Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 16 Aug 2018, 03:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Can't access internet properly
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Author Message
chrisfreak

Joined: 20 Dec 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed 20 Dec 2006, 20:11    Post subject:  Can't access internet properly
Subject description: is it a bug??
 

Ok, I just installed Puppy today as a gateway. My puppy box has 3 NIC :
eth 0 is Sis onboard NIC
eth1 & eth2 are Realtek NIC

the eth2 is connected to internet, while eth0 is connected to lan (eth1 isn't connected to anywhere). I able to setup the gateway from the gui setup, and my windows box on lan able to access to internet.

The problem is:
every like.. 15 or 30 minutes, my puppy box can't connect to internet (fail to open a site, fail to ping google.com, etc)... while my windows box still able to access to internet! I found this is strange since the windows access the internet throguh puppy. So every time this problem happen, I do the
/etc/rc.d/rc.network restart command.

Does anybody know why does this happen and how to fix it? Thank you in advance..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2307
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Wed 20 Dec 2006, 20:58    Post subject:  

That's Puppy 2.12, right?

When it goes away, is it gone for good (unless you restart), or does it come back after a while by itself?

There are some commands, e.g. "ifconfig", "netstat -rn" you can try running both before this happens and also after, just to see if something there has changed. There is some concern that the dhcp daemon might have some problem.

I have noticed the occasional temporary interruption in service (using Puppy 2.11) but I always assumed it was snow on the dish, or wind, or something. Smile Maybe there is more to this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
chrisfreak

Joined: 20 Dec 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu 21 Dec 2006, 04:31    Post subject:  

yeah, it's Puppy 2.12.

When it goes away it goes for good. Or.. maybe it come back after quite long time by itself, but since i'm impatient I kept restarting the network every time it happens (never tried to wait until longer than 15 minutes)

I tried to use if config and netstat -rn as you suggested, and both show no differences on before and after this happens.

Maybe all what I can do is just make a script that auto restart the network when it goes away?? Well... I hope there's a better solution for this
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0395s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0050s) ][ GZIP on ]