Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Dec 2014, 08:59
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Puppy 2.15CE RC3 Clean Up
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 4 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Wed 04 Apr 2007, 20:37    Post_subject:  

richard.a wrote:
Just wondering what the situation is on the "missing" resolution change button on the XOrg configuring panel that you were going to look into?

Had a meeting on #irc last night, but didn't get any devs so no-one knew why it wasn't there or what happened to it. It might be worth posting on the dev forum in case it can be reinstated for 2.16

Only other suggestion would be to try copying the last known version of that wizard into your latest Puppy. Remember to backup the old script first, so you can change back if there's a problem.

Cheers

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Wed 04 Apr 2007, 20:40    Post_subject:  

richard.a wrote:
The default icon spacing...
RightClickDesktopIcons > ROX-Filer > Options > PinboardBehaviour > IconGridStep
might be a lot better for new users if changed from Coarse to Medium.

A little difficult to do as it involves keeping Rox's personal settings (I think). I'll have a look and see if I can find the default Rox configuration files.

Cheers

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Wed 04 Apr 2007, 22:05    Post_subject:  

In /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/Options, find this line:
<Option name="pinboard_grid_step">XX</Option>

Changing the XX will alter the resolution of icon setting (I think). 16 should correspond to "medium". Otherwise, just configure ROX with the gui, then copy that options file into the package. Just make sure it's exactly as you want the one in the iso to be.

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Wed 04 Apr 2007, 22:18    Post_subject:  

Pizzasgood wrote:
In /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/Options, find this line:
<Option name="pinboard_grid_step">XX</Option>

Changing the XX will alter the resolution of icon setting (I think). 16 should correspond to "medium".

Thanks, PG. Wink

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Dante123


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed 04 Apr 2007, 22:48    Post_subject: Flash and Opera under 2.15 RC3
Sub_title: Flash not working under Opera
 

If Flash 9 is part of the sfs file that has other web stuff......and I have installed Opera 9.10....but Flash doesn't work. What do I need to do to get it working? (Flash works fine under Firefox on the same machine with RC3)

BTW, the earlier reference to the flashforopera.pup file didn't work for me. Any other suggestions?

Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Wed 04 Apr 2007, 23:10    Post_subject: Re: Flash and Opera under 2.15 RC3
Sub_title: Flash not working under Opera
 

Dante123 wrote:
If Flash 9 is part of the sfs file that has other web stuff......and I have installed Opera 9.10....but Flash doesn't work. What do I need to do to get it working? (Flash works fine under Firefox on the same machine with RC3)

Flash 9 is NOT supported in Opera 9.10 ... sorry.

You can use the flash library files from /root/.mozilla/plugins in Opera 9.10, IF they are Flash 7. That definitely works. Just put them in the Opera plugins directory. I've tried doing that with Flash 9 but couldn't get it to run. You can try again if you like, assuming the problem was specific to my installation.

Best test of Flash in Opera (or anything else) is www.disneyworld.com - they have a flash intro with music that just won't run unless you have Flash 9, and it tells you so.

Hope that helps.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Rudy


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 18
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri 06 Apr 2007, 17:14    Post_subject: Everything Works
Sub_title: Thanks To WhoDO
 

WhoDo,

Everything works in 215 CE Final, just as you said.

Thank you very much again for your patience and excellent work!

Rudy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Fri 06 Apr 2007, 17:52    Post_subject: Re: Everything Works
Sub_title: Thanks To WhoDO
 

Rudy wrote:
WhoDo,

Everything works in 215 CE Final, just as you said.

Thank you very much again for your patience and excellent work!

Rudy

You're welcome, Rudy, but there were more people than just me involved in the final 2.15CE product: NathanF, Pizzasgood, Tronkel, PkaG, Lobster, puppyfan12, headfound, richard.a and many others. I accept your thanks on their behalf too! Cool

Cheers

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0610s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0050s) ][ GZIP on ]