Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 21 Jul 2018, 01:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
2 issues after using 2.15CE for a while
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Author Message
T_B

Joined: 08 Apr 2007
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Mon 23 Apr 2007, 12:39    Post subject:  2 issues after using 2.15CE for a while
Subject description: xine out of sync + desktop disappears
 

I've installed Puppy on a couple of PC's and had some issues after using it for a while.
On one computer Xine audio became out of syn with video after using it for a while. This happens in movies and also with video-streams. I've installed VLC and VLC works without flaws. Unfortunately I can' t use VLC for video-streams.

The other problem is that the desktop sometimes disappears (don't know what could be the cause).
All Icons are gone and the desktop is black. After rebooting the desktop is back again. I've seen this happen on two of my installs.
I would like to solve this as well, or at least have a way to get the desktop back easy. I'm using IceWM btw.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
octobclrnts


Joined: 15 Apr 2007
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon 23 Apr 2007, 14:39    Post subject:  

I have met the disappearing desktop bug as well. This happens when ROX crashes. The only way it has happened to me was when I opened a folder in ROX that had a lot of items in it. It was scanning the folder and half way through, just stopped and the desktop disappeared. It's happened a couple of times to me. You don't have to do a full restart, just restart X.

Sorry, I can't really help you with the other problem.

_________________
Puppy 2.17
HP Pavillion dv1000
Ram 512MB
Proc 1.5GHz Pentium M
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
T_B

Joined: 08 Apr 2007
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Mon 23 Apr 2007, 15:46    Post subject:  

octobclrnts wrote:
The only way it has happened to me was when I opened a folder in ROX that had a lot of items in it. It was scanning the folder and half way through, just stopped and the desktop disappeared.


Yes, I think that happened to me as well... thanks!
Would be nice if there is a way to recover the desktop without restarting x, or even better prevent it from happening. This is a rather nasty bug, I hope it will/can be fixed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
octobclrnts


Joined: 15 Apr 2007
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon 23 Apr 2007, 21:28    Post subject:  

It might be possible to fix it without restarting X, but I'm not sure which process governs the desktop. I just know that it starts with X.
_________________
Puppy 2.17
HP Pavillion dv1000
Ram 512MB
Proc 1.5GHz Pentium M
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bostonvaulter


Joined: 26 Sep 2006
Posts: 269

PostPosted: Tue 24 Apr 2007, 02:48    Post subject:  

try this command next time it happens

rox -p /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin

i got it from this thread http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=17532

Since this topic comes up fairly often, i think we should have a menu option to restart the rox filer.

Jason

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
T_B

Joined: 08 Apr 2007
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Tue 24 Apr 2007, 12:28    Post subject:  

bostonvaulter wrote:
try this command next time it happens
rox -p /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin
Jason


Yes, works great. Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dot


Joined: 18 Mar 2007
Posts: 31
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 24 Apr 2007, 13:04    Post subject:  

I am affected by this as well, so I did the following - it should give you the appropriate entry in the quick start menu (icon to the right of "show desktop"):

- open quick start menu
- click on "edit toolbar"
- put the following line somewhere into the list that comes up:

prog "Reload desktop" run1616 rox -p /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin

- restart IceWM (restarting X not necessary).

I don't really know what "run1616" means here, all I know is that without it, the entry won't show.

HTH

dot

_________________
[Celeron [Mendocino] 500 MHz laptop _ 128 MB RAM _ PCMCIA ethernet _ PCMCIA modem _ USB 1.1 CD burner _ Puppy 2.15CE Final frugal install _ Firefox 2 _ YAY Puppy for legacy hardware]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Tue 24 Apr 2007, 13:08    Post subject:  

bostonvaulter wrote:
Since this topic comes up fairly often, i think we should have a menu option to restart the rox filer.

I second that idea.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jonyo

Joined: 28 Dec 2006
Posts: 2725

PostPosted: Tue 24 Apr 2007, 14:28    Post subject:  

I had some desktop disappearing issues awhile back ~ 2.12 or 3 that i never sorted out; I was trying a lot of new things at the time. Haven't had that problem for awhile now & not at all on this 2.15 setup.

Ended up starting 2.15 with the final release that had some bugs in it & did my first checksum test after not bothering with it before. Ended up failing the test.

I don't think that it's stressed enuff that this test should be done. No point in resolving problems without knowing for sure that one is starting with a good disk.

Last edited by jonyo on Wed 25 Apr 2007, 07:44; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4440
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Tue 24 Apr 2007, 20:06    Post subject:  

dot wrote:
I don't really know what "run1616" means here, all I know is that without it, the entry won't show.

"run1616" is the icon that shows in the toolbar menu in front of the command entry.

I will endeavour to remember to include this very useful option in future remasters of Puppy 2.15CE. Thanks gang.

Cheers

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bostonvaulter


Joined: 26 Sep 2006
Posts: 269

PostPosted: Wed 25 Apr 2007, 04:15    Post subject:  

@WhoDo

While we're on the topic of menu items to include, i think we should also include a fixmenus menu item as well. But Barry may have put that in already, I haven't checked 2.16.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0724s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0102s) ][ GZIP on ]