Problems & questions with using Puppy as my sole OS

Using applications, configuring, problems
paullecorde

Problems & questions with using Puppy as my sole OS

#1 Post by paullecorde »

I have been looking at other distros of Linux and playing around with them hoping to find a replacement for Windows. Of all the distros I've tried, I still like Puppy best. The big reason is that Puppy works... It does a fantastic job of finding my hardware and getting everything to work. I am very impressed. Debian took over 3 hours to install and then didn't work the monitor with the correct resolution. Ubuntu installed well enough, but as a newbie I am finding it impossible to install anything not included in the original install. Puppy works great, installs to the hard drive easily, runs all my hardware, and I have been able to install alien programs.
Overall it is the best distro I've used yet.

With that said, I am having a few problems with Puppy. If I could get those cleared up, I would be very satisfied with Puppy and would use it as the primary OS on my practice computer and my laptop.

The things I do most often with a computer include surf the web (Puppy does this), type documents (Puppy does this), scan images (haven't tried this yet), listen to music and watch video. These last 2 give me the most trouble with Puppy. I can listen to CDs using the CD player, but I still cannot get gxine to play streaming audio or video or anything else. I have used Puppy on 2 different machines and I get the "engine failed to start" message on both. I was successful at installing the Linux version of RealPlayer but I got a message that it was unable to write to the drive. I have not been able to player music using any Linux distro that I've tried. So, it's not just Puppy.