Puppy 2.14 Need to Set Dialer to Pulse Dial

Wage Slave

Puppy 2.14 Need to Set Dialer to Pulse Dial

#1 Post by Wage Slave »

I have searched the forums but couldn't find anything on this. Please help me if you can.

I am a complete beginner in Linux but am highly impressed with the way Puppy runs on my grandfather's Celeron with 64 Mb of memory

I need to setup the dialer to use pulse rather than tone dialing. Hard to believe but the system here in Japan is pulse. The PCI modem was detected and dials fine in tone but I can't find a way to change it to pulse.

Many thanks in advance.

Flash
Official Dog Handler

#2 Post by Flash »

Did that modem ever work in Japan (for instance in Windows)? About all I can suggest is to first find out from the modem manufacturer if that modem supports pulse dialing.

Sorry I can't be more help. I haven't used a dial-up modem in years, and never in Linux.

Wage Slave

#3 Post by Wage Slave »

Thanks very much for the response The modem works fine in pulse with Windows 98. In Windows there are radio buttons to set the dial type.

Perhaps I was not clear. What I need to know is how to initialise the modem in Puppy to pulse dial rather than tone dial. I saw something about the iniialisation string which I suppose I would need to edit.

Anyway, I couldn't find any way in Puppy to make the same change.

Quote "I haven't used a dial-up modem in years, and never in Linux."

Neither have I but he doesn't want pay for broadband and I just need a way to check email etc when we are staying at his place.

mouldy

#4 Post by mouldy »

You can change the dial string, not the initialization string from ATDT to ATDP. I just tried it with KPPP dialer and it dialed out with pulse. Trivial with the KPPP dialer, just go to modem section, click modem commands and go down list to the dial string and change it and click ok couple times. I would have to investigate to change this in other dialers.