Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 20 Aug 2014, 12:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Problem with Agfa Snapscan 310 Scanner and SANE
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
Rich

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 278
Location: Middlesbrough - UK

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2005, 17:07    Post subject:  Problem with Agfa Snapscan 310 Scanner and SANE  

Sane????? not for long.......I'm going mad trying to get this scanner to work

Using 1.0.4, downloaded the SANE backends and the Xsane GUI, but I can't seem to get the system to recognise the scanner.

using the command line sane-find-scanner I get the useful message

" # Most Scanners connected to the parallel port or other proprietary ports
# can't be detected by this program. "

When running Xsane, I get past the licence terms screen and the message 'No devices available' comes up.

Reading the help files about scanner installs there is a mention of downloading the file sane.tgz from the puppy download site and placing it into /root/my-applications. I can't find this file anywhere.

The scanner, FYI, is an Agfa Snapscan 310.

Can anyone tell me the next step in my quest as I've run out of ideas !

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mike


Joined: 13 Aug 2005
Posts: 75
Location: Bowser

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2005, 17:09    Post subject:  

try
Code:
modprobe


then add the */ or something, the wildcard indicator, it will likely ask you for that (sorry, forget exactly how the code goes).

that worked for me, afterwards sane-find-scanner found my scanner
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rich

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 278
Location: Middlesbrough - UK

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2005, 19:36    Post subject:  

cheers for the reply Mike, but the problem is a bit more curious than a simple modprobe ( as far as I can tell )

looking through the files here I have the file /lib/modules/2.4.29/usb/scanner.o.gz

Modprobe scanner .....then lsmod gives me the following.

Quote:

scanner 10688 0
parport_pc 15108 1
parport 23880 1 [lp parport_pc]
usbcore 59596 1 (autoclean) [scanner usb-ohci ehci-hcd]


If I'm reading it correctly, the scanner module is loaded, but it's a USB scanner module and not a parallel port one. hence when I load xsane and select parallel port, I get the 'no scanner available' message.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
danleff


Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 294
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2005, 05:35    Post subject:  

Try this;

1. make sure that the scanner usb plug is in a usb port on the back of the computer (onboard usb port off the motherboard), not a front usb port.

2. navigate to /etc/sane.d and open snapscan.conf as text (right click the file with your mouse and choose open as text).

3. uncomment the line near the top of the file;

# /dev/usb/scanner0 bus=usb

so that it reads;

/dev/usb/scanner0 bus=usb

4. Save the file.

5. Now try sane-find-scanner to see if it is detected.

6. Try to open xsane and see if it is found.

_________________
I love it when a plan comes together

--Hannibal Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Rich

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 278
Location: Middlesbrough - UK

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2005, 08:01    Post subject:  

But it's a parallel scanner, not a usb one.

etc/sane.d/agfafocus.conf points to /dev/scanner.......which doesn't exist.

does the scanner.o module included in puppy only work with usb scanners?
This is my thought as it's located in /lib/modules/2.4.29/usb/

On the back of the scanner the label states that it is a SCSI interface, and it's one of those with a printer port on the back of it, so basically the printer and scanner are chained together through the parallel port. This may or may not be causing it's own problem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rich

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 278
Location: Middlesbrough - UK

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2005, 16:59    Post subject:  

Thanks for the help with this one Guys...................it's humble pie time though. Embarassed


I inherited this scanner. I was assured that it was fully working. I foolishly took this to be true.

Whilst moving things around on my desk, plugging and unplugging things, I moved the scanner and it rattled. Always keen to have a look inside stuff I took it to pieces. The main Circuit board was snapped right down the middle. Shocked

I could repair it, ( that's what I do ), but frankly I can't be bothered. I'm off out to get a new one later this week and the binmen can have the old one.

( expect another 'Help me' post when the new one arrives! ) Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0613s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0131s) ][ GZIP on ]