Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Dec 2014, 02:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Cheap machines ideal for Puppy
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 7 of 11 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 Next
Author Message
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1321

PostPosted: Tue 08 Jul 2008, 01:03    Post_subject: serious or not, it wasn't a good suggestion  

@Aitch,

Alright Aitch, I guess you can't lighten up, even for a moment.

So, here's the explanation, the licensing started years before Cromwell became Lord Protector in 1653. Calling Cromwell a dictator sounds pretty grim, calling him a monarch puts him on a par with other rulers of England. Check on how many of those either dissolved parliament, usurped parliamentary powers, or never bothered to call it into session, before you object that there's a fundamental difference. Considered as a monarch, Cromwell didn't do all that badly, compared to near contemporaries. (Consider the earlier effects of Henry VIII or Mary Tudor on people with differing religious opinions. Consider the situation in France or Spain.)
Added: Check this Wikipedia article for more particulars. For a semi-popular book about him, I recommend Antonia Fraser's biography, which follows a revisionist view of his character that started a few decades ago.

His excesses, and those of the restoration, led in a direct path to constitutional monarchy. When James II attempted to draw Britain back into the Catholic sphere of influence, William and Mary were offered a throne with strings attached, and accepted the conditions, setting an important precedent. A limited form of religious toleration was a necessary part of their rule. My ancestors could be recognized as non-conformists without losing important parts of anatomy. The reference I found about licensing presses was part of a process which provoked Milton's Areopagitica, and propelled the idea of freedom of the press into public consciousness. Cromwell's attempts at blue laws ended up producing a city with his name and, apparently, considerable looseness.

In my lifetime we have repeatedly had one group in power making fools of themselves, while the opposition plotted to regain power by offering alternatives. Over a period of time some changes become irreversible. There is no longer a question about having a person described as "black" in a cabinet position, on the Supreme Court, or as head of the Joint Chiefs of Staff. Maybe it didn't all happen the way you would like, but it did happen. I don't think there is a question about the top spot any longer. There have been other changes I have approved, and many I have not, but we have been adapting, slowly, imperfectly, it is true.

This is all pluralism in action. There have been many other episodes in history which produced a great deal of bloodshed, a change in government, and not much else, certainly nothing of lasting value. If I can't bring my government into conformity with your opinions momentarily, are you seriously calling for a descent into an abyss which has been repeatedly explored? Do you really believe in democracy, even if people are sometimes wrong? Do you really believe in legal protection for those who disagree with you?

The term "politically correct" raises my hackles. So does the idea of "right-thinking people" all agreeing. The idea of tearing up a constitution, even if flawed, brings back unpleasant memories. Unless you've actually seen what happens when secret police are given free rein, with your own precious butt in the balance, you simply don't have a basis for comparison. And, if you are one of those who proclaim "all who are not with us are against us" I suppose I'm in the opposition.

I prefer to believe you misspoke without thinking through consequences of a suggestion.

If administrators want to move these posts to a separate thread, I will be glad to return to topic.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
markofkane


Joined: 03 Jul 2008
Posts: 314
Location: Kane, IL USA

PostPosted: Tue 08 Jul 2008, 06:24    Post_subject:  

I am against "political correctness" because it infringes on Free Speech.

I believe in saying what I mean without "softening it up so I cannot offend anyone"

Political Correctness here:

http://youtube.com/watch?v=_DGoEWjT28Y

It has more than one part.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Tue 08 Jul 2008, 09:16    Post_subject:  

Quote:
If administrators want to move these posts to a separate thread, I will be glad to return to topic.

Suggestion:
yes, agreed - mods, please snip all relevant parts from this thread & move to :-

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=213100#213100

@prehistoric, you can suggest amendments to the heading if you like

I'll come back at this, once moved to save this thread

Aitch

Edit: have pm'd Flash
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1321

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jul 2008, 18:37    Post_subject: back on topic, with Compaq Armada M700  

My latest acquisition, a used Compaq Armada M700, arrived today and was running Puppy 4.00 within minutes. I am not posting from that, however, because I wanted to test another possibility.

This time, I'm posting from the $25 Compaq iPaq desktop (not handheld) mentioned earlier in this thread. The difference is that this time I slipped the CD drive out of the Armada, slipped it in the multidrive bay of the iPaq and booted from a CD. This confirms that multibay devices do work in these iPaqs. This offers a simple way to install Puppy on these machines, for people who don't like swapping hard drives.

Next, I'll be trying various wireless connections on the laptop. So far, everything looks good.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1321

PostPosted: Thu 10 Jul 2008, 09:22    Post_subject: adventures with Compaq Armada M700  

This may help someone else trying to put Puppy on an old laptop.

I had no trouble getting Puppy 4.00 to boot from CD and run on the M700 mentioned above. Something I've never seen before happened when I tried to install to the internal ATA hard drive, gparted started "scanning all devices" and never finished. I thought there might be an OS problem with a chipset this old (Intel 440 bx/zx etc.), so I went back to Puppy 2.17.1 without changing the outcome. At that point, I switched to SystemRescueDisk 1.0.2 and got the same behavior.

I could have use fdisk or cfdisk to delete the sole partition and create a new one, but there are a couple catches: Compaq often puts a hidden diagnostic partition at the front of a hard drive which holds code the BIOS may use; for a suspend to disk there is typically a file inside the Windows partition (FAT32 for this machine) which holds the contents of RAM plus some information or code the BIOS can use to restore things. It is easier to deal with this later if you don't wipe all evidence of how it was working when you got the machine.

The solution was to call gparted from the console with the name of the device as an argument.
Code:
# gparted /dev/hda
The name the OS uses for the device can be found in the output of dmesg, if you are not sure what it is called. Once gparted was pointed at the right device, I could resize the Windows partition to open up space without destroying the contents and create a linux swap partition plus an ext2 partion to hold my Puppy files.

For people new to Puppy this kind of solution is often totally mysterious voodoo. The problems aren't created by Puppy, they were put there by the manufacturer and only revealed when we tried to run anything but Windows. If you put Puppy on a Compaq machine, I strongly recommend you do not wipe the disk and start from scratch. A small partition with whatever secrets Windows holds is all you need.

For those who have wiped the disk, it is possible to get Compaq set up software and restore what you need on a new disk before you do anything with Puppy. Just don't expect the manufacturer (or MicroSoft) to make it easy. They prefer to sell replacement hard disks for premium prices, until they get old enough to be an inventory problem.

If you have wiped the disk and experienced no problems, please don't argue with me about it, just consider yourself lucky. There can be more things in hidden code than you have dreamed in nightmares - unless you write microcode for Intel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5043
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri 11 Jul 2008, 21:48    Post_subject:  

nVidia says it's starting manufacture of 386 compatable cpus that'll cream Intel & AMD.
Hummm... An ITX 4" x 6" board with a cpu that's also an 8800GTX gpu with shared ram!
More power in a small format motherboard than is currently available in ATX boards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15122
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 11 Jul 2008, 21:58    Post_subject:  

sunburnt wrote:
nVidia says it's starting manufacture of 386 compatable cpus that'll cream Intel & AMD.
.


any links?

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Fri 11 Jul 2008, 22:48    Post_subject:  

there's this, which may shed some light

http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/249198-10-nvidia-make-chipsets

Aitch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5043
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sat 12 Jul 2008, 00:57    Post_subject:  

It was a news announcement by nVidia, I can't remember where I saw it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mechmike

Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Posts: 103
Location: Pelham, AL

PostPosted: Thu 04 Sep 2008, 19:25    Post_subject:  

Inadvertent double-post...
Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
mechmike

Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Posts: 103
Location: Pelham, AL

PostPosted: Thu 04 Sep 2008, 19:25    Post_subject:  

$65 USD shipped:

Edit 02/2014 - the link originally posted no longer exists...

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
mechmike

Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Posts: 103
Location: Pelham, AL

PostPosted: Sun 28 Sep 2008, 23:45    Post_subject: 'nother cheapie...  

Edit 02/2014 - the link originally posted no longer exists...

$39.99 USD plus ground shipping of around $20 USD...

1.1 Celeron, 128MB RAM, 20 GB HD

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
chicks

Joined: 22 Oct 2007
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Sun 09 Nov 2008, 02:22    Post_subject:  

Maxspeed Maxterm 3300, $34.99 + $12.50 shipping.

http://cgi.ebay.com/New-MaxSpeed-MaxTerm-3300-Linux-512Ram-64Flash-3000B_W0QQitemZ370106936325QQcmdZViewItemQQptZCOMP_EN_Workstations?hash=item370106936325

These are very well made thin clients. Boot from CF card (behind little cover next to PCI slot on back), run Puppy very well. There are mounting brackets and plug for a 2.5" IDE laptop drive inside. Very similar to my main Puppy PC.

512MB RAM, 800MHz
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mechmike

Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Posts: 103
Location: Pelham, AL

PostPosted: Sun 04 Jan 2009, 19:58    Post_subject: $30 shipped in the US  

Edit 02/2014 - the link originally posted no longer exists...

Processor Class: Pentium III
Processor Speed: 450 MHZ
Memory: 64 MB
Hard Drive: 6 GB

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jan 2009, 15:57    Post_subject:  

UK users

Dell-OptiPlex-GX110-Pentium-3-III-667Mhz/256mb-SFF-Desktop-PC/CDrom

http://preview.tinyurl.com/9vbwp4

ebayUK £13.99 + £12.50 post

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 11 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0904s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0063s) ][ GZIP on ]