Cannot get off the ground!

Booting, installing, newbie
n0mm

Cannot get off the ground!

#1 Post by n0mm »

:( Total Newbie with first post! I recently received the "Puppy Unleashed" Ver:2.13 CD in the mail from downunder, and have been trying to figure out how to get it up and running so that I can get on with it! I have been reading the "Beginners" posts etc and even downloaded the "Manual", however, either I'm just Linux challenged or the 6 inches between the ears is really the problem. I have in the past tried various other flavors of "Linux" and had problems getting off the ground with them also. I guess all my "experience" over the years has been with the MS messworks and I'm probably just too indocrinated to see the light anymore. I can state that I'm thouoghly fed up with XP crashes etc! I have spent a lot of money and time over the years on "fixes" for windows that were just a shear waste of time and money. I'm sadly, no programmer, but it does seem that if "they" have not got it right by now, it ain't gonna happen? My specifics here with "Puppy" are that my Lexmark X3350 printer does not have a driver listed for linux on the wizard list. Also I use a DSL modem (Westell) which also is not mentioned in the internet install wizard? I remember these were the past experiencs issues that I had with Linux, that prevented me from going "full-time" on Linux then! I sure would like to shake off the bounds of MS though. Maybe this time I can get going? I'm not too swift on the software side of computing, needless to say, I guess. Is it just a case that one has to go out and replace the hardware existing with Linux compatible stuff? That in my casewould not be an option, for all the usual reasons! Any suggestions guys? Other than going AppleMac? ! :cry:

rarsa

Re: Cannot get off the ground!

#2 Post by rarsa »

n0mm wrote:my Lexmark X3350 printer does not have a driver listed for linux on the wizard list.