Wireless works, but WEP won't :(

Booting, installing, newbie
randomguy

Wireless works, but WEP won't :(

#1 Post by randomguy »

Hi all. I'm new to Puppy Linux but not Linux in general (been using Ubuntu on and off for about 6 months). Anyway I have a problem that's causing me a lot of frustration, hopefully someone here can help me out.

I have a pretty old-ish laptop (333mhz, 128mb RAM) with a PCMCIA wireless card (Proxim 8430). My router is a Linksys Wireless WRT54G (v6). I've been wanting to put Linux on this laptop, the first distro I tried was Xubuntu which was too slow for my liking, so next I tried Puppy Linux. Puppy seems to be a lot more lightweight than Xubuntu, and I would be using it as my primary OS on the laptop if it weren't for the fact that I can't get WEP encryption to work! It worked fine on Xubuntu ("out of the box", too) so I know my wireless card *can* use WEP in Linux, I just can't figure out why it won't work in Puppy..

According to this webpage, my Proxim 8430 should be using the 'hostap' driver. I tried the hostap_cs driver in Puppy, when the driver loads it says it recognizes the device but when I scan for a wireless network it can't find mine. Even entering the SSID manually doesn't do anything, it doesn't seem to be able to connect to anything. Turning WEP encryption on/off didn't make a difference.

So I scrolled through the list of drivers and decided to try the orinoco_cs driver for the hell of it. Lo and behold, this driver enables me to connect wirelessly to my router, but only with NO encryption! If I enable WEP, the connection test fails, and I can't visit any websites.