Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 13:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
WiFi for 2.15CE "Viz"?
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Author Message
dsearles


Joined: 06 Apr 2007
Posts: 11
Location: New Hampshire, USA

PostPosted: Fri 06 Apr 2007, 17:27    Post subject:  WiFi for 2.15CE "Viz"?  

Will the wifi-beta.pup which works in 2.13 also work in 2.15 CE "Viz"? If not, is there a new procedure for getting WiFi operational in 2.15 CE?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mysticmarks


Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 157
Location: California

PostPosted: Fri 06 Apr 2007, 19:57    Post subject: of course there Viz!
Subject description: we'll get it.
 

first run the connection wizard on the desktop.

pick option 2 (by network interface)

see if you can see any entries in the interfaces section now (ie- ath0, eth0, etc)

if you show 2, then try clicking the one you believe to be wireless. if puppy sees it as such it will say so.

try following the rest of the wizard instructions

if that fails, then this is my run around for now.

now, i havent been able to get this wizard to work and setup any of my 5 wirelsess machines correctly. HOWEVER!, it WILL make them show up for the network menu tool RutilT gadget. exit the wizard if it doesnt work. Run RutliT from the network menu. click through the tabs and see if your card shows up and is reading the wireless networks in your area. if it is, thn pick the one you need, and click the add profile button to finalize the settings. once that is done, click the radio button next to the profile youve setup and click the apply button. watch for the trayicons. If you see the standard network connection icon and a wireless icon come up and show waves instead of a big red slash, then you should be fine. check for internet access. if you got it, you can close the RutilT (the wireless icon will close, thats ok). you should maintan the connection. unfortunately RutilT requires a setup at each start for me, as i use wep and ascii passkey. If you get it configured to your liking, search the forum for a method to add RutilT to the boot up. (i dont do it, but i know its out there) Hope this helps! Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dsearles


Joined: 06 Apr 2007
Posts: 11
Location: New Hampshire, USA

PostPosted: Sat 07 Apr 2007, 07:20    Post subject:  

Got it working... I had to add the Windows driver using ndiswrapper then add a few lines to rc.local to modprobe ndiswrapper and get a DHCP address during bootup. It's all good. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0405s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0034s) ][ GZIP on ]