Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 15:08
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
How Do I Mount Remote Hard Disks?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [25 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11157
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sun 07 Aug 2005, 16:19    Post subject:  

I avoid the difficulty of making two computers talk to each other by transferring the files to a rewriteable CD or DVD, or a USB pen drive. This approach is not a long-term solution, and not all computers will have the necessary hardware for it, but it is a quick and dirty solution for when you occasionally need to transfer a few files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ozboomer


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 97
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Mon 08 Aug 2005, 05:55    Post subject:  

I've been trying to do something with all this just now... with no joy at all.

bladehunter wrote:
Just unpack the binaries and kernel modules into /root/my-applications/nfs

rename mount to mount-FULL and put that into /root/my-applications/bin

Doing that broke my startup disk mount scripts, although I don't know how, considering I only call 'mount' and not mount-FULL... As soon as I removed /root/my-applications/mount-FULL and umount, all my disks appeared again on the next reboot.

Additionally, when I entered the 'server' commands into rc.d/rc.local, viz:

/root/my-applications/nfs/rpc.portmap
...rpc.mountd
...rpc.nfsd
...rpc.lockd
...rpc.rquotad

...each of the programs complained about no such directory, /var/lib/nfs (as well as there not being any rpc.rquotad at all).

So, it seems we'll have to try building a .tgz, .rpm, etc that gets unpacked into the correct, conventional locations in RAM disk at boot time and we'll try it again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 08 Aug 2005, 06:23    Post subject:  

Hang on I'll give it a whirl on a fresh pup001 file with a kernel with nfs client\server modules compiled in
Back to top
ozboomer


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 97
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Mon 08 Aug 2005, 06:30    Post subject:  

bladehunter wrote:
Hang on I'll give it a whirl on a fresh pup001 file with a kernel with nfs client\server modules compiled in

Ok.. I just tried unpacking and setting-up the Slackware 9.1 images... and, after setting files to executable (doing all my un/packing on Win98 removed some of the attributes, I think) and building a .gz file which I unpacked into the correct dirs. on Puppy 1.0.4, I had the following:

rpc.portmap - ran and is in the 'ps' list
rpc.mountd - ran without displayed error but created no 'ps' entry
rpc.nfsd - ran without displayed error but created no 'ps' entry
rpc.statd - ran and is in the 'ps' list
rpc.lockd - ran but terminated with the error -
lockdsvc: Function not implemented

I REALLY don't know what I'm doing here... but at least I have backups that I can roll back to after tonight Smile

FYI...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 08 Aug 2005, 06:51    Post subject:  

Ok I missed the lib required form e2fsprogs-1.35

libuiid.so.1.2 which needs to be symlinked to libuuid.so.1
libblkid.so.1.0 which needs to be symlinked to libblkid.so.1

Now I mount a share a ok.....now to export one
Back to top
ozboomer


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 97
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Mon 08 Aug 2005, 07:04    Post subject:  

bladehunter wrote:
Now I mount a share a ok.....now to export one
Yaaay! Congrats! See how it goes... Everything crossed here Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 08 Aug 2005, 08:06    Post subject:  

ok we have success

Modded the slackware script, has a variable that point to the root of where the nfs binaires are

ie by default the tar file has all the binaries in
/root/my-applications/nfs

so NFS_PATH=/root/my-application/nfs

I thought I'd keep it this way to keep in clean

only the libs need will be copied to /root/my-applications/lib
exports & rpc will be placed in /etc
rc.portmap & rc.nfsd will be placed in /etc/rc.d
umount-NFS and mount-NFS are symlinks from /root/my-applications/nfs/bin to /root/my-applications/bin


One thing you will have to do is add the following line hosts.allow
Code:

ALL:192.168.1.


Don't leave the period of the end........this assumes that your network is 192.168.1.0

EDIT

Youll have to change the modprobe command in /etc/rc.d/rc.nfsd to the required insmod commands.....The machine I was testing on has the client\server nfs stuff compiled in

rpcinfo & rpc.rquotad have been included

Look if you test and it goes ok (the tar file) I'll release a dotpup...so many thanks for your time in testing Smile
nfs.tar.gz
Description  I think this will work
gz

 Download 
Filename  nfs.tar.gz 
Filesize  250.93 KB 
Downloaded  441 Time(s) 
Back to top
ozboomer


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 97
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Mon 08 Aug 2005, 08:42    Post subject:  

bladehunter wrote:
ok we have success

[...]

Look if you test and it goes ok (the tar file) I'll release a dotpup...so many thanks for your time in testing Smile

...and to you for building it up Smile I'm crashin' into the cot for now... but I'll try it tomorrow when I get home from work.

Fanx! again for your efforts Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ozboomer


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 97
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 09 Aug 2005, 04:14    Post subject:  

bladehunter wrote:
One thing you will have to do is add the following line hosts.allow
Code:

ALL:192.168.1.

[...]
Youll have to change the modprobe command in /etc/rc.d/rc.nfsd to the required insmod commands.....The machine I was testing on has the client\server nfs stuff compiled in

Well, I unpacked the file you had here into '/', placing all the files (and links) into the correct places.

I made the hosts.allow change and I had a look at the insmod commands you had earlier in this thread... but they didn't seem to do anything.

At any rate, I then had an rxvt session in /root/.etc/rc.d ... and here's what happened:-

root@tetrad # ./rc.nfsd start
Note: /etc/modules.conf is more recent than /lib/modules/2.4.29/modules.dep
modprobe: Can't locate module nfsd
Starting RPC portmapper: /root/my-applications/nfs/sbin/rpc.portmap
Starting NFS services:
/root/my-applications/nfs/usr/sbin/exportfs -r
exportfs: /etc/exports [4]: No 'sync' or 'async' option specified for export "*:/root".
Assuming default behaviour ('sync').
NOTE: this default has changed from previous versions
exportfs: could not open /var/lib/nfs/xtab for locking
/root/my-applications/nfs/usr/sbin/rpc.nfsd 8
/root/my-applications/nfs/usr/sbin/rpc.mountd
/root/my-applications/nfs/usr/sbin/rpc.lockd
lockdsvc: Function not implemented
/root/my-applications/nfs/usr/sbin/rpc.statd
root@tetrad #

Now, I'm not too flash on the modules that need to be loaded... Maybe you could do a modprobe (or whatever it is) and fling it here, so I can see what modules you have loaded... and we can try it step-by-step.

Oh... I can still ping Ok between the 2 PCs Ok, so I know the 'basic' networking is Ok.

Thx.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 09 Aug 2005, 07:26    Post subject:  

if you have a look at the archive you'll see where the module nfsd.o and the others (nfsd.o.gz) is (I haven't got access to it right now)...when you run insmod the full path name will need to be put on the command line...apart from the modprobe error all is good or your rc.local could copy nfsd.o to where the other modules are kept, run depmod -a then modprobe will work...


Just for interest my new puplet has the nfs server and client modules compiled into the kernel..see announcements....no need to insert any nfs modules
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [25 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0736s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0082s) ][ GZIP on ]