Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 31 Jul 2014, 15:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Wake after suspend.
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [35 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
Rickrandom

Joined: 21 Jan 2006
Posts: 195
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jan 2007, 06:26    Post subject:  

msumner wrote:
anything you do could rip the heart out of your shiny new linux operating system.

If you have a pup_save file on your hard drive, then you can make a copy with a different name as a back-up, and when booting Puppy will ask which one you want to use. If you mess up your current one, just select the back-up one during booting and you're away again. Puppy is very smart in this respect, in that the main parts of the operating system are never directly messed with, your settings in your pup_save file just override the defaults. If you have such a back-up, and it's up to date, don't be afraid to mess about.

Rarsa,

I also tried the script, and it sort of shut down the laptop, but I had a black screen with a white cursor flashing in the top left corner, and pressing the power button didn't bring Puppy back. I had to hold the button for 4 seconds to force it off, then power on again.

I'll look at the BIOS in case there's anything relevant.

I've got a frugal install of PizzaPup3beta, booting with GRUB. I don't know about ACPI and such stuff, but I don't boot with any extra commands. I guess anything necessary could be added to the menu.lst file.

Any advice gratefully received.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
msumner

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 205
Location: Lincolnshire, England.

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jan 2007, 08:25    Post subject:  

Hi rickrandom, I am running 2.13 from flash drive so the save file is on the flash. Should work though? I will give it a try.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rickrandom

Joined: 21 Jan 2006
Posts: 195
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jan 2007, 08:46    Post subject:  

If you have space on the flash drive, then I guess making a copy should work fine. It may take a little while, depending on the size of the file you chose at first shutdown, so be patient.

By the way, if you put your location in your profile, people will have a better idea of when you are likely to be on line. Far from essential, of course.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
msumner

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 205
Location: Lincolnshire, England.

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jan 2007, 08:51    Post subject:  

Not far from you, in lincolnshire!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jan 2007, 09:50    Post subject:  

Yes. For now you must execute the script before closing the lid.

Sorry for the confusion, I thought that part was obvious: How would the computer know that you want to run that script when you close the lid if you haven't told you that?

I know there is a way to trap when the lid is being closed but I haven't investigated.

_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
msumner

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 205
Location: Lincolnshire, England.

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jan 2007, 11:22    Post subject:  

Sorry rarsa but nothing in linux is obvious to me unless I've done it before, preferably a few times! Laughing Don't forget I just came from windows........ Anyway, I tried to execute it by clicking on the suspend file which is still in the root directory, before shutting the lid. When I click on it, a box flashes around it and that is all. This didn't look too promising to me but I tried closing the lid and of course, it would not come back. I assume that it should go into suspend when I click on the suspend file like it did the first time, and then I close the lid after it has suspended? Cheers, Mike.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jan 2007, 11:43    Post subject:  

I didn't mean any offence with the "obvious part" I was really apologizing for thinking that something is obvious when it is really not.

Yes, shut the lid after it has completed suspending.

_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
msumner

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 205
Location: Lincolnshire, England.

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jan 2007, 13:27    Post subject:  

Rarsa, no offence taken! Very Happy I really do appreciate the time you are taking on this.

Forgive me but I still can't execute the script. I am trying to execute by clicking on the suspend file which is still in the root directory. Am I doing the right thing? Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jan 2007, 13:36    Post subject:  

I thought you had said a couple of posts ago that it was working for you after I uploaded the correct script.
Quote:
I downloaded again and tried it. This time, when I clicked on it, the screen went black so it seemed to go into suspend. Hitting the on/off button brought it back, so far so good
but in your most recent post you say that it doesn't do anything.

I'm confused.

_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
msumner

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 205
Location: Lincolnshire, England.

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jan 2007, 14:40    Post subject:  

Yes, that is correct. I downloaded it, unzipped it and clicked on the suspend file. It suspended. It came back when I hit the on button. Now if I click on the suspend file nothing happens. Sad

5 mins later....... OK, I have deleted the files and downloaded again, unzipped and now it works everytime. Confused I am confused also. At least I was doing it right, it just was not working. I deleted the original files before downloading last time so I know I wasn't clicking on the wrong version.

Anyway, thanks a bunch rarsa, and I see your suspend file is getting downloaded by quite a few. It is obviously in demand. Maybe we should ask everyone who gets it to work to say which laptop they have it on.

How about incorporating it into the next puppy version? Would it be possible to set up a short cut key?
Thanks again, Mike Very Happy
EDIT....... actually, thats probably not necessary, I just moved the suspend file onto the desktop and click on it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jan 2007, 09:50    Post subject:  

msumner wrote:
I see your suspend file is getting downloaded by quite a few. It is obviously in demand.
You are giving me too much credit. Script was provided by user debernardis, I just suggested a very small change to bring up the network when it unsuspends. See the original thread.

I think that the script will need a few iterations of people trying it in different laptops to be sure that it always works, then barry would have to include it.

_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
msumner

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 205
Location: Lincolnshire, England.

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jan 2007, 16:08    Post subject:  

Hi rarsa, i don't know if anyone else is having the same problem as me, but the suspend script does not work after a shutdown and reboot. The only way to make it work is to download it again and unpack and execute it. Then it works until shutdown but does not work when I reboot. Yes....... wierd, I know. I have now tried this 3 or 4 times, just to be sure. cheers, mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
msumner

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 205
Location: Lincolnshire, England.

PostPosted: Sat 20 Jan 2007, 13:03    Post subject:  

I have been trying to figure why the suspend script only works for me for one boot session. I have been running on a flash drive so I tried burning a new multisession live cd to see if I get the same problem. I downloaded the suspend script again, and now it works on the cd every time, even after rebooting. Very Happy

Anyone know why this should be?
Cheers, Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gdemonta


Joined: 19 Feb 2007
Posts: 190
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Tue 29 May 2007, 15:26    Post subject:  

hey Rarsa,
thanks for the script. It works perfectly on my ibm X31. I'm now going to check on the long term how it is.

_________________
Dumbledore: "The evidence of the Dark Lord's return is incontrovertible"
IBM X31 - Puppy 2.16 Hard disk install with EZpup
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Chouca

Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jun 2007, 04:39    Post subject:  

Hi,

At last I am very close to get Suspend to Ram working properly (2.15CE)...!!!

The key to success has been this script AND passing acpi=force to the kernel in menu.lst.

My problem is that I can suspend once, wake it up again - works perfect, but then if I try to suspend again I get into a mode where a brutal power off is the only thing that helps.

Any ideas on how to get the Suspend to ram always working???


Martin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [35 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0910s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0194s) ][ GZIP on ]