Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 20 Apr 2014, 01:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
QEMU-Puppy 2.14-1
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [32 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
Erik Veenstra


Joined: 27 Jul 2005
Posts: 107
Location: NL

PostPosted: Sun 18 Feb 2007, 10:42    Post subject:  QEMU-Puppy 2.14-1  

I've uploaded QEMU-Puppy 2.14-1.

QEMU-Puppy is an OS and a set of applications on a USB memory stick. This OS can be booted natively, or on top of an other, already installed, OS. Just borrow a PC, boot your own environment and return the PC unaffected.

"No installation, no garbage..."

QEMU-Puppy now comes with KQEMU!

More information and download:

http://www.erikveen.dds.nl/qemupuppy/index.html

(Please use the torrent and keep seeding it for a while. Thanks.)

gegroet,
Erik V. - http://www.erikveen.dds.nl/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zikarus

Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon 19 Feb 2007, 13:39    Post subject:  

Thanks for sharing Erik!!!

Very Happy

BR
zikarus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sccat

Joined: 22 Aug 2005
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Sat 24 Feb 2007, 09:34    Post subject:  

Thanks Erik.

I love QEMU-Puppy very much.

Can you answer me some questions about it?

1.
I know that you use "EEE" to make "allinoneqemu.exe".
But what's the difference between qemu-0.9.0-windows and AllInOneQemu?
Can I use qemu-0.9.0-windows instead?

2.
I find that you have made some changes in "pup_save.3fs" then Puppy becomes easier to get on line and transfer files with the host.
How can I find exactly what changes you have made?

3.
What's "ftpserver_qemu.exe"?It must be another "EEE-make" file.
You have explained that it's an (experimental) FTP server , which listens on port 2121 and replies with 10.0.2.2:2121 instead of 127.0.0.1:2121.
Can I use another common FTP server software instead?

Thanks.

sccat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Erik Veenstra


Joined: 27 Jul 2005
Posts: 107
Location: NL

PostPosted: Sat 24 Feb 2007, 14:25    Post subject:  

> 1. I know that you use "EEE" to make "allinoneqemu.exe". But
> what's the difference between qemu-0.9.0-windows and
> AllInOneQemu? Can I use qemu-0.9.0-windows instead?

There's no difference. In fact, I used the content of
qemu-0.9.0-windows.zip to build allinoneqemu.exe. Well, there's
one difference: You don't have to install allinoneqemu.exe,
whereas qemu-0.9.0-windows.zip needs to be installed.

> 2. I find that you have made some changes in "pup_save.3fs"
> then Puppy becomes easier to get on line and transfer files
> with the host. How can I find exactly what changes you have
> made?

* Keyboard. (us)

* Display. (Vesa, 800x600x16)

* Background. (Although Puppy-Linux 2.14 is the first one I saw
with a decent background... Must be a matter of taste... ;])

* Network settings. (DHCP on eth0)

* /etc/hosts (10.0.2.2 for qemuserver and 10.0.2.4 for
smbserver)

> 3. What's "ftpserver_qemu.exe"?It must be another "EEE-make"
> file. You have explained that it's an (experimental) FTP
> server , which listens on port 2121 and replies with
> 10.0.2.2:2121 instead of 127.0.0.1:2121. Can I use another
> common FTP server software instead?

As far as I know: no. That's why I've built one myself... ;]

gegroet,
Erik V. - http://www.erikveen.dds.nl/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sccat

Joined: 22 Aug 2005
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Sat 24 Feb 2007, 22:05    Post subject:  

Thanks,Erik.Qemu-puppy is great.

I am confused that I can start Puppy using "START qemu.exe -L . -m 192 -cdrom puppy-213-seamonkey-fulldrivers.iso -soundhw all -localtime -M pc " with QEMU 0.9 and the ISO file ,while I can not start QEMU-Puppy using "qemu.exe -kernel vmlinuz -initrd initrd.gz -append root=/dev/ram0 -hda pup_save.3fs -hdb devx_214.sfs -hdc pup_214.sfs -hdd zdrv_214.sfs -m 256 -localtime" with QEMU 0.9 and the files in QEMU-Puppy.

But if I using "allinoneqemu.exe -kernel vmlinuz -initrd initrd.gz -append root=/dev/ram0 -hda pup_save.3fs -hdb devx_214.sfs -hdc pup_214.sfs -hdd zdrv_214.sfs -m 256 -localtime" as you told,it starts.

Whether the setting * Keyboard. (us) and * Display. (Vesa, 800x600x16) is OK if I went to France and using Qemu-Puppy on a "french Windows XP PC".

Can you hear sound from Qemu-Puppy?How?

Thanks.

sccat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Erik Veenstra


Joined: 27 Jul 2005
Posts: 107
Location: NL

PostPosted: Sun 25 Feb 2007, 06:51    Post subject:  

> I am confused that I can start Puppy using "..." with QEMU
> 0.9 and the ISO file ,while I can not start QEMU-Puppy using
> "..." with QEMU 0.9 and the files in QEMU-Puppy.

I can! Just guessing: QEMU is not installed properly... ;]

> But if I using "allinoneqemu.exe ..." as you told,it starts.

Obviously, allinoneqemu.exe is "installed" properly... ;]

Well, that's exactly the reason I once built EEE...

(Idea: You might have to play with the -L option op QEMU. See
[1].)

> Whether the setting * Keyboard. (us) and * Display. (Vesa,
> 800x600x16) is OK if I went to France and using Qemu-Puppy on
> a "french Windows XP PC".

QEMU always emulates a US keyboard and a Cirrus CLGD 5446 PCI
VGA card, regardless off the native hardware. So, yes, it
should work in France. (You still have to use the "Eagle
method" to find the right keys... ;] I can't change that.)

> Can you hear sound from Qemu-Puppy?How?

No, since I never added the right parameters. Sound parameters
are incompatible between different QEMU versions. If your
natively installed QEMU version is incompatible with the one
expected by puppy.sh, it simply won't work.

However, you could add one of the "-soundhw" parameters
manually, in order to get the sound working.

gegroet,
Erik V. - http://www.erikveen.dds.nl/

[1] http://fabrice.bellard.free.fr/qemu/qemu-doc.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sccat

Joined: 22 Aug 2005
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Mon 26 Feb 2007, 02:44    Post subject:  

Thanks to your replies.

EEE is great,too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sccat

Joined: 22 Aug 2005
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Mon 26 Feb 2007, 05:19    Post subject:  

Hi,Erik

When I try to start QEMU-Puppy on a USB Drive,I encounter this error:

ERROR - Cannot find Puppy a 'idehd' boot media
PUPMODE=1 PDEV1=
.
.
.
.
(the Linux-guru can now debug, 'e3" editor is available)
/bin/sh: can't access tty; job control turned off

My PC recognized this USB as USBHDD0:Generic USB Disk Device.
I can use this USB to boot DOS and the USB Disk was C: after boot.

I found the following in "syslinux.cfg".
#default vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 initrd=initrd.gz PMEDIA=usbflash
default vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 initrd=initrd.gz
append QPM=true

I have change the usbflash to idehd and usbhd,but nothing happened.

Can you give me some advices?

Thanks.
sccat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sccat

Joined: 22 Aug 2005
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Mon 26 Feb 2007, 05:55    Post subject:  

Hi Erik,

Sorry,I did not see the "#" at the front.

Then I changed the "syslinux.cfg" as follows:
default vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 initrd=initrd.gz PMEDIA=usbhd
append QPM=true

Puppy started.

But why does not puppy start without a PMEDIA parameter?Can it be more compatable?

Thanks.

sccat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Erik Veenstra


Joined: 27 Jul 2005
Posts: 107
Location: NL

PostPosted: Sun 04 Mar 2007, 11:12    Post subject:  

> But why does not puppy start without a PMEDIA parameter?Can
> it be more compatable?

I had the opposite problem: I couldn't boot with PMEDIA set,
but I could boot without one... ;]

gegroet,
Erik V. - http://www.erikveen.dds.nl/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
netjess


Joined: 17 Feb 2006
Posts: 29
Location: Oklahoma, USA

PostPosted: Fri 09 Mar 2007, 11:30    Post subject: QEMU-Puppy
Subject description: Why so fat?
 

I didn't scroll down enough and posted first in a diiferent thread about an earlier version.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=936541664&t=9942

I was wondering....
Why is this over 200MB? Before I looked here I downloaded the latest QEMU and Full Puppy ISO and have it on a 128 thumb it is only taking up 100MB.
Now I will confess that I havn't gotten the networking ironed out w/o having to use Win-Tab (openVPN) to bridge the nic. that is only another 1MB, but you have to jack with the host system. I am just getting started though. I have not used QEMU before this.

Is it the games you put on or is it items that you are using to get it to work more universal with less config changes?

Do you have a setup with less fluff and just basic apps, Office items, Browser, mail and maybe gzine.

FYI,
This is how I am launching it:
REM Start qemu on windows.
@ECHO OFF

REM SDL_VIDEODRIVER=directx is faster than windib. But keyboard cannot work well.
SET SDL_VIDEODRIVER=windib

REM SDL_AUDIODRIVER=waveout or dsound can be used. Only if QEMU_AUDIO_DRV=sdl.
SET SDL_AUDIODRIVER=dsound

REM QEMU_AUDIO_DRV=dsound or fmod or sdl or none can be used. See qemu -audio-help.
SET QEMU_AUDIO_DRV=dsound

REM QEMU_AUDIO_LOG_TO_MONITOR=1 displays log messages in QEMU monitor.
SET QEMU_AUDIO_LOG_TO_MONITOR=0

REM PCI-based PC(default): -M pc
REM ISA-based PC : -M isapc
REM -M isapc is added for NE2000 ISA card.

qemu.exe -L . -m 512 -cdrom puppy.iso -soundhw all -localtime -M pc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Erik Veenstra


Joined: 27 Jul 2005
Posts: 107
Location: NL

PostPosted: Fri 09 Mar 2007, 13:16    Post subject:  

> Why is this over 200MB?

Because it already includes pup_save.3fs.

> Before I looked here I downloaded the latest QEMU and Full
> Puppy ISO and have it on a 128 thumb it is only taking up
> 100MB.

Including pup_save.3fs?

> Is it the games you put on or is it items that you are using
> to get it to work more universal with less config changes?
>
> Do you have a setup with less fluff and just basic apps,
> Office items, Browser, mail and maybe gzine.

Please, please, read the documentation [1]...

gegroet,
Erik V. - http://www.erikveen.dds.nl/

[1] http://www.erikveen.dds.nl/qemupuppy/index.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sccat

Joined: 22 Aug 2005
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2007, 00:35    Post subject:  

I want to make a smaller pup_save.3fs around 32MB.
Just put some necessary softwares and fonts in it.
I can put other files in the USB disk.And it's easier to share these files with Windows.

Is this method feasible?And how to make .3fs files of specific size?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Erik Veenstra


Joined: 27 Jul 2005
Posts: 107
Location: NL

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2007, 05:06    Post subject:  

> I want to make a smaller pup_save.3fs around 32MB. Just put
> some necessary softwares and fonts in it. I can put other
> files in the USB disk. And it's easier to share these files
> with Windows.
>
> Is this method feasible? And how to make .3fs files of
> specific size?

Please, please, read the documentation [1]...

gegroet,
Erik V. - http://www.erikveen.dds.nl/

[1] http://www.erikveen.dds.nl/qemupuppy/index.html#6.2.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sccat

Joined: 22 Aug 2005
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2007, 08:49    Post subject:  

I found the following in the documentation [1]:

To create a bigger pup_save.3fs, do this on your native Linux system:

$ dd if=/dev/zero of=pup_save.3fs bs=1k count=800
$ mkfs.ext3 pup_save.3fs

But How big is this "bs=1k count=800 pup_save.3fs " file?
800k? or 800M?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [32 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0679s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0039s) ][ GZIP on ]