swap file usage basic questions, oh yea, btw love Puppy!

Booting, installing, newbie
sulemasc

#1 Post by sulemasc »

Hi - I've got Puppy 1.0.4 running on hd grub install - when I setup the hard drive I put in a swap file because someone reccomended it to me as maybe down the road some apps might want to use it - I'm new to linux so I go with the advice..

http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?t=1055
this forum link helped me out a lot

I'm new to this swap file usage - but I understand it's very useful for low memory computers (I'm going to soon test with 64mB, and 128mB installs) - with some research I now know how the 'mut' utility in Puppy does recognize the swap partition but it's not being used now (I chose 512mB).

I already know the hd install slows down puppy a bit (still great I'd say), and I'm wondering if clicking the use swap is a good idea. It's not going to be used unless it needs to be right? Meaning that since the only thing I've installed so far is freecell, it wouldn't be used, but later on if I install a memory hogging program (does linux have any:) or use up the memory with graphics processing or whatever then the swap would then be used?

Also, what would happen if the swap was needed but wasn't there? Would linux just respond by saying there isn't enough memory?

Thanks, and I'm soo enjoying Puppy. When gxine worked for live365.com that really made my day. And the help file is dynamic! New apps have their links added there?! Fantastic I'd say. Tuxfiles, and Rute, and help, gee I've all this info to peruse .. :) Plus the info on this forum is fantastic. I'd say sometimes randomly reading posts I learn just as much as when I try to find something specific!

Thanks - I hope this wasn't already covered on the forum.
Mark

mike

#2 Post by mike »