Want to install "vi" on your Puppy?

How to do things, solutions, recipes, tutorials
Post Reply
Message
Author
SimonW
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed 28 Mar 2007, 23:15
Location: UK

Want to install "vi" on your Puppy?

#1 Post by SimonW »

The classic editor! You'll need to compile it, so you'll need the devx sfs too, but if you take the following source:
http://nchc.dl.sourceforge.net/sourcefo ... 25.tar.bz2

Edit the Makefile to suit (it's too early to have a configure script) ; make ; make install.

Also install the following file in /etc/termcap:
http://www.ambienteto.arti.benicultural ... termcap.gz

Then it works well. You can log in remotely to your Puppy box and edit files!

The executable is only 226kb and the termcap is 9300 bytes approx.

I can't make pets or pup files yet but perhaps someone else will.

wdef
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri 13 Apr 2007, 20:16

#2 Post by wdef »

Even better - let's have vim (vi improved) in the base system!!

It's absolutely mandatory on any system (so I thought)- except it seems - Puppy.

I'm just not into these weird newfangled cli editors. Nup, nosiree.

User avatar
Gn2
Posts: 943
Joined: Mon 16 Oct 2006, 05:33
Location: virtual - Veni vidi, nihil est adpulerit

#3 Post by Gn2 »

Ooops - Here it goesAGAIN - the " Why no VI - Emacs- Vim-me ridged alternates, "EX. (eh Mac) & gooey is gooder gratings.

Puppy was targeted to NEW to Linux users - not hard-core 'nix
afficiendo-dos

wdef
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri 13 Apr 2007, 20:16

#4 Post by wdef »

And e3 is good for beginners? Bah.

Anyway, if it's a tired discussion let's not have it.

I'll just install vim myself.

User avatar
Gn2
Posts: 943
Joined: Mon 16 Oct 2006, 05:33
Location: virtual - Veni vidi, nihil est adpulerit

#5 Post by Gn2 »

Sounds like an excellent concept - (installing for selves)
E3 asides not-withstanding

Conversely - it is rather insouciant to assume anything - & dismiss off-handedly. when not aware

VIM is highly desirable , I.E. IF a user knows how code -
Esp. in conjunction to use w/Ruby/Python, for formatting assists;
Indentation > automated interpreted language functions etal.

Again, that usage was not AFAIK - the targeted Puppy base of users

User avatar
HairyWill
Posts: 2928
Joined: Fri 26 May 2006, 23:29
Location: Southampton, UK

#6 Post by HairyWill »

There is a vim.pup here
http://www.erikveen.dds.nl/qemupuppy/index.html#7.0.0
I seem to have a dotpet of 7.0 sitting in my downloads as well that is 6MB I'm not quite sure where it came from.

<humour>
http://www.softpanorama.org/Editors/Vim ... umor.shtml
</humour>
Will
contribute: [url=http://www.puppylinux.org]community website[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/6c3nm6]screenshots[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/6j2gbz]puplets[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/57gykn]wiki[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/5dgr83]rss[/url]

User avatar
Colonel Panic
Posts: 2171
Joined: Sat 16 Sep 2006, 11:09

#7 Post by Colonel Panic »

Thanks HW, I'm downloading it (vim) now. If it's too arcane for anyone there's a good add-on program called Cream withich works on top of GVim and gives a number of additional features including an easy editing mode and a range of "themes" giving different colour choices for the text and background.

wdef
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri 13 Apr 2007, 20:16

#8 Post by wdef »

@HairyWill:

That dotpup is just the ticket, thx.

nayanajith
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri 25 May 2007, 03:36

Compile vim

#9 Post by nayanajith »

Download divx from
ftp://ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributio ... vx_216.sfs

mount it at boot time. use "BootManager configure bootup" tool in puppy "system" menu

to do that or install with the procedure given bellow (warning: if you install it you cant remove it)

Code: Select all

1. mount the partition that Puppy is installed to (say /mnt/hda2).
2. Copy devx_2xx.sfs to /mnt/hda2/tmp.
3. # cd /mnt/hda2/tmp
4. # losetup /dev/loop2 devx_2xx.sfs
5. # mkdir mntpt
5. # mount -t squashfs /dev/loop2 mntpt
6. # cp -a --remove-destination mntpt/* /mnt/hda2/
7. # sync
8. # umount mntpt
9. # rmdir mntpt
10 # cd /
11 # umount /mnt/hda2
download vim -7.1 source from
ftp://ftp.vim.org/pub/vim/unix/vim-7.1.tar.bz2
unpack the source

Code: Select all

tar -xjvf vim-7.1.tar.bz2
go to source directory

Code: Select all

./configure
make 
make install 
Thats it....., it worked for me...

wb0gaz
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue 14 Nov 2006, 23:59

#10 Post by wb0gaz »

Just a quick note - the procedure outlined by nayanajith above works fine for me with Puppy 3.01. I came to this solution after trying the .pup install mentioned elsewhere, as the .pup file was not readable (error message about corruption) under Puppy 3.01.

Very happy to have vim in place!

Thanks, nayanajith

Dave

afto
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun 06 Jan 2008, 01:15

gvim for Puppy 3.01

#11 Post by afto »

Puppy newbie here. Sure would like to have vim / gvim running under Puppy 3.01. Can someone provide a link or suggestion for a Linux / Puppy newbie?

Many thanks,

Afto

helios
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu 05 Apr 2007, 10:02

#12 Post by helios »

Hi there,

Have vim installed for programming practice, feels good and handsome. Yet I fail to get the keys on the NumLock works. So, I add the following lines to .vimrc

set t_K6=^[Ok
set t_K7=^[Om
set t_K8=^[Oo
set t_K9=^[Oj
set t_KA=^[OM
set t_KB=^[On
set t_KC=^[Op
set t_KD=^[Oq
set t_KE=^[Or
set t_KF=^[Os
set t_KG=^[Ot
set t_KH=^[Ou
set t_KI=^[Ov
set t_KJ=^[Ow
set t_KK=^[Ox
set t_KL=^[Oy

Well, actually it works in GUI mode. But when I run vim from command line, it just gives me some letters rather than numbers.

Is it something related to the terminal? If I use :set term=ansi , it works but then it creates other problems. The syntax is off, need to use h,j,k,l instead of the arrow keys, etc.

Any suggestions?

Thanks
Helios

User avatar
paulh177
Posts: 975
Joined: Tue 22 Aug 2006, 20:41

#13 Post by paulh177 »

I tried the slackware vim using the Gslapt slackware package manager for Puppy http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=21908 and it worked flawlessly, although it is huge.

helios
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu 05 Apr 2007, 10:02

#14 Post by helios »

hi paulh177,

I would have no complains even though I cannot use the number keys. So, I am not sure whether it worth the extra space or not. Thanks anyway. ^.^

User avatar
cklammer
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat 26 Apr 2008, 14:12
Location: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

Re: Compile vim

#15 Post by cklammer »

nayanajith wrote:Download divx from
ftp://ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributio ... vx_216.sfs

mount it at boot time. use "BootManager configure bootup" tool in puppy "system" menu

to do that or install with the procedure given bellow (warning: if you install it you cant remove it)

Code: Select all

1. mount the partition that Puppy is installed to (say /mnt/hda2).
2. Copy devx_2xx.sfs to /mnt/hda2/tmp.
3. # cd /mnt/hda2/tmp
4. # losetup /dev/loop2 devx_2xx.sfs
5. # mkdir mntpt
5. # mount -t squashfs /dev/loop2 mntpt
6. # cp -a --remove-destination mntpt/* /mnt/hda2/
7. # sync
8. # umount mntpt
9. # rmdir mntpt
10 # cd /
11 # umount /mnt/hda2
download vim -7.1 source from
ftp://ftp.vim.org/pub/vim/unix/vim-7.1.tar.bz2
unpack the source

Code: Select all

tar -xjvf vim-7.1.tar.bz2
go to source directory

Code: Select all

./configure
make 
make install 
Thats it....., it worked for me...
It also works with devx_400.sfs mounted under Dingo (4.00) ... no hassle at all.

User avatar
cklammer
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat 26 Apr 2008, 14:12
Location: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

Re: Want to install "vi" on your Puppy?

#16 Post by cklammer »

SimonW wrote:The classic editor! You'll need to compile it, so you'll need the devx sfs too, but if you take the following source:
http://nchc.dl.sourceforge.net/sourcefo ... 25.tar.bz2

Edit the Makefile to suit (it's too early to have a configure script) ; make ; make install.

Also install the following file in /etc/termcap:
http://www.ambienteto.arti.benicultural ... termcap.gz

Then it works well. You can log in remotely to your Puppy box and edit files!

The executable is only 226kb and the termcap is 9300 bytes approx.

I can't make pets or pup files yet but perhaps someone else will.
Okay for me using devx_400 under Dingo (4.00) .. Only one issue:

in /etc/profile you have comment out the line

Original:

Code: Select all

alias vi e3vi
New:

Code: Select all

#alias vi e3vi
otherwise it will keep using e3.

Post Reply