Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Nov 2014, 22:12
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
2.15CE not saving network configuration
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Mon 19 Mar 2007, 18:07    Post subject:    

rarsa wrote:
Thank you,

I'll include a fix in the next version of the wizard unless you want to beat me to it Wink

Also in testing 2.15CE the new network wizard refuses to save any configuration, and settings have to be re-entered after each reboot. Situation unchanged on 2 separate installations.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Mon 19 Mar 2007, 21:57    Post subject:  

whodo, please start a new thread so we don't steal this one.

I'm surprised by your report so having a new thread may tell us what other users are experiencing and I may be able to get more information.

_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
headfound


Joined: 24 Jun 2006
Posts: 349
Location: England

PostPosted: Tue 20 Mar 2007, 05:46    Post subject:  

I'm not sure what version you're talking about, but i've installed 2.15ce alpha to usb and hard disk and the network wizard has been fine, just ran it once, no problems.
_________________
Download a better Computer Smile
Puppy Linux Song
altern8life
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Tue 20 Mar 2007, 07:15    Post subject:  

headfound wrote:
I'm not sure what version you're talking about, but i've installed 2.15ce alpha to usb and hard disk and the network wizard has been fine, just ran it once, no problems.

Yes, Alpha was ok because it was based on 2.14 core. Beta and onwards have the new 2.15 core. Not sure if Beta carried rarsa's new network scripts or not. Problem I experienced was in 2.15CE RC1, which definitely was using rarsa's improved network wizard.

@rarsa: I replaced rc.network with the version from 2.13 - all I had available at the time - and the problem disappeared. I can upload the offending script if required, but debugging is even more beyond my capabilities than writing it in the first place. Razz

Cheers

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0456s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0054s) ][ GZIP on ]