Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 03 Sep 2014, 03:13
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Testing kPup 2.14 - Kiosk Puplet
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
Todd

Joined: 31 Aug 2006
Posts: 310

PostPosted: Wed 09 May 2007, 16:26    Post subject:  Testing kPup 2.14 - Kiosk Puplet  

I am working on a Kiosk puplet. It is a version of Litepup that boots directly to Firefox. I have an acquaintance for whom I am creating this. Please let me know how I can improve it.

http://www.toddrichardson.com/kpup/

Sincerely,

Todd Richardson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Skimmel


Joined: 07 May 2007
Posts: 27
Location: Houston, TX

PostPosted: Fri 11 May 2007, 19:34    Post subject: Kiosk Browser  

Todd,

For the kiosk browser work I've done, I selected Opera rather than Firefox and I've been very pleased with that. Opera has several built in command line option switches that take a lot of the work out of setting up a kiosk browser and I found Opera to be a lot easier to customize.

One key to a kiosk browser is that the user shouldn't be able to get out of the browser and into the system at all. Obviously you still have to eliminate that possibility. Opera does that automatically in Kiosk Mode.

Another aspect is that you want to give the user an easy way to get to the pre-selected set of web sites but no others. I did that by creating special buttons that sat in the toolbar area. In Opera I had easy and complete control of what buttons would be available to the user and which would not be available.

And a Kiosk browser needs to return to the home page if unused for a long time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
satman

Joined: 28 May 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon 28 May 2007, 11:18    Post subject:  

Hello Skimmel,

i also tryed to setup opera in Kiosk Mode. It works fine but everytime i set the Startup page to "Start with home page" or "Start with blank page" Kiosk Mode is disabled. At "Continue from last time" ther is no Problem.
Did you have the same problem !?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Skimmel


Joined: 07 May 2007
Posts: 27
Location: Houston, TX

PostPosted: Mon 28 May 2007, 22:41    Post subject: Invoking Opera in Kiosk mode  

I've taken to starting Opera with a script that reads something like:

Code:
#! /bin/sh
opera http://www.yahoo.com -k -fullscreen -nomenu -nosysmenu


As such, it goes to the page I specify and the issue of restarting doesn't happen. I wanted to leave the user with as few confusing questions as possible.

Fullscreen is the issue that is giving me the most heartache as it just doesn't seem to work the way I expect.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
satman

Joined: 28 May 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue 29 May 2007, 16:53    Post subject:  

Thank you Skimmel for your fast reply.
I run Opera the same way as you. The only difference is that i need the URL input field and the navigate buttons so i use the switch -kioskbuttons. With your solution to put the start URL to the script, everything looks fine. But the URL field is write protected. Why is that Opera under Linux so buggy !!?? Evil or Very Mad

Than you , Satman
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Skimmel


Joined: 07 May 2007
Posts: 27
Location: Houston, TX

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jun 2007, 21:20    Post subject:  

Satman,

I wanted to restrict where the user could go to a limited set of urls. What I did was create my own set of buttons to populate the top bar that would automatically take the user to the 20 or however many sites I could allow them.

At least it all worked that way when I set it up using windoze. The linux version of Opera is a bit more difficult to work with. Options that worked just fine in windoze don't seem to work at all in Linux.

Skimmel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0515s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0046s) ][ GZIP on ]