Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 01:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Screen display messed up after adding pup001
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
djlsky

Joined: 03 Jun 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon 01 Aug 2005, 10:56    Post_subject:  Screen display messed up after adding pup001  

When I first install puppy (live cd) it asks the usual setup questions which I answer. Puppy then warns that I don't have a pup001 so changes won't be saved, then system dispalys fine, everything works ok, have to setup everything as usual. When I unzip pup001 and restart Puppy to update it my display goes crazy with multiple overlays of the screen. Granted I have an older monitor that only supports upto 800x600,24 but it should display properly as it did before I setup pup001.
I downloaded the zip again (from a different mirror) and the new copy does the same. What does not happen as expected is the screen config wizard does not display after installing the pup001 file. Is there a way to start puppy in a "minimal" mode so that I can set the video up into pup001? I'm using puppy-1.0.4-mozilla.iso, same thing occures with puppy-1.0.2-opera-custom.iso . Thanks, djl
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message AIM 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11131
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Mon 01 Aug 2005, 16:40    Post_subject:  

when you get the weird display hit ctrl-alt-backspace to kill the X server, this will leave you at the prompt

delete the file in /etc called videomode

then type xwin to restart X, you should get a dialog to pick resolution and color depth
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0438s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0080s) ][ GZIP on ]