Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Sep 2014, 10:11
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Ethernet
Network (via-rhine) not detected by puppy 2.12, 2.13, 2.14
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Genera Veruko


Joined: 21 Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Wed 21 Feb 2007, 12:06    Post_subject:  Network (via-rhine) not detected by puppy 2.12, 2.13, 2.14
Sub_title: Puppy 2.11 detects automatically my onboard network card
 

I can't get online via ethernet with newer puppies (2.12+)
All is OK with 2.11, 2.10, 2.02, 2.01 ...

type is VIA-Rhine II

Any thoughts as to what problem might be?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Wed 21 Feb 2007, 12:20    Post_subject:  

Please execute the following commands from the Version of puppy that works (e.g. 2.11) and also from the version of Puppy that does not (e.g. 2.12) and post the result.

It will tell us what driver module is loading in 2.11 that it's not loading on 2.12 or maybe the other way around.
Code:
lsmod


Try maximizing the command console window before executing the command so you can see the whole result.

To copy The output to the console, just select it with the mouse and press enter.

Also please tell us how you are trying to connect, the brand model and version of your card, or even better, the chipset.

_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Genera Veruko


Joined: 21 Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Wed 21 Feb 2007, 14:30    Post_subject: Diagnostic output for ethernet (via-rhine) problem  

Hope you can get find some DNA in all this:

Thanks - GV

===

The chipset info is:

PCChips motherboard P23G
VIA
P4M800Pro Northbridge
VT8237R+ Southbridge

===

PCLinuxOS (works with this chipset) id's as ...
VIA - VT6102 [Rhine-II]
vendor - 4358 & 4121
product - 12389 & 258

===

XP - id's as VIA Rhine II
driver 12/20/2006 version 3.66.0.451
PCI\VEN_1106&DEV_3065&REV_78

===

Below is "lsmod" output from 2.11 (the one that works)

sh-3.00# lsmod
Module Size Used by
snd_mixer_oss 18512 0
snd_seq_midi 8576 0
snd_emu10k1_synth 7248 0
snd_emux_synth 36848 1 snd_emu10k1_synth
snd_seq_virmidi 7088 1 snd_emux_synth
snd_seq_midi_event 6928 2 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_virmidi
snd_seq_midi_emul 7376 1 snd_emux_synth
snd_seq 50864 5 snd_seq_midi,snd_emux_synth,snd_seq_virmidi,snd_seq_midi_event,snd_seq_midi_emul
lp 12616 0
parport_pc 32740 1
parport 35976 2 lp,parport_pc
via_rhine 23316 0
mii 5616 1 via_rhine
snd_via82xx 28200 0
gameport 15128 1 snd_via82xx
snd_mpu401_uart 7664 1 snd_via82xx
snd_emu10k1 114820 1 snd_emu10k1_synth
snd_rawmidi 24480 4 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_virmidi,snd_mpu401_uart,snd_emu10k1
snd_ac97_codec 90800 2 snd_via82xx,snd_emu10k1
snd_ac97_bus 2288 1 snd_ac97_codec
snd_pcm 85656 3 snd_via82xx,snd_emu10k1,snd_ac97_codec
snd_seq_device 8540 6 snd_seq_midi,snd_emu10k1_synth,snd_emux_synth,snd_seq,snd_emu10k1,snd_rawmidi
snd_timer 23508 3 snd_seq,snd_emu10k1,snd_pcm
snd_page_alloc 10680 3 snd_via82xx,snd_emu10k1,snd_pcm
snd_util_mem 4592 2 snd_emux_synth,snd_emu10k1
snd_hwdep 9428 2 snd_emux_synth,snd_emu10k1
snd 54692 13 snd_mixer_oss,snd_emux_synth,snd_seq_virmidi,snd_seq,snd_via82xx,snd_mpu401_uart,snd_emu10k1,snd_rawmidi,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_seq_device,snd_timer,snd_hwdep
soundcore 9568 1 snd
via_agp 9808 1
agpgart 35164 1 via_agp
fuse 39516 0
unionfs 71616 1
nls_iso8859_1 4080 1
nls_cp437 5744 1
sr_mod 17956 0
ide_cd 41636 0
cdrom 38880 2 sr_mod,ide_cd
usb_storage 84800 0
ehci_hcd 30360 0
uhci_hcd 32384 0
usbcore 129220 4 usb_storage,ehci_hcd,uhci_hcd

===

The following is from Puppy Live CD - 2.14 (not working)

sh-3.00# lsmod
Module Size Used by
snd_pcm_oss 46336 0
usb_storage 83904 0
snd_mixer_oss 17328 1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_seq_midi 8608 0
snd_emu10k1_synth 6800 0
snd_emux_synth 35760 1 snd_emu10k1_synth
snd_seq_virmidi 6896 1 snd_emux_synth
snd_seq_midi_event 6960 2 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_virmidi
snd_seq_midi_emul 7344 1 snd_emux_synth
snd_seq 48592 5 snd_seq_midi,snd_emux_synth,snd_seq_virmidi,snd_seq_midi_event,snd_seq_midi_emul
lp 12520 0
parport_pc 32100 1
parport 35080 2 lp,parport_pc
via_rhine 23416 0
mii 5680 1 via_rhine
snd_via82xx 27720 0
snd_mpu401_uart 8112 1 snd_via82xx
i2c_viapro 8804 0
i2c_core 21408 1 i2c_viapro
emu10k1_gp 3696 0
gameport 14904 3 snd_via82xx,emu10k1_gp
snd_emu10k1 112864 1 snd_emu10k1_synth
snd_rawmidi 24064 4 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_virmidi,snd_mpu401_uart,snd_emu10k1
snd_ac97_codec 90448 2 snd_via82xx,snd_emu10k1
snd_ac97_bus 2128 1 snd_ac97_codec
snd_pcm 77592 4 snd_pcm_oss,snd_via82xx,snd_emu10k1,snd_ac97_codec
snd_seq_device 7996 6 snd_seq_midi,snd_emu10k1_synth,snd_emux_synth,snd_seq,snd_emu10k1,snd_rawmidi
snd_timer 23540 3 snd_seq,snd_emu10k1,snd_pcm
snd_page_alloc 10008 3 snd_via82xx,snd_emu10k1,snd_pcm
snd_util_mem 4560 2 snd_emux_synth,snd_emu10k1
snd_hwdep 9076 2 snd_emux_synth,snd_emu10k1
snd 51396 14 snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_emux_synth,snd_seq_virmidi,snd_seq,snd_via82xx,snd_mpu401_uart,snd_emu10k1,snd_rawmidi,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_seq_device,snd_timer,snd_hwdep
soundcore 9408 1 snd
via_agp 9648 1
agpgart 34608 1 via_agp
fuse 44388 0
unionfs 77792 1
nls_iso8859_1 3984 0
nls_cp437 5648 0
sr_mod 17412 0
ide_cd 40100 0
cdrom 39424 2 sr_mod,ide_cd
ehci_hcd 30200 0
uhci_hcd 23356 0
usbcore 126116 4 usb_storage,ehci_hcd,uhci_hcd
sh-3.00# lsmod
sh-3.00#

===
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Wed 21 Feb 2007, 15:03    Post_subject:  

Try the following from a command console (rxvt) window in 2.14 and then try to setup the network exactly as you do in 2.11:
Code:
rmmod i2c_viapro
rmmod i2c_core

Oh, you didn't tell me how you are connecting in 2.11:

Connected to a router using a network cable
Connected directly to a DSL or Cable modem
Wireless
etc.

Also
Are you trying to get the IP through DHCP, static IP, PPPoE

_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Genera Veruko


Joined: 21 Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Wed 21 Feb 2007, 15:56    Post_subject: via rhine whine ...  

Rarsa ... if you keep responding so quickly they'll have you doing this all the time ... ha!

I'm using a router w/network cable and DHCP.

With puppy 2.14 ...
1) Entered 2 comands as instructed - ok
2) used wizard to setup network
3) it reported "via_rhine" as loaded
4) tried auto DHCP ...

failed (timed-out)

thanks

GV
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Wed 21 Feb 2007, 16:52    Post_subject: Re: via rhine whine ...  

Genera Veruko wrote:
Rarsa ... if you keep responding so quickly they'll have you doing this all the time ... ha!
Ok, I read this one hour ago but went for a coffee just so you don't worry about the quick responses.

Are you testing both booting from a liveCD or one is installed and the other liveCD or both installed? I want to test comparing apples to apples.

I assume that you followed exactly the same steps as you do to bring up the network in 2.11. Is this assumption correct?

Quote:
3) it reported "via_rhine" as loaded
Is this one is also reported in 2.11? I would expect that as according to lsmod the module is loaded in both versions.

OK, test the following on both versions.

1. Boot from the LiveCD and before doing anything else execute the following commands and post the result: (replace eth0 for whatever interface name you need to use)
Code:
ifconfig -a
dhcpcd eth0


It seems that I'm quickly reaching my incompetence level for remote support Smile

_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Genera Veruko


Joined: 21 Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Wed 21 Feb 2007, 17:52    Post_subject: ethernet - tests etc  

Good points!

a) My 2.11 test was booted w/grub from hard disk.
In this case there is no "need" to use setup wizard as connection is established. The wizard does NOT report seeing any driver, but it's good to go as it stands.

b) The test of 2.14 was via cd.
I have had same failure from a hard disk install however with 2.14 and 2.13.

So ...

Tried
if config -a
dhcpcd eth0

1st) with 2.11 boot from CD
- wizard sees no driver but auto DHCP is successful

2nd) with 2.14 boot from CD
-wizard sees "via_rhine"
but DHCP fails (timesout)

===

The frustrating thing I find about working with computers is it feels like it is 100% broke until it's "fixed", (and even as Puppy jumps like a monkey and I do love that) ...
It's like a race to get to the next turn and it's off the road into the cornfield once again. This is, of course, an artifact of computers generally (not Puppy in particular).
I wonder at times: is it more fun when it just works (and there is nothing to fix), or are we "twisted" in some way to secretly like the head scrathing in the cornfield better than cruising down the highway.
You break it so you can make it whole again ...

I think my blood sugar has dropped!

Time to knock off.

Don't think about it and the answer will be looking you in the eye in the morning. Like it came from some place outside your head.

Thanks

GV
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
btrumble

Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue 03 Apr 2007, 22:49    Post_subject: Via Rhino II
Sub_title: Puppy 2.1.x can't find/configure
 

Any solution ever found for this problem? I just bought an Everex laptop with a Via cpu. I tried booting Puppy 2.1.3 in the store and had no problem, so when I got home it was disconcerting to discover that neither the wired nor the wireless connections are working. I think there's an ndiswrapper work around for the wireless card, but it would sure be nice to get the lan up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Le_Nerdo

Joined: 27 Apr 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue 27 Apr 2010, 07:26    Post_subject: Via Rhine ii
Sub_title: Will not load.
 

I'm having a heck of a time with ANY adapter in 4.3.0 that isn't in the list.

I can't get any of the NDIS wrapper to work either.

I have the Via Rhine for ETH0 doesn't detect.

I have a RTL8185L for wifi and doesn't detect.

I will try to get the logs text in the next few messages if anyone has a solution to this before I get them here that would be great.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Le_Nerdo

Joined: 27 Apr 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue 27 Apr 2010, 08:02    Post_subject: Update
Sub_title: Via Rhine does work with 4.11
 

I installed 4.11 and Via Rhine works with it. For some reason I thought it was posted 4.11 and not 2.11

I'm not really up to burning CD's for all releases inbetween to find where it went bad but is there a way to see what Via Mod was changes since?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Ethernet
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0798s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0064s) ][ GZIP on ]