Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 14:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Weird bug, going into pupget...
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Flame Sage
Guest


PostPosted: Sun 31 Jul 2005, 01:10    Post_subject:  Weird bug, going into pupget...  

I go into pupget, and get that green screen, but whenever I try to go to Install_or_remove_packages I get this weird disclamer like thing, but whenever I hit ok nothing happens..

<a href="http://img314.imageshack.us/my.php?image=bug3ar.png" target="_blank"><img src="http://img314.imageshack.us/img314/4461/bug3ar.th.png" border="0" alt="Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us" /></a>
Back to top
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jul 2005, 01:17    Post_subject:  

At first I thought that it was a problem with the server, so I started pupget, pressed the button and it worked.

It seems that the server was sendin you an image telling you that there was a bug in the PHP script (on the server, not your computer).

Try again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Sun 31 Jul 2005, 01:19    Post_subject:  

Nope, it still comes up for me.
Back to top
flamesage


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 214

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jul 2005, 01:20    Post_subject:  

Note: That was me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
flamesage


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 214

PostPosted: Mon 08 Aug 2005, 02:14    Post_subject:  

Bump.
Attached is a screenshot of whta im getting.
bug.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  bug.png 
Filesize  36.72 KB 
Downloaded  1169 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
flamesage


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 214

PostPosted: Tue 09 Aug 2005, 10:58    Post_subject:  

Another bump...
I can't get any dotpups 'till this is fixed..
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Tue 09 Aug 2005, 12:25    Post_subject:  

Did you install any newer version of one of the scripting tools or something?

I'd recommend you have a look at the pupget script and see what it's doing. That will shed some light for sure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
flamesage


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 214

PostPosted: Fri 12 Aug 2005, 22:09    Post_subject:  

Where is the dotpup script located?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Fri 12 Aug 2005, 23:50    Post_subject:  

It's in /usr/sbin and its not dotpup is the pupget script

=========

After you click on the Install_or_remove_pkgs, do you get the yellow "Processing, please wait" ? or do you get the error right away?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
flamesage


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 214

PostPosted: Sat 13 Aug 2005, 00:22    Post_subject:  

Code:
Script Seems Ok.


And yes I get the processing box.

[EDIT: The Extension array is not allowed]

#!/bin/sh
RETTAGS="`Xdialog --title "PupGet package manager" --left --stdout --separator " " --item-help --icon "/usr/local/lib/X11/pixmaps/packaging96.xpm" --no-cancel --buildlist "Add or remove packages that will be in Puppy. For any packages that you choose to add,\nyou can choose whether to download the pkgs from the Internet or obtain them locally.\nHover mouse pointer over a package for further info. Packages are in groups:\nCore groups: CONSCORE, XLIBCORE, GTK1CORE, GTK2CORE, TCLCORE, QT3CORE, MMCORE\nAppl groups: CONSAPPS, [MM]XLIBAPPS, [MM]GTK1APPS, [MM]GTK2APPS, [MM]TCLAPPS, [MM]QT3APPS\nExample1: MMGTK2APPS pkg requires all CONSCORE, XLIBCORE, GTK2CORE, MMCORE pkgs installed.\nExample2: QT3APPS package requires all CONSCORE, XLIBCORE, QT3CORE pkgs installed.\nAny extra required pkg specified like this, for Gxine pkg: MMGTK2APPS +xine-1.0 900K\nNote: Only packages not in the live-CD are listed below. The official live-CD has most\nof the CORE groups installed. For the complete list, see /root/.packages/packages.txt." 780x540+0+0 0 \

`"
if [ ! $? -eq 0 ];then
exit
fi
echo "$RETTAGS" > /tmp/rettags.txt

^ <==== That temp file

And I do not seem to have the root/.packages/alienpackages.txt

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sat 13 Aug 2005, 01:56    Post_subject:  

You can now delete all the code that you put in the previous post to unclutter the thread. It is no longer necessary as the script seems OK.

Please edit that post, and just add that the script seems to be OK

Now I've got a hint:

After you get the error, close the screen and attach the following files (don't paste the contents, just attach the file)

Code:
/tmp/pkgdialog
/root/.packages/alienpackages.txt


I am almost sure that the problem is there. I think that the culprit is a DotPup that didn't register itself correctly.

Once you attach that file I will be able to solve your problem once and for all.

Actually now that you know what the problem may be, you may remember playing arround creating DotPups or something like that.

The format on each line of the alienpackages.txt file should be something like the following:
Code:
"tightvncserver" "tightvncserver-1.2.9-0.4" on "CONSAPPS 245K" \

this is "string1" "string1" on "string1" \

If any of the components is missing (any of the strings or the 'on' or the \ ) you will get that error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sat 13 Aug 2005, 21:53    Post_subject:  

What version of puppy do you have?

Do you have a /root/.packages/livepackages.txt?

if you are using puppy 1.0.4 you can try replacing your "livepackages.txt" with mine. I am sending it compressed so the server does not block it.

For some reason the pupget is not finding the livepackages.txt (they get appened to the script that you just sent me. In your case they are not there, that's why you are getting the error.
livepackages.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  livepackages.tar.gz 
Filesize  2.25 KB 
Downloaded  181 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
flamesage


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 214

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2005, 15:34    Post_subject:  

That fixed it, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2005, 21:50    Post_subject:  

Now the real question:

Why did you loose that file?
Were you playing around with your pup file?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
flamesage


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 214

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2005, 22:19    Post_subject:  

I think somehow, I broke my puppy's leg off.
But it's fixed.

I think I tried installing that gtk.pup thing, and it said I needed a newer puppy.
And I think that might have been what started it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0699s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0070s) ][ GZIP on ]