Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 21 Jul 2018, 09:43
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
2.13 can't connect to network, says 'no active interface'
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 4 [56 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
cacarr

Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Thu 25 Jan 2007, 06:48    Post subject:  

Quote:
This leaves two options:
Disable onboard NICs in BIOS and/or insert a new card with known drivers
or
Try every driver ever issued, including, for Linux, those that appear to be branded by another foundry, recompiling where necessary.
Sometimes you can get lucky by finding a specific answer on some obscure Forum from someone who has actually succeeded with the specific system like yours - this is rare, though. Guessing is like trying to win the lottery.



Ah, well, I suppose it would be easier to use a Live CD distro that works. Guess it's ZenLive then, which is too bad because I prefer Puppy's features.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5389
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 25 Jan 2007, 07:33    Post subject:  

Not necessarily. Changing a NIC isn't rocket science unless it's an sme in a laptop; even then, you only need to purchase a special IC tip for your soldering iron (CPC.co.uk). Until recently, I'd been discarding NICs pulled from junked office PCs'; even at full retail, they can be had for a bag of beans. Find one that works with every distro and you restore your own freedom of choice, not what some greedy capitalist NIC manufacturer and his puppeteer wants to force upon you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cacarr

Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Thu 25 Jan 2007, 08:16    Post subject:  

I hear what you're saying, but I'm not to inclined to dig around in my school laptop, particularly during finals week. :0

I'm overseas at school at the moment, but when I get back to the States I'll try Puppy out on my desktop (though my DSL connection might be an issue), though, er... I can always install a fatter distro on that. But at any rate, I really wanted to install it on a USB stick (my USB flash wrist watch actually -- oh yeah, that's geeky), but it turns out this POS BIOS doesn't actually support booting from "USB Stick," though it lists as much in the Boot Priority list.

I don't suppose there are any other small distros that let you save settings and data to your boot disk?

Perhaps you can determine a pattern here in terms of kernel versions:

Slax = ethernet controller not detected, no sound, no USB mouse
Puppy = Same
ZenLive = no problems at all

... need to try some more; perhaps PCLinuxOS "Minime"

Quote:
Find one that works with every distro and you restore your own freedom of choice, not what some greedy capitalist NIC manufacturer and his puppeteer wants to force upon you


Yeah, but I suppose at least some of the "blame" has to be put on all the variation in these distros. It would seem to this noob that there should be some cross-distro standardization in terms of hardware support...add individual bells and whistles on top of a core functionality... ...perhaps some standards entity that issues some sort compliance certification.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5389
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 25 Jan 2007, 08:25    Post subject:  

Mepis is not to everyone's taste, especially now Warren has sold out to Mr Shuttlecock (sic), which, like PCLinuxOS, seems to work with everything. But the grandaddy of them all is Knoppix, now available in v5.1 with aufs. DSL does lots of things that others can't, although it runs on kernel 2.4.
As soon as you get back to base, I'd don your dirtiest old raincoat and start rummaging around in the local skips/dumpsters and contact Snowdog, who knows all about laptops. In the longer term, Puppy remains your best chance, even though it still requires masses more development time than Barry and the troupe have hours in the day.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stlchuck

Joined: 28 Feb 2006
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Thu 25 Jan 2007, 09:48    Post subject: Oh Well!  

Glad to hear that you found something that works for you even if it isn't Puppy. One of the blessings/curses of working with Linux is the sheer variety of distros out there - if one doesn't work with your hardware something else likely will. So kudos to you for hanging in there and finding something that does. Maybe somewhere down the road Puppy will be what you need. If you are up for it, I will second Sage's recomendation on Knoppix and/or one of the DSL linux variants - their hardware detection and compatibility is about as good as it gets - Good luck!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5470
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 25 Jan 2007, 09:54    Post subject: Re: Network Connection  

stlchuck wrote:
From the sound of things you may be having a problem similar to what we had with an on the motherboard NIC by Nvidia. Namely the available drivers for it may not be compiled for the version of the kernel that Puppy is currently using.

No, that's not the problem. In cacarr's situation the sky2 module has automaticaly loaded, and that comes from Puppy 2.13's standard set of kernel modules, it's not an add-on.
cacarr wrote:
I wonder why drivers incompatible with the current kernel are even in 2.xx

This is not the case. This only happens when Puppy users download the wrong add-on modules. Personally, when I contribute add-on modules I now append the kernel version to the end of the name.

Back to the problem at hand, the sky2 module appears to be problematic with all modern kernels, not just in Puppy.

cacarr wrote:
Let's say that sk98lin might work for me... would I need to remove sky2

Yes. Do this -

rmmod sky2
modprobe sk98lin

If this doesn't work, there's one last chance; an updated driver from www.marvell.com

cacarr wrote:
Marvell's site does not offer the above driver version for linux 2.4.20 and higher...

That's wrong. At http://www.marvell.com/drivers/driverDisplay.do?dId=153&pId=36
there's a "Yukon Linux Driver Install Package" version 8.41 available. I just checked it. It contains source code for 2.4 and 2.6 kernels.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cacarr

Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Thu 25 Jan 2007, 10:28    Post subject:  

Excellent.

I'll give that a try.

Thanks for wading through that thread...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cacarr

Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Thu 25 Jan 2007, 19:51    Post subject:  

Quote:
rmmod sky2
modprobe sk98lin


Didn't work unfortunately.

I downloaded the files. The "readme" made my eyes bleed.


Let's see...not sure what to initially do with that .bz2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5470
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 25 Jan 2007, 21:08    Post subject:  

I just compiled it.
After installing this dotpup, you will need to do the same as before -

rmmod sky2
modprobe sk98lin
sk98lin-latest-k2.6.18.1.pup
Description 
pup

 Download 
Filename  sk98lin-latest-k2.6.18.1.pup 
Filesize  103.87 KB 
Downloaded  246 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cacarr

Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Fri 26 Jan 2007, 05:05    Post subject: Thank you  

Great!


I'll report back...




Thanks again....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cacarr

Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Fri 26 Jan 2007, 09:23    Post subject: Problems  

I installed the dotpup and issued the appropriate commands.


Wizard still says...

"...it appears the driver module for an ethernet card isn't loaded..."

...before reboot.

Do I need to reboot after the installation? Because the other issue is I'm not being prompted to save the session to the 1 gig save file I added to a FAT32 partition, and it's not happening automatically...but Puppy loads the previous settings on from that file on boot. I end up with sky2 loaded again.

Also, is it possible that the old sk98 isn't being overwritten and is loading again with "modprobe sk98lin" ?

If it's not necessary to reboot, and the correct sk98lin is being loaded, then it doesn't appear to be working with my system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5470
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri 26 Jan 2007, 11:00    Post subject:  

Some diagnosis is needed. After "modprobe sk98lin" run "ifconfig" to see if a valid network interface is listed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cacarr

Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Fri 26 Jan 2007, 11:14    Post subject:  

tempestuous wrote:
Some diagnosis is needed. After "modprobe sk98lin" run "ifconfig" to see if a valid network interface is listed.


Will do as soon as I burn another boot disk. This is the 4th one I've hosed trying to create a multi-session disk (I erased the save file on my hard drive because of the aformentioned problems, and because I got nervous about saving data to my Windows system restore partition[Puppy not doing NTFS for me]). CD-R= hosed; DVD-R=toast; DVD-RW=smoked. Sad

Would save to my USB stick, but MUT doesn't see it.

etc, etc, ....

To say nothing of the lack of detection of onboard sound and my USB mouse. *sigh*

First things first, I guess...

Will report back with ifconfig info
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cacarr

Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Fri 26 Jan 2007, 11:39    Post subject:  

tempestuous wrote:
Some diagnosis is needed. After "modprobe sk98lin" run "ifconfig" to see if a valid network interface is listed.



Link encap: Local Loopback


No valid network interface listed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cacarr

Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Sat 27 Jan 2007, 02:10    Post subject:  

I guess that's it for me, eh?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 4 [56 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0550s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0087s) ][ GZIP on ]