Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 02:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
G-FTP crashes when I try to use it.
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
peppyy


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 429
Location: VT USA

PostPosted: Sun 07 Aug 2005, 10:37    Post_subject:  G-FTP crashes when I try to use it.  

I can open it and it trys to connect. Never shows remote directory and if I click anywhere it goes bye-bye. I do a lot of web work and I really need it for e-bay listings and stuff.

Nice hi-tech description huh.
How do I repair?

_________________
Questions? Search Puppy Linux Answers with Google
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website AIM YIM MSNM 
Rich

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 278
Location: Middlesbrough - UK

PostPosted: Sun 07 Aug 2005, 11:14    Post_subject:  

if you're using version 2.0.9 then I can't help you really........it works fine on my system.

I do recall having bother using it for the first few times though, but once I figured out what I was doing with it I've had no problems since

Rich
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 07 Aug 2005, 11:48    Post_subject:  

It was explained to me how to use and it is simple (you put the info in the top boxes)

But I can not find that post and am having problems again - is anyone using OK with 1.0.4?

From what I remember it is just name of the server eg fred.server.com
the port - usually 21
the name and password you use to log in . . .

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Rich

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 278
Location: Middlesbrough - UK

PostPosted: Sun 07 Aug 2005, 13:55    Post_subject:  

I don't even bother to put the port info into mine when I log in.

The part that caught me out was you enter the URL, user name and password ( just TAB between the boxes )........BUT after you've typed your password you must press Enter rather than tabbing to another option. This gets you connected .
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
peppyy


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 429
Location: VT USA

PostPosted: Sun 07 Aug 2005, 14:15    Post_subject:  

Maybe I should have said that it crashes. Just don't like that term.

I use gftp on several other machines and it works fine on them. I don't see it listed anywhere I can remove and add it back. I suppose I could be using it wrong if it is not the same gftp I have been using right along but it looks the same.

_________________
Questions? Search Puppy Linux Answers with Google
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website AIM YIM MSNM 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11130
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Sun 07 Aug 2005, 19:09    Post_subject:  

gftp has always worked well for me

midnight commander dotpup) works good also as an ftp client
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 07 Aug 2005, 21:53    Post_subject:  

Well I have solved my connection problems

It seems there is an idiot using the FTP program
(Did you guess) - yep me.

trying to connect to an address I do not have access too - oops Embarassed

Puppy as usual is innocent

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 08 Aug 2005, 02:38    Post_subject:  

Rich wrote:
I don't even bother to put the port info into mine when I log in.

The part that caught me out was you enter the URL, user name and password ( just TAB between the boxes )........BUT after you've typed your password you must press Enter rather than tabbing to another option. This gets you connected .


The button on extreme left, with pic of 2 PCs, will connect you and disconnect you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
peppyy


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 429
Location: VT USA

PostPosted: Thu 18 Aug 2005, 12:36    Post_subject:  

Hmm. Works fine in 1.0.4 but I am still having a problem on 1.0.3.

I suppose I can publish with mozilla composer. The only thing that bugs me about that is it re-writes your meta tags to include itself and changes the order.

That reminds me, I have a web emergency. Rolling Eyes

_________________
Questions? Search Puppy Linux Answers with Google
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website AIM YIM MSNM 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0535s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0036s) ][ GZIP on ]