Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 30 Oct 2014, 10:37
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
I want Puppy to start without GUI, run program from Mandrake
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Quasar

Joined: 07 May 2005
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Tue 16 Aug 2005, 06:16    Post_subject:  I want Puppy to start without GUI, run program from Mandrake  

Hey everybody, I'm using Puppy 1.0.4 and I need to do the following things, I need the OS to load into the command prompt only without entering the whole OS GUI, and I want to write a program on Mandrake 2005 then make Puppy run it at startup, can anyone help me with that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Rich

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 278
Location: Middlesbrough - UK

PostPosted: Tue 16 Aug 2005, 08:04    Post_subject:  

edit the file /etc/profile and comment out the xwin call.
That'll boot into the command line.
( check out the 'How to stop X from starting' in the beginners section. )
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0362s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]