Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 20 Aug 2014, 01:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Gxine can't play QuickTime Video?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4365
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 25 Aug 2005, 18:18    Post_subject:  Gxine can't play QuickTime Video?  

Just tried to view this: http://www.michaelclancy.com/slideshow/

gzine popped up then birthed an error window saying "xine engine failed to start. No demuxer found - stream format not recognized."

What need I do to view this under Puppy, please?

Thanks! doc

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2005, 05:10    Post_subject:  

Use PupGet package manager, you will find an "extra codecs" package that should fix it.
Puppy does support Quicktime, but I think not latest formats, but that extra package should cover latest formats.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
klhrevolutionist


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 1124

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2005, 05:17    Post_subject: no go  

Nope won't cut it, I even put all the realplayer codecs in win32 still did'nt work,
however, I did see a mozplugger in vector linux for firefox?
maybe it will work?

_________________
Heaven is on the way, until then let's get the truth out!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2005, 05:39    Post_subject:  

I have the extra codecs and this is the message I got:

Code:
xine engine failed to start.

No demuxer found - stream format not recognized


. . . anyone got a demuxer?

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5234
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2005, 08:56    Post_subject:  

http://xinehq.de/index.php/faq#QUICKTIME
this a very concise explanation of the QuickTime situation in Xine, particularly the fact that QuickTime is not a codec itself, just a container format.

But there are other issues involved with this particular web link - it's a QuickTime Photo-JPEG sequence, so there's no video codec involved at all. It requires QuickTime plugin functionality which may, or may not, be available in Xine.

I just used QuickTime Pro in Windows to save this sequence as individual JPEG images. There are just 4 images.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4365
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2005, 09:09    Post_subject:  

tempestuous wrote:
But there are other issues involved with this particular web link - it's a QuickTime Photo-JPEG sequence, so there's no video codec involved at all. It requires QuickTime plugin functionality which may, or may not, be available in Xine.


Thanks to all for looking into this, guess I will have to wait for someone to create something for QT Photo-JPEG sequences, though I am not sure why someone would use that proprietary format for four pictures! Wink

Simple HTML would seem to be adequate. I will write the owner of the web site and ask if he'd consider just posting the four pictures!

doc

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Pence

Joined: 30 Jul 2005
Posts: 201

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2005, 11:32    Post_subject:  

More unusual Quicktime panorama , http://marsrovers.jpl.nasa.gov/gallery/panoramas. Should be able to grab and rotate them 360 degrees.All I get are long narrow pictures.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4365
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2005, 17:16    Post_subject:  

Pence wrote:
More unusual Quicktime panorama , http://marsrovers.jpl.nasa.gov/gallery/panoramas. Should be able to grab and rotate them 360 degrees.All I get are long narrow pictures.


Here is his alternative site:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/michael_clancy/show/

doc

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4365
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2005, 20:55    Post_subject:  

edoc wrote:
Pence wrote:
More unusual Quicktime panorama , http://marsrovers.jpl.nasa.gov/gallery/panoramas. Should be able to grab and rotate them 360 degrees.All I get are long narrow pictures.

Here is his alternative site:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/michael_clancy/show/


Couldn't run this on either of our two Suse 9.2 desktops so tried it on my old 600X laptop and gxine handled it!

http://www.msichicago.org/exhibit/U505/virtualtour/vr_tour/movie_officers.html

The only anomaly is that it runs through the images real quickly and I see no setting to cause it to go frame by frame.

Suggestions? Thanks! doc

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
duke93535


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 194
Location: California , High Desert

PostPosted: Mon 29 Aug 2005, 19:27    Post_subject:  

I'am using from the 1.05a2, its gxine and xinelib, the extra win32 codecs in puppy 1.0.4 and quicktime works great on the apple movie site. Just peacemealed it in. If your interested in details, just ask. duke93535
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4365
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Mon 29 Aug 2005, 23:01    Post_subject:  

duke93535 wrote:
I'am using from the 1.05a2, its gxine and xinelib, the extra win32 codecs in puppy 1.0.4 and quicktime works great on the apple movie site. Just peacemealed it in. If your interested in details, just ask. duke93535


I would love the details! I haven't been daring enough to jump into 1.05a2 yet -- need to get my wife's PC cleaned out and Puppy installed, then also my other laptop, then I can switch this one to 1.05a2 and play.

Probably do that all Wed. Got a course to teach tomorrow evening for which I still need to do some prep.

doc

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
klhrevolutionist


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 1124

PostPosted: Tue 20 Sep 2005, 19:00    Post_subject: libquicktime.so  

This is libquicktime.so
I'm still messing with it to see if we can now play quicktime,
but if anybody wants to help out I would appreciate it.
As I'm still not sure where to put it.
I'm hoping usr/lib/
but am not sure. This might fix the demuxer issue

Here is an extra
http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/download.php?id=843
hmm? what is it???

_________________
Heaven is on the way, until then let's get the truth out!

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Tue 20 Sep 2005, 23:41    Post_subject:  

xine codecs probably should go in /usr/lib/win32

mplayer codecs would go in /root/my-applications/mplayer/codecs ... but that could be symlinked to /usr/lib/win32 so the codecs would be shared by gxine and mplayer (gxine and mplayer are front ends for the xine libraries and codecs)

(/root/my-applications/mplayer/codecs is symlinked to /opt/mplayer/codecs ... so mplayer is looking for it's codecs in /opt/mplayer/codecs ... which is why the mplayer dotpup won't work if there is no /opt dir)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Artie


Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 446
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2005, 08:30    Post_subject:  

I have noticed something peculiar about Quicktime and Gxine in Puppy 1.0.6 and I was wondering if anyone else has noticed it and if they could try what I will describe. I'm using Klhrevolutionists codec package in Mozilla and a two Mb line.

1. Goto http://www.apple.com/trailers/
2. Pick a standard trailer, not HD, one where you can choose between small, medium and large.
3. Pick small. On my system this works perfectly. I get picture, sound and can also enlarge without problems. Let it play out and close Gxine.
4. Pick medium. Now I get the demuxer error as described in the first entry here. Same with large.
5. Close Gxine.
6. Pick small again. Now small won't play. I get the same demuxer error.
7. No matter what I try now, nothing will play.
8. Close Mozilla and reboot.
9. Goto http://www.apple.com/trailers/
10. Open a small. Now small works fine again.

Can someone confirm please? Thanks!

Artie
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM MSNM 
ICQ 
dvw86


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 636
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2005, 12:11    Post_subject:  

Artie wrote:
I have noticed something peculiar about Quicktime and Gxine in Puppy 1.0.6 and I was wondering if anyone else has noticed it and if they could try what I will describe. I'm using Klhrevolutionists codec package in Mozilla and a two Mb line.

1. Goto http://www.apple.com/trailers/
2. Pick a standard trailer, not HD, one where you can choose between small, medium and large.
3. Pick small. On my system this works perfectly. I get picture, sound and can also enlarge without problems. Let it play out and close Gxine.
4. Pick medium. Now I get the demuxer error as described in the first entry here. Same with large.
5. Close Gxine.
6. Pick small again. Now small won't play. I get the same demuxer error.
7. No matter what I try now, nothing will play.
8. Close Mozilla and reboot.
9. Goto http://www.apple.com/trailers/
10. Open a small. Now small works fine again.

Can someone confirm please? Thanks!

Artie


Same here. The small ones play fine (sound and video), but not the medium or large size (video but no sound).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0926s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0142s) ][ GZIP on ]