Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 15:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Trying to boot puppy -> but it cant auto detect monitor?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
mochos
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 02 Aug 2005, 21:30    Post_subject:  Trying to boot puppy -> but it cant auto detect monitor?  

I brought my compter somewhere (it already has puppy installed on its harddrive) and I need to boot puppy. However when it gets into the window manager the monitor says 'frequency out of range' or something and I'm lost. I tried a second monitor around here and it doesn't work either. Do I need to reinstall puppy for it to auto reconfigure itself for a different monitor??? If not how do I make it do that manually.
Back to top
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 02 Aug 2005, 21:57    Post_subject:  

try typing rm /etc/videomode
then type startx
Back to top
mochos
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 02 Aug 2005, 22:11    Post_subject:  

but how do i stop it from going straight to the gui
Back to top
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 02 Aug 2005, 22:38    Post_subject:  

you should be able to kill X windows by pressing ctrl+alt+backspace
Back to top
mochos
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 02 Aug 2005, 22:40    Post_subject:  

no no, i tried that already it doesn't seem to work. Maybe that means x is not completely loaded yet, and because i dont have a monitor at this point i can't tell.
Back to top
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11181
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 03 Aug 2005, 00:57    Post_subject:  

Is this on-board video or AGP card or what?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mochos
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 03 Aug 2005, 01:23    Post_subject:  

no its a pci video card. It would be useful to know a way to stop puppy from auto running X. If this is available in puppy remaster thing, that is not an option since I can't see anything.


Well, since I dont have anything valuable on my pup001 ill just delete that from my main OS and reinstall puppy. However rm /etc/videomode would have been easier if i knew how to get to a console before it starts X (or if i knew why ctrl alt backspace doesnt kill it).
Back to top
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 03 Aug 2005, 02:57    Post_subject:  

ctrl-alt-f2 should bring you to another text console.....

even if it is a bit garbled you can still try
#rm /etc/videomode
#reboot
Back to top
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4798
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Wed 03 Aug 2005, 06:21    Post_subject: Deleting pup001  

Quote:
since I dont have anything valuable on my pup001 ill just delete that from my main OS


That will be enough for Puppy to create new configuration at start-up.

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7100
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 03 Aug 2005, 07:30    Post_subject:  

Are they flat-panel monitors?

I ask that because I have only ever once encountered a "frequency out of range" problem. It was a flat panel monitor ("plasma" I think). The standard VESA settings of the video card are not good enough for it -- I presume under Windows it requires a driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Auda

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 131
Location: New Zealand ( Christchurchish )

PostPosted: Tue 11 Oct 2005, 22:14    Post_subject:  

Thats the Problem I'm having. I have a viewsonic VG712s and a VG710s
the resolution is 1280x1024 and the freq range is 30-82 kHz and 50-85Hz The video card is an on board ATi rage in a dell GX1. Any way I can change the videomode file to change the freq. from 86.7 to less than 85 ?
Auda
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 11 Oct 2005, 23:29    Post_subject:  

can you boot with a lower resolution?

If yes, you could start X, download xrandr to /usr/bin.
Extract it (gunzip /usr/bin/xrandr.gz)

Then create a shellscript, enter these comands in the console:

touch /usr/bin/myres
chmod 755 /usr/bin/myres
leafpad /usr/bin/myres

Now enter these lines:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
xrandr -s 1280x1024 -r 84


Save it, and drag it in rox-filer to your desktop.

Now you always could start X with 800x600, and then click on the icon to switch to high resolution.


If you don't have success, and nobody knows a solution for the Puppy-Xserver, then try xorg:
http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic.php?t=2303

The Addon-package contains a grafical tool to change resolution and refreshrate (xvidtune):
http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic.php?t=2361

Good luck, Mark
xrandr.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  xrandr.gz 
Filesize  8.74 KB 
Downloaded  246 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Auda

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 131
Location: New Zealand ( Christchurchish )

PostPosted: Wed 12 Oct 2005, 00:05    Post_subject:  

I can boot to 800x600. I couldn't extract the file to /usr/bin, its a read only file system so I used /bin instead. I also had to change the attributes for xrandr to executable, but it didnt work Sad
I 'll look at the other options now.
I was hoping to be able to add a switch in the xoptions in the vesa wizard it seems to be possible after reading about tinyx however I cant find the format for the -screen command.

Thanks

Auda
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Auda

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 131
Location: New Zealand ( Christchurchish )

PostPosted: Thu 13 Oct 2005, 03:18    Post_subject:  

Many thanks, I installed Xorg and it works !
So if anyone else has a Dell GX1 they can use your pup and set the video to what ever they like.

Auda
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0694s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0078s) ][ GZIP on ]