(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 21 Oct 2020, 00:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to install educational package Gcompris?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
Tattyjacket

Joined: 07 Mar 2017
Posts: 15
Location: Cardiff, South Wales

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jan 2020, 08:46    Post subject:  How to install educational package Gcompris?
Subject description: Something missing?
 

Hi,
I'm trying to install an educational package Gcompris.

I've started the Package Manager.
I've searched for the package.
Found it.

Then, nothing much appears to happen. I'm given options to download or Step By Step install.....but whichever I pick, nothing appears to happen.

What amI missing?

Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup

Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 1141

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jan 2020, 09:19    Post subject:  

What Puppy are you using?
For old ones the repos are not available anymore.

How are you using Puppy?
As a frugal install?
With pupsave?
On harddisc or from USB?

Also, update the database in PPM. (button Configure... )

GCompris has a lot of dependencies.
In dpupStretch it adds up to 200M.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tattyjacket

Joined: 07 Mar 2017
Posts: 15
Location: Cardiff, South Wales

PostPosted: Sun 26 Jan 2020, 10:24    Post subject:  

Ubuntu Bionic x86 32-bit BionicPup32 8.0 I think. Is there a way to find out now that it is installed?

I believe I chose a Frugal install.....not sure about pup save...from a USB

Now that is the thing....my problem with Puppy Linux.

Far too many choices to make on installation.

This is what I was trying to achieve....a totally clean installation with all other data removed from the hard drive. I didn't get that. I still have a version of Lubuntu installed which I'd have continued using had it no been for the fact that I couldn't get the wifi to work.
Wifi works with Puppy but really struggling with anything else.
Sorry to be such a grouch.

Oh.....and you know the tick box that says, Please notify me when a reply is posted....that doesn't appear to be working.
Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup

Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 1141

PostPosted: Sun 26 Jan 2020, 13:29    Post subject:  

Tattyjacket wrote:
Ubuntu Bionic x86 32-bit BionicPup32 8.0 I think. Is there a way to find out now that it is installed?
DISTR_SPECS in /etc .
I need DISTRO_NAME and DISTRO_TARGETARCH.
Quote:
I believe I chose a Frugal install.....not sure about pup save...from a USB
I understand you boot from USB.
Not sure whether you have Puppy on the HDD and whether you use a pupsave and where this would be (HDD or usb).
Frugal is the best way for Puppy. That way Puppy can exist next to other OS (ubuntu, windows...).
Quote:
Now that is the thing....my problem with Puppy Linux.

Far too many choices to make on installation.
Sometimes, yes.
E.g. there really should be no choice about full or frugal install, frugal is the best way.

Thank you for the information.
I will try myself now to get gcompris on Bionicpup32 and to provide a package.
I will be back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tattyjacket

Joined: 07 Mar 2017
Posts: 15
Location: Cardiff, South Wales

PostPosted: Mon 27 Jan 2020, 06:22    Post subject:  

Definitely Bionicpup32 19.03

Almost certain that I picked Frugal.

Puppy is installed to a hard drive, alongside an installation of Lubuntu....I can pick which distro I want to use at start up.

Thanks
Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 2202
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Mon 27 Jan 2020, 12:10    Post subject:  

I tried in a fresh boot of BionicPup32 and can only confirm. It installs gcompris-qt with about 140M of data in total and although it starts there are lots of graphic elements not displaying. This version depends on Qt5 (in addition to being from kde which is often not ideal in Puppy) and perhaps some Qt5 plugins are missing or installed but not found or something.

Interestingly in my Dpup Stretch (after updating PPM database) it installs what looks like an older version of gcompris. The total size is more like 180M but it does appear to be trying to actually work with graphics displaying.
gcompris.jpg
 Description   This is in Dpup Stretch
 Filesize   56.1 KB
 Viewed   94 Time(s)

gcompris.jpg


_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup

Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 1141

PostPosted: Tue 28 Jan 2020, 06:56    Post subject: quick update  

Just a quick update of my findings.

Gcompris does not work for me in Bionicpup32 either.
Still working on this, but that may be beyond my capabilities.

It does however work in DpupBuster32 from josejp2424.
I have sounds but no backgroundmusic, but that could be me not handling volume control well.

Gcompris uses PulseAudio, but most Puppys have Apulse. The DpupBusters from josejp24 have PulseAudio.
But that may not explain all failures in other Puppys.

I have tried both, installation through PPM and using the download for linux on the download page from Gcompris.net.
The latter one contains some dependencies already and is like a portable.
Both installs have the same result for me.

OscarTalks wrote:
Interestingly in my Dpup Stretch (after updating PPM database) it installs what looks like an older version of gcompris.

On the developer's corner they explain they have changed from legacy (Gtk+/C/python) to a new version (QtQuick/QML/JS/C++).

A long time ago there were some Puppys for kids.
I remember HanSamBen. It has gcompris and more. You can find it on archive.org.
For playing there was Legacy Gamer.
There is a 2017 version of Legacy OS, and it has lots of extras, e.g. Gcompris. Smile
Maybe worth a try??
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tattyjacket

Joined: 07 Mar 2017
Posts: 15
Location: Cardiff, South Wales

PostPosted: Tue 28 Jan 2020, 08:34    Post subject: Big thanks  

Big thanks for all of your efforts. I have got Tux Paint working. I’ll stick with that for now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1792s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0942s) ][ GZIP on ]