Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Nov 2014, 20:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
swap file usage basic questions, oh yea, btw love Puppy!
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
sulemasc

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 69
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2005, 01:38    Post subject:  swap file usage basic questions, oh yea, btw love Puppy!  

Hi - I've got Puppy 1.0.4 running on hd grub install - when I setup the hard drive I put in a swap file because someone reccomended it to me as maybe down the road some apps might want to use it - I'm new to linux so I go with the advice..

http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?t=1055
this forum link helped me out a lot

I'm new to this swap file usage - but I understand it's very useful for low memory computers (I'm going to soon test with 64mB, and 128mB installs) - with some research I now know how the 'mut' utility in Puppy does recognize the swap partition but it's not being used now (I chose 512mB).

I already know the hd install slows down puppy a bit (still great I'd say), and I'm wondering if clicking the use swap is a good idea. It's not going to be used unless it needs to be right? Meaning that since the only thing I've installed so far is freecell, it wouldn't be used, but later on if I install a memory hogging program (does linux have any:) or use up the memory with graphics processing or whatever then the swap would then be used?

Also, what would happen if the swap was needed but wasn't there? Would linux just respond by saying there isn't enough memory?

Thanks, and I'm soo enjoying Puppy. When gxine worked for live365.com that really made my day. And the help file is dynamic! New apps have their links added there?! Fantastic I'd say. Tuxfiles, and Rute, and help, gee I've all this info to peruse .. Smile Plus the info on this forum is fantastic. I'd say sometimes randomly reading posts I learn just as much as when I try to find something specific!

Thanks - I hope this wasn't already covered on the forum.
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mike


Joined: 13 Aug 2005
Posts: 75
Location: Bowser

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2005, 01:56    Post subject:  

if linux demanded more memory, but it wasn't there, it would act alot like win98 when trying to do something you know you shouldn't (you know who you rae, y'know, like tring to start IE when already doing another memory intensive task)



yes, linux really does have some programs that will tryt and cash your system due to memory problems....


if you get a chance, try out nicotine, a soulseek p2p client, it will just about crash my system every time... so yes, there does exist bad programming in linux as well, it's just lees often.

(no offence to the programmers behind nicotine, it's just that reputation is built on results, not neccacarrily politics)

edit: spelling doesn't seem to be my cup of tea today, sorry

Last edited by mike on Sun 14 Aug 2005, 01:57; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sulemasc

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 69
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2005, 01:56    Post subject: swap file usage basic questions, oh yea, btw love Puppy!  

jeepers, I forgot to mention this pc has 288mB of ram, 16 shared (don't know what that really means - says it at startup), and Puppy sees 272mB
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2005, 02:26    Post subject:  

urnong the swap off whilst runing isn't a good idea...I mentioned this to Jesse and he said most users would only do it once Laughing
Back to top
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11131
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2005, 02:38    Post subject:  

In order not to have confusion, when you wrote "swap file" you meant swap partition?

According to my experience Puppy will automatically configure itself to use a Linux swap partition if there is one.

I run Linux with swap partitions and I've noted that quite often it gets used for some purpose other than running out of physical RAM. Stated differently, I've seen the swap partition in use under circumstances when I didn't even come close to using all the physical RAM.

Overall, I think it is a good practice to have swap partitions.

As for a swap file, I haven't had occasion to create one or configure Puppy to use. There are some good posts on how to do this. Gotta search and find, that's all.

Edit: Opps, in reading the link you referenced, I think you probably are talking about a swap file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mike


Joined: 13 Aug 2005
Posts: 75
Location: Bowser

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2005, 02:55    Post subject:  

Quote:

According to my experience Puppy will automatically configure itself to use a Linux swap partition if there is one.


i agree that puppy does this, but not in my experience once instaled to hard drive. i've always had to manually setup the swap partition once installed (at least with hd install #2)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2005, 03:54    Post subject:  

Smile

the 16 meg shared is usually from the built in graphic card.

Puppy will usually boot from HD faster than from CD (not much in my experience) and then run (or try to primarily from RAM - so no difference in running speed with the CD and HD versions)

I think the idea of "flitting" through the forum, the wiki or Barrys site is a good one - sooner or later you will find more and more making sense. Tips and inspirations . . .

for example here are some of Barrys Quick tips
form puppylinux.com

Quick tips

* Rxvt and the clipboard
Copying text from an rxvt terminal window to the clipboard is so easy: just drag with the mouse pointer (hold left button down) to highlight text, release the left button -- and the text is automatically placed in the clipboard.
* Rxvt auto-complete
Another neat feature in an rxvt terminal window is auto-complete -- start to type a directory name or filename, press the TAB key and it will automatically complete.
* Live-CD faster boot
Booting from live-CD and want a faster boot? If you study the How Puppy works page, you will see the search order for the usr_cram.fs file -- mount the CD, drag a copy of usr_cram.fs to /mnt/home/. Next time you boot, wow!

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sulemasc

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 69
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2005, 04:00    Post subject: swap file usage basic questions, oh yea, btw love Puppy!  

correct - swap partition. See already I realize that as much as I try to be succinct, somethings probably missing. Sorry, not swap file - subject should say swap partition .....

So the partition - I made it by searching this forum, typing into terminal, and making sure it said linux swap/solaris when I ran cfdisk. Then xproc memory tab showed 0kb swap and I can't edit xproc, so then I see that you can edit mut
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4796
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2005, 09:44    Post subject: mkswap and swapon -a  

Chief Barry says swap preparation is not automatic, so to format it

mkswap /dev/hda6 #if it is /dev/hda6

and to use it

swapon -a

Even having done this, check the MUT utility when inside Puppy...

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11131
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2005, 14:55    Post subject:  

Puppy has always used the swap partion. I mean Puppy uses it after a fair amount of uptime.

It is using it right now and I've only browsed the forum and opened a text editor a few times. The more uptime the more ram and swap file gets used.
Code:
## Uptime you can see the computer is mostly idle
]
 up 11:42, load average: 0.07, 0.32, 0.32

## 384 mb ram and it is still swapping to the swap partition
              total         used         free       shared      buffers
  Mem:       386284       327808        58476            0        12744
 Swap:       136512        51932        84580
Total:       522796       379740       143056

Last edited by Bruce B on Sun 14 Aug 2005, 15:09; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11131
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2005, 15:08    Post subject:  

Mike, you are right and thanks for the info.

I use almost exclusively Option 1 installs and Puppy autodects and uses the swap partition.

I just tested it on an Option 2 install and Puppy did not autodect or configure to use the swap partition.

I tried swapon -a and it didn't work.

Then swapon /dev/hda4 and it worked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mike


Joined: 13 Aug 2005
Posts: 75
Location: Bowser

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2005, 15:17    Post subject:  

that's right, i had to add the line
Code:
swapon /dev/hda5
to /root/.etc/rc.d/rc.local.

kind of starnge that the ability to autodetect swap isn't carried over to the hd option2 install.... :shrug:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11131
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2005, 15:18    Post subject:  

Lobster wrote:
I think the idea of "flitting" through the forum, the wiki or Barrys site is a good one - sooner or later you will find more and more making sense. Tips and inspirations . . .


I've been intertaining an idea. As we know there are several brilliant and helpful contributors, I don't mention them by name for fear I might leave some out.

My idea is to search the formum by names of the 'answer' people and copy and paste some of their informative posts to flat text files for personal searching and referencing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mike


Joined: 13 Aug 2005
Posts: 75
Location: Bowser

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2005, 15:23    Post subject:  

that's a real good idea Bruce B...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11131
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2005, 16:02    Post subject:  

Mike, there is something else I noticed that doesn't seem to get carried over in an option 2 install. It is the MOZILLA_FIVE_HOME path and export and append instructions in /etc/profile.

The path locations are the same and it seems to me if an option 1 wants that information an option 2 would want the same information.

???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0900s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0118s) ][ GZIP on ]