Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 22 Aug 2014, 19:59
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Installing Puppy to hd; partitioning questions
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [22 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
trentster222


Joined: 29 Jul 2005
Posts: 19
Location: Norman, Oklahoma

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jul 2005, 02:00    Post subject:  Installing Puppy to hd; partitioning questions  

I made a linux partition with cfdisk, but when I try the HD install, I get to step 3(Option 2), and it asks me to unmount the CD. But wait...puppy is running on the CD... so I hit the unmount cdrom button, and it fails to unmount, so I am stuck!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
trentster222


Joined: 29 Jul 2005
Posts: 19
Location: Norman, Oklahoma

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jul 2005, 03:22    Post subject: Hmmm...  

Well, I'm just going to try again. It's a little hard to get answers at 2 AM!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jul 2005, 03:26    Post subject:  

you should when booting into Puppy to do the install select option 2 (not to effect the HD)

So rebbot your puppy disk and do that - there is also info on the wiki . . . or somewhere - try the sticky above (not mine - Flashes)

Good luck - sorry for quick reply - new Puppy arriving shortly . . . Smile

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Bancobusto


Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 168
Location: Vancouver Island

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jul 2005, 03:26    Post subject:  

Good luck!

I must say that in my case, the installer wouldn't recognize my dvd-drive, which is what I booted the CD off of...

During the install, it insisted that there was no cd in the drive, which it needed to copy vmlinuz (and maybe something else)...

I had to drop the cd down to my cd-burner, which according to Puppy is my cdrom... not according to my bios, or my Debian install, but hey, whatever....


Cheers, wish i was more knowledgable to help you Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trentster222


Joined: 29 Jul 2005
Posts: 19
Location: Norman, Oklahoma

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jul 2005, 03:31    Post subject: Ok then!  

I am using a floppy that has zapart and fdisk. After going into dos, running zapart, and fdisk(to create partition?) I type in the command prompt "format c:" It takes a couple of minutes to format, and then I restart. My problem earlier, was the there wasn't a large enough ramdisk, and there wasn't a formated partition (I think). Now I will try to run puppy using the live CD, now that I have a partition to put some of the "personal settings" in. But the quetion is, will this thing work? I guess I will know in a couple of minutes. I'm sure that I can get this thing working using trial and error.....right? (This is my 4th time having to format my hard drive tonight!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
trentster222


Joined: 29 Jul 2005
Posts: 19
Location: Norman, Oklahoma

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jul 2005, 03:33    Post subject:  

Ok, i'll press 2! Very Happy


I hope you don't mean 3!

Boy! I love all nighters!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
trentster222


Joined: 29 Jul 2005
Posts: 19
Location: Norman, Oklahoma

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jul 2005, 03:43    Post subject: Ahhhh  

...aah, a catch-22 situation...?!?!?! If I "HIDE" the partition, I have to run from the cd, but if its running off the cd, it can;t be unmounted.. AHH! Ok then... I'll read on.... "I am theorising here, have not actually tried any onf this"....!!!!!!!!....It looks like im not going to sleep tonight!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
trentster222


Joined: 29 Jul 2005
Posts: 19
Location: Norman, Oklahoma

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jul 2005, 03:49    Post subject:  

Unable to mount a persistent home storage partition on root...Blah blah blah..Pausing...blah blah blah...Computer on fire...blah...Ok then...now its running off the cd again...for sure, because it said it was....so..yh...what do i do now?

Am I stuck having to use the cd rom forever? Maybe I could just copy the cd 2 the hard drive(Although im sure that wont really work)...hmm...I guess I'll have to wait!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Bancobusto


Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 168
Location: Vancouver Island

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jul 2005, 03:54    Post subject:  

you have an existing ext2 partition?

if so go start/setup/install puppy to hard drive

what are the actual errors when following this method?

let me know, i'm listening...... Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trentster222


Joined: 29 Jul 2005
Posts: 19
Location: Norman, Oklahoma

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jul 2005, 04:23    Post subject:  

Does puppy recognize linux partitions?

*Edit* maybe not..Time to format again!

*edit 2* Ok, Done with Fdisk. I can format it, to make it fat 32, and then I can run puppy, otherwise I get some errors, and all the seetings are run off of the disc. or maybe I just need to format only 500 mb, and then make another partition
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
trentster222


Joined: 29 Jul 2005
Posts: 19
Location: Norman, Oklahoma

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jul 2005, 04:34    Post subject: update  

I think I almost have everything in order, but when I'm done, I will have 2 partitions. One that will have puppy, and the other will be useless. My question is, can I delete the second partition, and make the first one take up all of the space, without having to delete everything on the first partition?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jul 2005, 09:43    Post subject:  

trentster222 wrote:
Unable to mount a persistent home storage partition on root...Blah blah blah..Pausing...blah blah blah...Computer on fire...blah...Ok then...now its running off the cd again...for sure, because it said it was....so..yh...what do i do now?

Am I stuck having to use the cd rom forever? Maybe I could just copy the cd 2 the hard drive(Although im sure that wont really work)...hmm...I guess I'll have to wait!


I presume that the PC doesn't have much RAM, so Puppy was unable to copy usr_cram.fs off the CD, so the CD remained in use.
If that's the case, create a Linux swap partition on the hard drive to increase the effective RAM size.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4762
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jul 2005, 10:30    Post subject: Try this  

While typing, I just saw Barry's advice about the RAM, so I have nothing more to say [snip]

also try reading

http://ph-islands.net/pupinstall/

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 29 Jul 2005, 11:54    Post subject:  

Ok then, that makes sense (I guess), seeing as I've tried everything I could think of, using all my windows boot disks. Wow, using windows boot disks to install puppy. It's like one of the oxymorons! I must unlearn what I have learned.
Back to top
trentster222


Joined: 29 Jul 2005
Posts: 19
Location: Norman, Oklahoma

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jul 2005, 11:58    Post subject:  

whoops! that was me. Anyways, isn't 80mb ram enough? I thought the magic number was 64.

*EDIT* Also, am I going to have to have 2 partitions? no matter what?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [22 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0752s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0118s) ][ GZIP on ]