Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Nov 2014, 01:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
wvdial doesnt work
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Thu 21 Jul 2005, 05:26    Post subject:  wvdial doesnt work  

Downloaded barebones 1.0.4. Burned to cd. Thought I'd try wvdial. Automatically found my modem. Wont autosave isp phone number, username, password after filling in the little menu that pops up and hit save. Manually entered it into /etc/wvdial.conf. Would then dial but not connect.

Went back to old way with modem wizard and gkdial. Worked fine.

EDIT: Ok, for some reason it started being able to dial, connect, and stay connected. Still seems kinda hassle each and every time for it to have to detect the modem then I have to click save on dialing info befor it will actually dial. And what I said above still goes. Had to manually enter dialing info into wvdial.conf as it wouldnt save any changes when using popup screen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wvdialuser
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2005, 13:39    Post subject: wvdial hassle  

Dear Puppy Users,

I'm running Puppy 1.0.5 and I'm using wvdial for dialup. While I'm quite impressed with Puppy's performance, especially its speed, I was wondering if it would be possible to improve the way wvdial dials up. Currently wvdial needs to detect my modem each and every time and then asks me to save the configuration file before it actually dials. If I run wvdial from rxvt, wvdial gets disconnected upon connection and then keeps reconnecting without success. I have set up my wvdial.conf to have four dialup numbers, the maximum wvdial allows, but it seems impossible to dial up using the command wvdial, wvdial phone1, wvdial phone2 or wvdial phone3.

I'm able to get gkdial to work after changing the string AT&FW2 to ATZ, but it does not have the feature to show my dialup speed. I live in a remote, mountainous area, where my dialup speed is as slow as 24 ~ 28 K, so if I'm connected at the lowest speed, I surely want to reconnect to see if I can have a better connection.

Your consideration would be highly appreciated.

Thank you.
Back to top
wvdialuser
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 04 Nov 2005, 03:35    Post subject: wvdial hassle  

Dear Barry and Puppy Users,

I was wondering if Barry could possibly consider to include:

1) Gnome-PPP (423 KB), a frontend to the Wvdial.
http://www.gnome-ppp.org/
http://www.osnews.com/story.php?news_id=7253

2) Chestnut Dialer (365 KB), a PPP dialing program, written in Python.
http://chestnut-dialer.sourceforge.net/about.html
http://chestnut-dialer.sourceforge.net/

I personally have not tried Chestnut Dialer, but since Gkdial has the initialization string issue, perhaps Chestnut Dialer could be a good replacement.

Another alternative would be YAWMPPP (102 KB), Yet Another Window Maker PPP dock applet, (yawmppp.thin (non-dock version) works with other window managers too) that works as a frontend for pppd, making ISP hookup easier. But it has no longer been developed since April 2001.
http://yawmppp.seul.org/
http://www.eskimo.com/~meik/linux/configuringsoftware.html

Thank you for your consideration.

With very best regards,
Back to top
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 04 Nov 2005, 04:13    Post subject:  

1) probably needs Gnome libraries.
2) we don't do Python.
3) Yawmppp is introduced by me yesterday in another thread
(kindly do a quick search).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0590s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0148s) ][ GZIP on ]