Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 13:13
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
"Caps Lock" key malfunctions in 1.0.4
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [18 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10947
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jul 2005, 23:34    Post subject:  "Caps Lock" key malfunctions in 1.0.4  

I'm not certain this is a bug in Puppy 1.0.4, but it is annoying and I don't remember it happening in previous versions of Puppy. It certainly doesn't happen in Windows 2000 on my computer.

What I'm talking about is, tapping my "Caps Lock" key turns on both the Caps Lock and Scroll Lock lights, then it takes three taps of the Caps Lock key to turn them back off. The first click apparently does nothing, the second turns off the Scroll Lock light, and the third turns off the Caps Lock light.

Edit: it's a PS/2 keyboard - and mouse - and I'm running Puppy from CD with a pup001 file on the hard drive, in a Mandrake ext2 partition.

Last edited by Flash on Mon 25 Jul 2005, 00:03; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bancobusto


Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 168
Location: Vancouver Island

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jul 2005, 23:45    Post subject:  

Same here.

Didn't notice it in 1.03, but maybe I just wasn't yelling as much back then. Rolling Eyes

_________________
Freedom isn't just a Puppy-Linux forum member!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jul 2005, 23:59    Post subject:  

Same here (using PS2 keyboard)

We have had some problems with keyboards in 1.0.4 - so hopefully this will lead to some insights for Barry and G2 and anyone looking at the keyboard script (not even sure where that is?)

Cool

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Walt H


Joined: 01 Jun 2005
Posts: 216
Location: citizen of the world

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jul 2005, 00:28    Post subject:  

I have basically the same situation, although it only takes two taps after initially turning on Caps Lock. Smile The first turns off Scroll Lock, the second turns off Caps Lock. I don't think I had that problem in 1.0.3, but I was running it from a laptop and not on the machine I now have.
_________________
Walt

Now that you point it out to me, the answer seems painfully obvious.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ICQ Number 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jul 2005, 06:15    Post subject:  

I was also wondering whether this new "feature" was something that I had just not noticed before Confused

It has got something to do with the X keyboard extension being enabled in the X server, I think.... dunno what else it could be.
We need to read up on this X keyboard extensions thing... I vaguelly recall reading somewhere that it needs certain config files to function.... maybe they're missing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Glitchman
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 25 Jul 2005, 23:07    Post subject: Num Lock too. Both keys auto-repeat?!?!  

I can confirm the Caps Lock behavior here. In addition to that, the Num Lock key requires 2 presses to active / deactivate. Strangely enough, both keys auto-repeat, which is a behavior I haven't seen since the days of telnet sessions on Windows 3.1.

Thank goodness the Caps Lock is the least used key on my keyboard. The Num Lock behavior, on the other hand, is quite annoying.
Back to top
Glitchman
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 26 Jul 2005, 01:05    Post subject: Alt-Tab is also impacted even more  

One more thing I noticed since my recent post:

The Alt-Tab key sequence is impacted by this bug as well. I noticed in previous versions of Puppy that I could not Alt-Tab between applications if the Num Lock light was on. Now I can only Alt-Tab when Num Lock is off the "second" time. This reduces its functionality to only work in of the Num Lock states, as opposed to of them.
Back to top
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jul 2005, 02:20    Post subject:  

you can disabe xkeyboard extensions by adding -kb to your X options ( either click the xoptions button in the video wizard, or edit /etc/xextraoptions )

if you do this, your keyboard should work properly again, but the rtl bug will appear (text in gtk2 apps like leafpad and tea and save-boxes will sometimes display from right-to-left instead of from left-to-right)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jul 2005, 20:25    Post subject:  

This could be a project, if someone is interested...

The configuration files for the X keyboard extension are in /etc/X11/xkbd/, at least on Vector Linux and Mandrake.

There's a lot of stuff in that directory, most of it is unnecessary, but difficult to decide what to dump.
So, boot Austrumi, which is based on Slackware, and see how they have cut that directory down -- they will have kept files to support the Latvian language, so we could maybe cut it down even further.
But, basically, we should be able to copy what Austrumi has straight across the Puppy...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jul 2005, 22:12    Post subject:  

i symlinked xkb/ on VL to X11/xkb on Puppy
no effect

so i tried copying the entire folder (about 2 megs) to Puppy, and restarting X and rebooting
no effect

i also tried using xmodmap to change the shift key to F12
no effect
(F12 behaves the same as the Caps Lock key)

i also tried renaming xmodmap so it wouldn't be found
no effect

i don't know a lot about xkb

i thought the patch was so GTK would work properly if xkb was disabled or not installed ... disabling xkb stops the keyboard problem, but the rtl gtk bug appears ... i thought applying the gtk patch is supposed to fix that ... the patch is for gtk-2.6, but it looks like it might be easy to patch 2.4 too

i think this is the patch for gtkentry.c
http://bugzilla.gnome.org/attachment.cgi?id=36971&action=view
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jul 2005, 23:32    Post subject:  

here's a bug fix for gtk-2.4.0 ... it's not quite the same as the bugzilla patch, but maybe it would work (not that i'm a gtk or C expert)
gtkbug.zip
Description  bug fix, maybe
zip

 Download 
Filename  gtkbug.zip 
Filesize  413 Bytes 
Downloaded  219 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jul 2005, 11:40    Post subject:  

Okay, it looks like for pup 1.0.5 I'll have to disable xkbd in /usr/X11R6/bin/xwin, using that "-kb" option.
And, apply the patch to the gtk source.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dvw86


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 636
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Wed 05 Oct 2005, 02:43    Post subject:  

I noticed that this bug was not fixed in the final version of 1.0.5. G2, I downloaded you bug fix code, where do I insert it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Wed 05 Oct 2005, 03:13    Post subject:  

if you mean my bugfix file for gtk+2.4.0, it's put in gtk+-2.4.0/gtk/gtkentry.c ... i think you should be able to figure out the lines it replaces ... search for
if (pango_dir == PANGO_DIRECTION_NEUTRAL)

i'm no C programming expert, but it looks to me like it should work ... my fix is a little different to their bugfix ... their code seems to set rtl unless reading the value says to use ltr ... i reversed it so the default is ltr unless it specifically says to use rtl

if my fix doesn't work, maybe their fix would work

if it works, you should be able to put -kb in X options, so that the keyboard works properly, and leafpad and save boxes work properly too
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dvw86


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 636
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Wed 05 Oct 2005, 21:46    Post subject:  

GuestToo wrote:
if you mean my bugfix file for gtk+2.4.0, it's put in gtk+-2.4.0/gtk/gtkentry.c ...


I'm sure it's just me, but I can't find the file gtk+-2.4.0/gtk/gtkentry.c
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [18 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0849s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0148s) ][ GZIP on ]