Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 20:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
"Spurious 8259A interrupt: IRQ7" error msg (Solved
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Sat 30 Jul 2005, 19:22    Post_subject:  "Spurious 8259A interrupt: IRQ7" error msg (Solved  

On my type 2 install of MurgaPuppy 1.0.1, I suddenly am getting message of "spurious 8259A interrupt: IRQ7" just after what should be final shutdown message. It then hangs and only way to shut off computer is to pull wall plug. Ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ian
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 1237
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Sat 30 Jul 2005, 23:37    Post_subject:  

Can you post the details of your machine mouldy.

Is it a laptop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ian
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 1237
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jul 2005, 00:03    Post_subject:  

Just did a quick web search, this might help,

http://jmz.iki.fi/blog.php/en/article/1057989236
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jul 2005, 06:55    Post_subject:  

This is a P2 desktop with abit motherboard, 366 celeron processor, and 256mb ram. I've run win, BeOS, and various distributions of linux on it (including a progression of Puppies) with no such problem before. At least not that I remember.

This "spurious" hangup now occurs with 1.0.4 cd Puppy also. I have reset all bios defaults but made no difference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ian
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 1237
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jul 2005, 09:03    Post_subject:  

It seems strange that Puppy has this problem if other versions of Linux work alright on your machine.

Have you tried anything earlier than Puppy 1.0.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jul 2005, 13:30    Post_subject:  

No you misunderstand. I have run Puppy from at least back to 0.8.6 to 1.0.4. All worked correctly with no error until yesterday. Now Puppy and Mepis both give the "spurious" error right after power down and then hang. As well as live cd versions of linux, booted from cdrom. This 'spurious' message just started out of the blue. Not because I suddenly used a new variety of Puppy or any other operating system.

Thats why my first notion was to reset to default everything in bios, thinking some setting got changed somehow. That however didnt help. All varieties of Puppy still run fine, computer just wont shut down properly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jul 2005, 14:01    Post_subject:  

Ok, read bunch of google stuff. Didnt seem to apply since all I read about had this problem when first installing linux with 2.4.x kernel on their computer.

Did try swapping graphics cards since some said this fixed their problem. No change. Then moved graphics card to different pci slot. Voila. That solved it. Guess it was a hardware failure problem. Lucky I have plenty slots unlike some cheapo modern motherboards with one or two slots.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jul 2005, 14:36    Post_subject:  

Aw nuts, its back. GRRRR...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11121
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jul 2005, 16:20    Post_subject:  

Hmm. Try wiggling the graphics card vigorously in the slot. See if that makes it go away. Or cram a piece of plastic against it to bend it slightly one way or another.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Mon 01 Aug 2005, 19:43    Post_subject:  

OK, swapped processors and everything is fine. Have shut down several times just to be sure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ian
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 1237
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Mon 01 Aug 2005, 20:47    Post_subject:  

If the problem resurfaces try reseating or changing your RAM as it now is showing up as a hardware problem, I have found that the CPUs usually just die or need reseating.

Maybe the whole system could do with a complete unplug and reseat all hardware and connectors as over time oxidization can cause problems at times.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0542s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0048s) ][ GZIP on ]