Installing to USB problem

Booting, installing, newbie
Ignus

#1 Post by Ignus »

Ok, first of all I'm really new to linux, distros etc. so don't shout or anything. I wanted to install the Puppy Linux to my USB stick so i burned tje image, executed puppy linux from cd and selected the option from menu start to install to usb. I have complited all steps of the script. I rebooted the pc and when I'm trying to boot from USB it says: "Boot failed". What's the matter ? What I did wrong ? I wasn't sure what to type in step 4 (or 3, I don't remember) when it asked me to type the partition but i writed the default that was there (/dev/sda1 i think). Please help !

PS. Sorry for my English :oops:

nmwinow

#2 Post by nmwinow »

Hi Ignus, no help here, I have the same problem. I had Pup 0.9.9 installed to USB. Then I updated to 1.0.4, and installed it to the same USB. Result: same as you. vmlinuz, usr_cram.fs, image.gz, and syslinux.cfg are all there so I don't know why it won't boot. Like I say it did before with the 0.9.9 files. I'll keep trying and let you know if I get it to work.

#3 Post by guest »

I'm trying to boot from USB it says: "Boot failed". What's the matter ? What I did wrong ?
This might help. If you have removed the USB stick outside of Windows, it is not recognized...it is like the usb stick is not plugged in.

Return to Windows and re-insert the usb stick so you know that it is recognized by Windows.

Then, restart the computer and if you have to select the usb stick it should then complete the installation of Puppy. If your machine automatically selects the usb stick, it should complete the installation of Puppy without further action by you.

nmwinow

#4 Post by nmwinow »

Thanks Guest. It didn't work for me, maybe Ignus will have better luck.

#5 Post by guest »

Hi NMWinow;

Did you install 1.04 as a new install or update from 9.9?