Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 16 Jul 2018, 04:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Put Pup on usb stick... how get pc to boot off it?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Stocky

PostPosted: Wed 20 Dec 2006, 11:52    Post subject:  Put Pup on usb stick... how get pc to boot off it?  

I'm new to all this... but believe I installed to the flash drive successfully.
Downloaded 2.12 on to my xp lappy...
Burned the download on to a new cd...
Used CD to download on to a sandisk 512 stick...
When I look at the flash's it shows 5 or six files...
one is vmlinuz... one is gup212 sfs file... something like that...
so I think I'm ok there..
I have my boot order det to floppy, then cd, then HD..
those were my only 3 options..
I've tried to boot from the stick half a dozen times... it isn't read... and searched to, and ends up at HD.
I tried it in all 4 of my usb ports.

I've searched everywhere for help on this on...
any ideas??
Thanks,
From one sick Puppy. Question
kkpity

PostPosted: Wed 20 Dec 2006, 12:21    Post subject:  

Do you have an option to boot USB in your BIOS?

If not, I think you have to start booting your pendrive with a floppy.

There are some tips at puppy wiki page:
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/HowToUsePuppy

Good luck!

kkpity

Linux user #388359 (http://counter.li.org/)
Crash

PostPosted: Wed 20 Dec 2006, 22:47    Post subject: