Do I need to install Linux before Puppy?

Booting, installing, newbie
Bear77

#1 Post by Bear77 »

Ok complete beginner and I've read loads of threads but cannot find the answer. I've downloaded Bionicpup x64 but it says Kernel not loaded when I try and run it from a flash drive. Do I need to have a base version of Linux installed first?

Thank you for reading

Semme

#2 Post by Semme »

Welcome Bear, mate!

Tell us about how you installed. If from Windows, which program was used?

One other question is worth asking. Are you familiar with GParted, a Linux partitioning software?
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<

Burn_IT

#3 Post by Burn_IT »

No, to answer your question.
Puppy IS a version of Linux.
It is different to the usual Linuxes, but that is why it is so good.
It does NOT try to take over your machine, but is happy to allow you to run Windows if you like and have Puppy live along side it- even sharing the kennels ( disk partitions).
"Just think of it as leaving early to avoid the rush" - T Pratchett

taersh

Re: Do I need to install Linux before Puppy?

#4 Post by taersh »

Bear77 wrote:Ok complete beginner and I've read loads of threads but cannot find the answer. I've downloaded Bionicpup x64 but it says Kernel not loaded when I try and run it from a flash drive. Do I need to have a base version of Linux installed first?

Thank you for reading
Please, give some more information about the machine, flash drive, frugal or "full" installation, how installed (like Semme already mentioned). The more information is provided the better results will return to help you.
Last edited by taersh on Tue 07 Jul 2020, 14:59, edited 1 time in total.

Semme

#5 Post by Semme »

No need to be overwhelmed Bear. The opening question answered in a brief manner will do. :wink:
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<