Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Apr 2014, 16:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Wbar: a fancy launchbar (using Imlib2)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 11 of 11 [158 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11
Author Message
loubapache


Joined: 14 Sep 2011
Posts: 54
Location: Western Michigan

PostPosted: Sun 04 Dec 2011, 13:43    Post subject:  

HI, I need some help with wbar in puppy.

I use wbar in other Linux distros (Ubuntu, Linux Mint, SalineOS) and it works fine. In these distros, you download wbar, configure it, and then add a little script to the startup scripts.

I just downloaded the wbar pet in Puppy 5.2.8. It automatically launch wbar at the top of the screen. Since I want it to be at the right side of the screen, I have changed the places that I can found to .vbar -pos=right, etc. However, it still launches at the top. Since the wbar configurator in puppy does not give the right position so I just did it manually.

So I made my own script and put it in /root. Now when puppy starts, I get two wbart: one on the top (the default one) and another on the right (the one I made and wanted).

How can I get rid of the default one?

Now I have to killall wbar and then re-start my own script (/root/wstart).

Thanks,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
maik.murks


Joined: 28 Mar 2011
Posts: 331
Location: at home, at work or on holidays

PostPosted: Sun 04 Dec 2011, 14:37    Post subject:  

Hi loubapache.

Just go to the directory /root/Startup and delete the script that starts your default wbar.
In case that there is no starting script for wbar, take a look into the file /root/.xinitrc - near the end of .xinitrc there should be something found which starts wbar. Just comment this line or these lines out.

Hope this helps. Good luck.

Cheers Wink

Maik.Murks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2411
Location: near here

PostPosted: Sun 04 Dec 2011, 14:40    Post subject:  

there is some info here

http://puppylinux.org/wikka/WbarInstall

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
loubapache


Joined: 14 Sep 2011
Posts: 54
Location: Western Michigan

PostPosted: Sun 04 Dec 2011, 20:18    Post subject:  

Thank you, maik.murks and darkcity. I'll have a look and deactivate the default one.

Edit:


Well, I found out why.

1) Wbar was not started by my /root/.xinitrc.
2) Before I edit the wstart script in /root/Startup, I backed it up to some different name (wstart.original) but the backup was still in /root/Startup. After I made the changes to wstart, wstart.original was also executed at startup so that is whay I got two wbars.

Now I have deleted both scripts and just added a line in /root/.xinitrc to start wbar.

Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sarum

Joined: 07 Jul 2007
Posts: 59
Location: The Thames, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jul 2012, 04:06    Post subject: Wbar
Subject description: Config on Desktop Settings
 

On a previous computer I installed Wbar and by going to menu/desktop/desktop settings I could scroll down to 'wbar config'(or settings); and alter everything - almost.
I've now another computer; Ram520/160HDD puppy528 Full install with 1GB of SWAP.
I've installed wbar and via 'open in text' I changed a couple of things; but as an old, long term newby I'd really like to get back to where I was.

I think I may be wrong in posting this as a reply. It's a long thread and I've searched it.
May be there is someone who can help.
Thanks...sarum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Tue 31 Jul 2012, 23:45    Post subject:
Subject description: stale noodling
 

@sarum - see your dupe here in the Eye Candy section

@loubapache
I still prefer wbar's startup in (where else?) /root/Startup. Tip: to neutralize a script, untick the executable flags on its property page (it doesn't execute once you untick those flags).

Since I use many wms, I use a bit more complex script which has other elements (like a preferred bgsetter with bg and a matching conky) and a few customizations for wbar as needed for each wm (for example, e16 and a few others need the -above-desktop option). If windows persistently start 'under' wbar, try the -above-desktop option

Know your options - "wbar -h" in a console gives most of 'em, can't recall if it gives details on fine points like -filter (type by number) and hex-with-alpha as I use in the -fc option

Here's my usual for an example
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nilsonmorales


Joined: 15 Apr 2011
Posts: 420
Location: El salvador

PostPosted: Tue 31 Jul 2012, 23:52    Post subject:  

maybe this help
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=77369
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Fri 24 Aug 2012, 17:44    Post subject:
Subject description: 'runaway' wbar grabs pointer focus .. plus a belated 10X
 

Sometimes wbar 'grabs' the mouse pointer focus and doesn't let go.

Usually this happens just after you get into the X desktop .. you load an app from wbar and even after moving the mouse pointer off wbar and into the apps window or elsewhere, the focus somehow remains tied to wbar .. left clicks just load more apps! This is easy to see on a filtered wbar or how the icons 'jump' even when the pointer is far away from wbar's location.

Solution (don't Panic Wink ) - rightclick on wbar and it refreshes, settling things to normal as far as pointer focus goes.

___addenda 120913___(short story)

I've been using wbar 133 for a few years anyhow. Was not terribly impressed with add-ons, control panels and such for various reasons - heck, once you get an options line that you're happy with there's only very minor tweaks needed for just about any circumstance. A gui control panel just gets in the way and can be..

Rambling on. For one particular wm (treewm), I needed the -offset option since wbar was a bit 'under' a bar at the top. No biggie, but still.. Anyhow, my old reliable didn't have that option. Should I try an upgrade for such a minor thing? Did try and all the 2xx series I tried failed for whatever reason (gtk probs/issues, dependencies for the silly wbar-config gui, who knows?). Bad deal when wbar gets finicky Sad really Sad

Wait a minute. Hold on. Backpedal to Catdude's patched 133 on pg 7 of this thread - it's all you really need and it's compatible with just about any pup. I pulled the binary out of the dotpet, made a quick transplant and WHAM good to go, thanks 'Dude! Very Happy

(btw/fwiw, I'm still oki with Imlib2-140 - it's simpler) geez, a few dl's of those dotpets Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 11 of 11 [158 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0607s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0065s) ][ GZIP on ]