

3guesses wrote:
created a 3GB NTFS partition and copied the bionicpup64-8_0-uefi.iso to the root of it, and then added the following to grub.cfg:
Shocked This is not a standard way to install a Puppy, nor any other OS.
The iso you use has to be prepared/fit to boot this way.
There have been made such Puppy isos lately. If you want to try this anyway read this:
https://github.com/puppylinux-woof-CE/woof-CE/issues/1672

You better do a standard frugal install:
Reformat the 3G NTFS partition into ext3 or ext4. (This is not absolutely necessary.)
Put vmlinuz, initrd.gz, puppy_bionicpup64_8.0.sfs and zdrv_bionicpup64_8.0.sfs from the iso in a map /bionicpup648.0 on this partition.
Add this to the grub.cfg:
Code:
menuentry 'Puppy bionicpup64 8.0' {
search --file --set root --no-floppy /bionicpup648.0/initrd.gz
  linux /bionicpup648.0/vmlinuz pmedia=usbflash pfix=fsck psubdir=/bionicpup648.0/
  initrd /bionicpup648.0/initrd.gz
}


Just 1 other thing:
As cthisbear said, you have to "turn off MS crap boot options".
That means you have to turn off secure boot, probably also hibernation and fast boot.
You have to look in your BIOS and in windows to do that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
3guesses

Joined: 30 Sep 2014
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Sun 19 Jan 2020, 18:37    Post subject:  

Hi all,

OK, well thanks for all the responses - I'll try to deal with all of them in one go.

@Flash:
Yes, BIOS access straightforward (Delete key during boot).

@cthisbear:
That video just shows how to change the BIOS settings to be able to boot into Ubuntu - I have already changed the UEFI settings in the BIOS so that I could boot into (and install into a partition on the hard drive) antiX v19.

@foxpup:
I have developed a very personal approach to the hard drive configuration on my PCs. Up until now, I have only ever used the MSDOS/BIOS schema (ie not UEFI), and I have predominantly used Windows XP as my OS for the past ~20 years. So the way I configure my PCs' hard drives is to have 3 primary partitions (the first of which at least is for XP) and then one large extended partition containing a) 1 large NTFS logical partition called Local Store (common data storage on the PC) and then b) any number of logical partitions for (full) Linux distro installations. (I have now recently updated this configuration so that Local Store also has a directory tree /os/puppy/ for various frugal Puppy installations). The Local Store partition also holds menu.lst as used by Grub4Dos installed to the MBR of the hard drive.

Anyway, to get back to the T100TA, I have since tried to do a frugal install to the hard drive (even though the Puppy Installer warns that it can't do that!) but booting it bombs out with the same "sda1 cannot find Puppy .sfs file" despite having a "search --set=root" line in grub.cfg to set the root to the 3GB NTFS partition containing the frugal Puppy install. I'm guessing my grub.cfg is just not right (I always use Grub4Dos, not GRUB2).

One thing I am finding confusing is that Puppy (live booted from USB) shows desktop icons for drives mmcblk2p1 to mmcblk2p6 (Puppy is on ...p5, antiX on ...p6) yet also shows icons for drives sda1 and sda4 (I think). As I said, confusing! Confused

Anyway, I had thought about just copying the various files from a frugal install on another machine (in the same way you suggested doing from the ISO), or even just copying the contents of the live USB memory stick created by Rufus, but both methods seem a bit messy and since the frugal installer actually ran I suspect it's a matter of getting the grub.cfg entry right.

Aside: What is *REALLY* annoying is that when Puppy fails to boot (after reporting that the .sfs file can't be found) it's then not possible to reboot the PC - typing "reboot" at the command line or pressing Ctrl-Alt-Delete brings up the message "reboot: Restarting system" and it just hangs, forcing a power-off/power-on cycle Evil or Very Mad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
3guesses

Joined: 30 Sep 2014
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Sun 19 Jan 2020, 18:40    Post subject:  

One quick thought: do I need to specify "root=" in the kernel line, and if so what do I set it to - "(hd0,gpt5)"?

EDIT: Tried that and it didn't work.

The problem seems to be that the loader/kernel is looking for the .sfs file on sda1 - here's what I get when I try to boot Puppy with the GRUB2 commands:
linux /os/puppy/bionicpup648.0frugal/vmlinuz pmedia=usbflash pfix=fsck psubdir=/os/puppy/bionicpup648.0frugal
initrd /os/puppy/bionicpup648.0frugal/initrd.gz
Code:

*** bionicpup64 8/0 - Linux 4.19.23 (x86_64) ***
Waiting for USB storage ... done
Finding puppy main sfs file. failed
Dumping last lines of /tmp/bootinit.log
TRY_PARTS='sda1|ntfs
'
4: ONE_PART=sda
6: ONE_PART=sda1 ONE_TRY_FN=/os/puppy/bionicpup648.0frugal/puppy_bionicpup64_8_0.sfs PDRV=
Dumping last lines of kernel log ...
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] No Caching mode page found
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Assuming drive cache: write through
 sda: sda1
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Attached SCSI disk
*** sda1 /os/puppy/bionicpup648.0frugal/puppy_bionicpup64_8_0.sfs not found.
*** Error is too critical, dropping out to console...

Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
3guesses

Joined: 30 Sep 2014
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Sun 19 Jan 2020, 19:38    Post subject:  

One final thought (I'm really at a dead-end now): is it because the hard drive is using the GPT schema (rather than BIOS/MSDOS)?

I hate UEFI.
I hate GPT.
In fact I just hate computers. Some of the time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
3guesses

Joined: 30 Sep 2014
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Sun 19 Jan 2020, 19:44    Post subject:  

(Sorry I lied.)

The loopback entries for GRUB2 (referred to in post 1) were based on this thread:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=818727#818727

Told you I was winging it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 1258

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jan 2020, 06:22    Post subject:  

If I'm reading correctly, you are trying to boot a BionicPup64 ISO using Grub2.

This is not how to boot Puppy Linux ISO's. To boot puppy linux ISO's, you need to use Grub4Dos.

You should be booting BionicPup64 as a frugal install when using Grub2.

Shortcut frugal install for Grub2:
Make a directory on the partition of your choice for BionicPup64 which contains these 4 files from the ISO image:
1) "puppy_bionicpup64_8.0.sfs"
2) "zdrv_bionicpup64_8.0.sfs"
3) "initrd.gz"
4) "vmlinuz"

Then use this menu entry in grub.cfg on the fat32 partition:
Code:
menuentry 'BionicPup64 8.0' {
   set root=(hd0,msdos2) # Or (hd0,gpt5), etc ..
   linux   /BionicPup64/vmlinuz   psubdir=BionicPup64 pmedia=usbflash pfix=fsck
   initrd   /BionicPup64/initrd.gz
}

If you do this, I can assure you that Robert is your mother's brother.

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup

Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 1141

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jan 2020, 06:56    Post subject:  

3guesses wrote:
(Sorry I lied.)

The loopback entries for GRUB2 (referred to in post 1) were based on this thread:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=818727#818727

Told you I was winging it!
Fatdog supports loopback, indeed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup

Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 1141

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jan 2020, 07:08    Post subject:  

3guesses wrote:

installations). The Local Store partition also holds menu.lst as used by Grub4Dos installed to the MBR of the hard drive.

I'm guessing my grub.cfg is just not right (I always use Grub4Dos, not GRUB2).
It's not clear to me: you use Grub4Dos or grub2?
There are 2 possibilities and they exclude each other on an internal HD:

- gpt, EFI, grub2 with grub.cfg

- msdos with mbr, legacy boot, grub4dos with menu.lst

You cannot mix them (without complications) on a HD (or on 1/the same disc).

Let us know what you have: gpt or msdos/mbr.
You can see with gparted.

You can often enable legacy boot/CSM with mbr on a EFI machine, but you have to boot from a disc with mbr then, like a pendrive.
(For legacy boot from your HD you reformat your gpt HD to msdos/mbr, but I would not do that.)

Last edited by foxpup on Mon 20 Jan 2020, 08:43; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup

Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 1141

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jan 2020, 07:15    Post subject: frugal install  

3guesses wrote:
Anyway, I had thought about just copying the various files from a frugal install on another machine (in the same way you suggested doing from the ISO), or even just copying the contents of the live USB memory stick created by Rufus, but both methods seem a bit messy
Do it anyway, it should be allright.

But do not use sda2/os/puppy/bionicpup648.0frugal.
This is too 'deep'. Just go one directory deep from root of partition.
sda2/bionicpup648.0frugal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 1258

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jan 2020, 07:44    Post subject:  

foxpup wrote:

There are 2 possibilities and they exclude each other on an internal HD:

- gpt, EFI, grub2 with grub.cfg

- msdos with mbr, legacy boot, grub4dos with menu.lst

You cannot mix them (without complications) on a HD.

Grub2 can do either "msdos" or "gpt" with EFI.

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
thinkpadfreak

Joined: 17 Oct 2016
Posts: 98

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jan 2020, 09:08    Post subject:  

3guesses wrote:
> One thing I am finding confusing is that Puppy (live booted from USB) shows desktop icons for drives mmcblk2p1 to mmcblk2p6 (Puppy is on ...p5, antiX on ...p6) yet also shows icons for drives sda1 and sda4 (I think). As I said, confusing!

I wonder if the internal drive of the machine is eMMC.
I am not sure, but I heard somewhere that Puppy cannot boot from eMMC drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup

Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 1141

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jan 2020, 09:18    Post subject:  

jafadmin wrote:
Grub2 can do either "msdos" or "gpt" with EFI.
Yes!

But the bootloader is another one.
For legacy/mbr it is often some .img (e.g. core.img)
For EFI it is .efi (e.g. grubx64.efi)

Besides Grub2 (GNU Grub) and Puppy's favorite Grub4Dos, there are other bootloaders/bootmanagers like syslinux, lilo, refind, ntldr, ...
Their capabilities (mbr or efi) vary.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 12 [180 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.9130s ][ Queries: 11 (0.8046s) ][ GZIP on ]