Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 31 Jul 2014, 15:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Anyone want custom kernels or drivers?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 4 [56 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
mike


Joined: 13 Aug 2005
Posts: 75
Location: Bowser

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2005, 18:29    Post subject:  

you could just rename the pup001 file instead of deleting it. then puppy will create a new one for you.

this is an easy solution, assuming that you don't have a ton of personal files stored on pup001.

how much work you want to put into fixing this is dependent on how much you have to lose
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2005, 19:08    Post subject:  

/sbin/dhcpcd wlan0

Then you want to remove any files that have wlan0 in their name.

Code:

. /etc/rc.d/rc.wireless
rm /etc/dhpc/*wlan0.pid
/sbin/dhcpcd wlan0


dhcpcd takes an argument that is the name of the interface in your case wlan0

What you can do if running from cdrom is pick option 3

When asked for a partiton just press enter without specifying anything

let puppy boot..it will make a complaints but that's cool.

when puppy gets to the GUI either logout or press ctrl-alt-backspace

Now the tricky part replace xxx with your partition name


#mount /dev/xxx /mnt/home
#mkdir /tmp/pup001
#mount /mnt/home/pup001 /tmp/pup001 -o loop
#mp /tmp/pup001/.etc/rc.d/rc.local

after you edit the file (removing\modifying the offending code) press ctrl-q and Y to save

#umount /tmp/pup001

#reboot

And boot as normal
Back to top
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4341
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Tue 16 Aug 2005, 01:48    Post subject:  

bladehunter wrote:

Now the tricky part replace xxx with your partition name
#mount /dev/xxx /mnt/home


I'll say it is tricky ... df under rxvt just gives me rootfs, tmpfs and /dev/loop0

Not much to work with.

I am missing something ... again ... sorry. doc

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 18 Aug 2005, 20:31    Post subject:  

Quote:

When puppy gets to the GUI either logout or press ctrl-alt-backspace


I think you'll have to describe your computer setup and tell me where your pup001 file lives
Back to top
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4341
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 21:53    Post subject:  

bladehunter wrote:

I think you'll have to describe your computer setup and tell me where your pup001 file lives


OK, I have Puppy loaded on the 600X and it is doing wonderfully.

I reloaded the edgarbrits app and made the mods, correctly this time, to the rc.local file.

Ran things and all went well except that none of the drivers appear to work with my Buffalo G54 wireless pcmcia nic.

I tried several of them. The two Broadcoms which I might have guessed might work were rejected, the 3c574_cs and wavelan_cs loaded but did not actually work.

I posted the requested details about the Buffalo G54 elsewhere on the Forum and can repost that if it would help.

Sure would be awesome to get it working as I have the Ticker and Radio working and the next two projects are Thingamablog and booting from my USB stick ... then on to the 600E.

Thanks! doc

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4341
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 22:12    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:

Ran things and all went well except that none of the drivers appear to work with my Buffalo G54 wireless pcmcia nic.

I posted the requested details about the Buffalo G54 elsewhere on the Forum and can repost that if it would help.


Here it is:

Broadcom AirStation G54 54 Mbps CardBus WLI-CB-G54A
BCM4306
Model: Melco BCM4306 802.11b/g Wireless LAN Controller
Broadcom VID:PID 14e4:4320

lspci on my 600x 2:0.0 14e4:4320 (rev 02)

Thanks! doc

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4341
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2005, 10:08    Post subject:  

[quote="edoc"]
edoc wrote:

Ran things and all went well except that none of the drivers appear to work with my Buffalo G54 wireless pcmcia nic.


Went back and read the old ndiswrapper discussions and remain confused.

Many related discussions are scattered across semi-related threads on the Forum and can be hard to assemble into a coherent form. I know that is the goal of the Puppy Wiki but it isn't there yet re. the use of ndiswrapper and Bladehunter's app on edgarbrits to make Puppy really wired and wireless nic portable across a broad range of devices.

I did read this but it doesn't say how to add it to the edgarbrits app. http://www.goosee.com/puppy/wikka/NdiswrapperPuppy

BTW: How to I inquire via Puppy to determine the WEP value I need for the manual setup? (I really want to add my G54 to the list as I want all of them available as I move from pc to pc and from wireless to wired as the need presents.)

Can someone point me to the instructions to add a specific device to Bladehunter's app, please? I have the WinXP driver CD for the G54. I like the G54 because it comes with an external antenna connector, same as its pci version, and is one of the more powerful models.

Thanks! doc

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BlackAdder


Joined: 22 May 2005
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2005, 21:01    Post subject:  

Doc,
If you have Puppy 1.0.4 and bladehunter's beta-2 dot pup, your Buffalo adapter should be supported without any additional drivers. Try this:
    Plug in the adapter;
    Run "modprobe ndiswrapper";
    Check what happened via "dmesg";
    If there are no nasty errors - try "iwconfig", it should show wlan0;
    If there are nasty errors, post the results on this thread;
    If wlan0 is showing you know that your adapter is working with Puppy;
    You could then restart Puppy and edit wireless.conf etc. as explained in the HowTo.

The WEP key is like a password, so you have to find it out by means other than running a "tell me your WEP key" program on Puppy. WEP isn't wonderfully secure, but it's better than nothing, and I doubt if the owners of those wireless networks would want to run unsecured.
My attention has been elsewhere recently, so I only just stumbled across your posts.
Yes, the wiki does need to be updated, will confer with Lobster.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4341
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2005, 22:31    Post subject:  

BlackAdder wrote:
If you have Puppy 1.0.4 and bladehunter's beta-2 dot pup, your Buffalo adapter should be supported without any additional drivers.


I did have that version but downloaded it again in case there had been more than one edition of beta-2

BlackAdder wrote:
Try this:
[list]Plug in the adapter;
Run "modprobe ndiswrapper";


Note: /etc/modules.conf is more recent than /lib/modules/2.4.29/modules.dep

BlackAdder wrote:
Check what happened via "dmesg";
If there are no nasty errors - try "iwconfig", it should show wlan0;


No nasty errors to report.

BlackAdder wrote:
If wlan0 is showing you know that your adapter is working with Puppy;


OK

BlackAdder wrote:
You could then restart Puppy and edit wireless.conf etc. as explained in the HowTo.


I used the suggested values at the bottom. BTW: I am using a Netgear WGR614 v5 wireless router.

I rebooted and tried to write down info as it scrolled by:

ndiswrapper driver bcmw15a loaded
ndiswrapper using IRQ 11
wlan0: ndiswrapper .... missed the rest

It showed errors on the suggested values that I loaded in wireless.conf

Where would I find the correct values? Will they change if I am at the College or another location with wireless access?

BlackAdder wrote:
The WEP key is like a password, so you have to find it out by means other than running a "tell me your WEP key" program on Puppy. WEP isn't wonderfully secure, but it's better than nothing, and I doubt if the owners of those wireless networks would want to run unsecured.


I remain in the dark. Doesn't WAG autodetect and connect to the most local connect point?

Sorry for the many question! This is really out of my area of expertise
but something I need to try to understand at least in a sufficiently rudimentary way to cause hardware and software to work wirelessly and portably!

doc

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4341
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2005, 22:37    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:

I remain in the dark. Doesn't WAG autodetect and connect to the most local connect point?
doc


I just ran WAG and this was the result:

wireless card active
wireless card responding

no module loaded
dhcpcd not running
wifi-beta installed

wlan0 enabled
no IP assigned to wlan0
not connected to access point
no internet ping test

1 wireless network(s) detected
1 open network(s) detected

Does that help at all?

doc

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4341
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2005, 23:12    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:

BlackAdder wrote:
You could then restart Puppy and edit wireless.conf etc. as explained in the HowTo.


I used the suggested values at the bottom. BTW: I am using a Netgear WGR614 v5 wireless router.

It showed errors on the suggested values that I loaded in wireless.conf


Tried several different settings, rebooting between each, finally went back and removed all of the settings and rebooted and there were no errors.

Then I ran WAG, clicked on DHCP TOGGLE which cause dhcpcd to be "running".

Then clicked "Internet Ping" and internet ping failed.

The clicked Scan and lots of fun info showed up!

Cell - 01 Address: 00:0F:B5:6C:08:F4
ESSID: "NETGEAR"
Mode: Managed
Frequency: 2.462GHz
Quality: 0/100 Signal level: -35 dBm Noise level: -256 dBm
Encryption key: off

So I entered "ap 00:0F:B5:6C:08:F4", ESSID: "NETGEAR", Mode: Managed, and Frequency: 2.462GHz ... rebooted and no errors!

I clicked on WAG and it said that it had connected but when I opened Mozilla there was no connection so I clicked on DHCP TOGGLE and after a very long time WAG reported dhcpcd not running, no ip assigned to wlan0, access point aquired (spelling typo in the app).

I tried Radio 3 but it just disappeared, no error message and no response. Tried Mozilla again and no connect. Tried DHCP TOGGLE again and waited and waited and still the same as before.

I feel as though I am o-so-close ... what am I missing, please?

doc

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
keenerd

Joined: 20 Aug 2005
Posts: 175

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2005, 23:37    Post subject:  

I'd say you are really really close.

Its a matter of hitting the right buttons in the right order. You have to connect to a network before you can connect to the internet. I'd try Scan, Cell XX. Then Dhcp Toggle to get an IP address. Once you are granted an IP you should be online. If you past the Ping Test, then you are certainly online.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4341
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 27 Aug 2005, 01:07    Post subject:  

keenerd wrote:
I'd say you are really really close.
Its a matter of hitting the right buttons in the right order. You have to connect to a network before you can connect to the internet. I'd try Scan, Cell XX. Then Dhcp Toggle to get an IP address. Once you are granted an IP you should be online. If you past the Ping Test, then you are certainly online.


Tried it but no joy ;-(

Wireless card active
Wireless card responding

No module loaded
dhcpcd not running
wifi-beta installed

wlan0 enabled
no IP assigned to wlan0
no internet ping test

2 wireless network(s) detected [I am out in the woods and thus have no idea what the second one is unless WAG is counting the same one twice for lack of purge or de-dup code)

1 open network detected.

Will have to get back to this tomorrow, it's after midnight here ... again!

Sigh ... Thanks! doc

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5218
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 30 Aug 2005, 00:32    Post subject:  

edoc,
I thought I would jump in and offer a fresh perspective.
I apologise if any of this advice you know already.

It sounds to me that the ndiswrapper driver for your Buffalo adaptor is loading fine. Configuration is now the issue.
I suggest you forget about scanning for multiple wireless networks (with WAG) for a moment and concentrate on setting up just one wireless configuration - for your Netgear WGR614 wireless router. I have this router myself.

You should know the router's Wireless Network Name (SSID) and you should have Security Encryption (WEP) disabled for now. You can enable WEP later when you know everything is working.
If you are uncertain about either of these, you should log onto the router's configuration interface using an ethernet-cabled workstation ... it may need to be a Windows computer. In either InternetExplorer or Netscape enter http://192.168.0.1 in the address bar. You will be prompted for a username and password - these are the defaults listed in your manual. If you don't have your reference manual you can download it here - http://kbserver.netgear.com/products/WGR614v5.asp

If the router's password has been changed you will need to do a full reset -
Press and hold the Default Reset button (on the rear) until the test LED turns on (about 10 seconds).
Release the Default Reset button and wait for the router to reboot.

Now let's temporarily rename /etc/rc.d/wireless.conf, so it doesn't come into play while we set things up from the commandline.
Load the driver -
modprobe ndiswrapper
This should create a network interface ... the name of which I think is defined in wireless.conf(?)
For now, run "ifconfig -a" or "iwconfig" to find the name of the interface ... let's assume "wlan0".
Now we connect to your Netgear router's wireless network -
iwconfig wlan0 essid MY_ESSID mode Managed (obviously replace "MY_ESSID" with whatever)
Now let's see if you can ping the router -
ping 192.168.0.1
Do you see a response? If so, let's proceed and get ourselves an IP address - if by DHCP (see router settings) -
dhcpcd -t 20 -h puppypc -d wlan0
... or if you want to assign a static IP
ifconfig wlan0 192.168.0.xx broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0
route add default gw 192.168.0.1 netmask 0.0.0.0 wlan0

Run "ifconfig" to confirm puppy's network status.
Happy surfing.

Now you can consider enabling WEP in your router's setup. Take note of the WEP key ... now the iwconfig command would be -
iwconfig wlan0 essid MY_ESSID key 1234567890 mode Managed

Now you can try entering the correct settings in wireless.conf, and everything should work "automagically" - for your Netgear.
Craig S
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4341
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 31 Aug 2005, 10:55    Post subject:  

tempestuous wrote:

I thought I would jump in and offer a fresh perspective. Craig S


HEY!!! I just realized that I am logged on using my Buffalo G54 wireless pcmcia card!

When I powered down last night it wasn't responding via the ping test but apparently a power down and reboot was necessary.

I didn't even notice that the wireless card instead of the wired card was plugged in.

Sure appreciate the help!

doc

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 4 [56 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1074s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0068s) ][ GZIP on ]