Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 04:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Screen display messed up after adding pup001
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [2 Posts]  
Author Message
djlsky

Joined: 03 Jun 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon 01 Aug 2005, 10:56    Post subject:  Screen display messed up after adding pup001  

When I first install puppy (live cd) it asks the usual setup questions which I answer. Puppy then warns that I don't have a pup001 so changes won't be saved, then system dispalys fine, everything works ok, have to setup everything as usual. When I unzip pup001 and restart Puppy to update it my display goes crazy with multiple overlays of the screen. Granted I have an older monitor that only supports upto 800x600,24 but it should display properly as it did before I setup pup001.
I downloaded the zip again (from a different mirror) and the new copy does the same. What does not happen as expected is the screen config wizard does not display after installing the pup001 file. Is there a way to start puppy in a "minimal" mode so that I can set the video up into pup001? I'm using puppy-1.0.4-mozilla.iso, same thing occures with puppy-1.0.2-opera-custom.iso . Thanks, djl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11109
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Mon 01 Aug 2005, 16:40    Post subject:  

when you get the weird display hit ctrl-alt-backspace to kill the X server, this will leave you at the prompt

delete the file in /etc called videomode

then type xwin to restart X, you should get a dialog to pick resolution and color depth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [2 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0385s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0033s) ][ GZIP on ]