Wbar: a fancy launchbar (using Imlib2)

Window managers, icon programs, widgets, etc.
Message
Author
User avatar
HairyWill
Posts: 2928
Joined: Fri 26 May 2006, 23:29
Location: Southampton, UK

#31 Post by HairyWill »

The maximised window size is controlled by the window manager, jwm. But I think the only way currently to restrict the maximised window size is to create a tray (taskbar), which would probably sit on top of wbar and would look ugly whichever way it turned out.

I agree that a tray at the top (or bottom) and wbar at the other would look good but I think it will require a hack of jwm to achieve it.
Will
contribute: [url=http://www.puppylinux.org]community website[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/6c3nm6]screenshots[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/6j2gbz]puplets[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/57gykn]wiki[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/5dgr83]rss[/url]

User avatar
HairyWill
Posts: 2928
Joined: Fri 26 May 2006, 23:29
Location: Southampton, UK

#32 Post by HairyWill »

Ok Vettephil I rise to the challenge as long as you are willing to give up a single pixel of you desktop to a dummy jwm tray.

Assuming you have the default sized wbar at the bottom of a 1024x768 screen the following tray entry in /root/.jwmrc-tray gets what you asked for.

Code: Select all

<Tray  x="500" y="723" width="1" height="1"></Tray>
a tiny near invisible tray that jwm will respect when maximising windows.
The slight kicker which you didn't specify is when the icons grow they do it behind the windows, you can move them in front of the widows by cracking up the layer that wbar is on but then it controls some of the space at the bottom of a maximised window which looks really ugly. This is because wbar's transparency is fake, it just copies the background when it starts.

For more fun with jwm trays read
http://joewing.net/programs/jwm/config.shtml
Will
contribute: [url=http://www.puppylinux.org]community website[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/6c3nm6]screenshots[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/6j2gbz]puplets[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/57gykn]wiki[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/5dgr83]rss[/url]

Vettephil
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 17:49

#33 Post by Vettephil »

HairyWill: Nicely done! That has however produced another issue to overcome. :? When minimizing an app's window to the "fake tray" there is no way to get it back again. See if you can reproduce.

My thought around this is to run 2 trays if possible. A normal one at the top and the fake one at the bottom as a place holder for Wbar. I'm going to test this next. Thanks!

Vettephil
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 17:49

#34 Post by Vettephil »

A second tray worked! Here is my full code from /.jwmrc-tray:

Code: Select all

<JWM>
	<Tray  autohide="false" insert="right" x="0" y="0" border="0" height="26" >

		<!-- Additional TaskList attribute: maxwidth -->
		<TaskList maxwidth="160"/>

		<Dock/>

		<!-- Additional Swallow attribute: height -->
		<Swallow name="blinky">
			blinkydelayed -bg gray90
		</Swallow>

		<Swallow name="mini-volume.tcl">
			mini-volume.tcl -bg gray90 -mixer pvolume-mixer.tcl
		</Swallow>
		
		<Swallow name="freememapplet" width="48">
			<!-- freememappletdelayed -->
			freememapplet
		</Swallow>

		<Swallow name="xload" width="32">
			xload -nolabel -bg "#BCBAB5" -fg red -hl white
		</Swallow>

		<Swallow name="wbar">
   			killall wbar ; wbar -above-desk &
		</Swallow> 
		
		<Clock>minixcal</Clock>
	</Tray>

	<Tray  autohide="false" insert="right" x="500" y="723" border="0" height="1" width="1" > </Tray>

</JWM>
Nice cooperative effort, all!
-PHIL
Can You Picture A Better World?
http://www.PhotographersWithoutBorders.org

User avatar
HairyWill
Posts: 2928
Joined: Fri 26 May 2006, 23:29
Location: Southampton, UK

#35 Post by HairyWill »

I had just assumed you would have a proper tray running as well.

The real tray wouldn't be so important if jwm supported unminimising using the keyboard alone but at the moment ALT-TAB only toggles programs that are not minimised. This is IMHO a significant weakness.
Will
contribute: [url=http://www.puppylinux.org]community website[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/6c3nm6]screenshots[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/6j2gbz]puplets[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/57gykn]wiki[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/5dgr83]rss[/url]

User avatar
Dougal
Posts: 2502
Joined: Wed 19 Oct 2005, 13:06
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

#36 Post by Dougal »

Vettephil wrote:HairyWill: Nicely done! That has however produced another issue to overcome. :? When minimizing an app's window to the "fake tray" there is no way to get it back again. See if you can reproduce.

My thought around this is to run 2 trays if possible. A normal one at the top and the fake one at the bottom as a place holder for Wbar. I'm going to test this next. Thanks!
You can also enable the option in Rox that minimizes windows as thumbnails on the desktop.
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind

Vettephil
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 17:49

#37 Post by Vettephil »

Dougal wrote: You can also enable the option in Rox that minimizes windows as thumbnails on the desktop.
Ooooh, that sounds neat! Which file/what code if you don't mind?

-PHIL

User avatar
trapster
Posts: 2117
Joined: Mon 28 Nov 2005, 23:14
Location: Maine, USA
Contact:

#38 Post by trapster »

Vettephil -
Right click in a Rox window and choose "options". Under the "Pinboard" menu, choose "Iconified windows".
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Slacko
Currently using full install: DebianDog

magerlab
Posts: 739
Joined: Sun 08 Jul 2007, 20:08

#39 Post by magerlab »

very nice and interesting app
is there a wat to put it into xinitrc file?
i think that itś possible to remove icons and font from the package because
you can define path to any icon or font(to support russian i defined dejavu instead the font that was inside the pack)
i use different rox panels with different walpapers
but wbar sticks to the first wallpaper
is it possible to turn off transparency?

also does anyone know where rox takes the pictures for placing minimized apps on the desktop?
some of them are just empty windows instead of icon

User avatar
yim
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat 01 Sep 2007, 05:24
Location: Blue Ridge Mtns

#40 Post by yim »

is there a way to get this to run on 2.16 multisession cd
I have tried every way I can think of and it still doesn't work
how do you make it run after untaring?

thanks yim

User avatar
nutts4life
Posts: 263
Joined: Fri 15 Feb 2008, 09:52
Location: UK

nolist in jwmrc

#41 Post by nutts4life »

Hi there,

Has anybody found a solution to HarryWill's .jwmrc option to stop wbar appearing in the tray?

I've tried all kinds of formats and positions of:

<Group>
<Name>wbar*</Name>
<Class>wbar*</Class>
<Option>nolist</Option
</Group>

in the .jwmrc file and the wbar entry still appears in my tray.
Has anybody managed to stop this appearing?

I have a feeling it's not working becuase the app is being started from the .jwmrc file itself.

Thanks,

n4l

User avatar
prit1
Posts: 542
Joined: Fri 04 Jan 2008, 00:10
Location: Los Angeles

#42 Post by prit1 »

Where do you have the wbar stuff? Is it in .xinitrc, or .jwmrc-tray or .jwmrc?

Anyway, just have it in only one place and try using

Code: Select all

wbar -pos top &
instead of

Code: Select all

wbar -above-desk -pos top &
It worked for me when I removed the -above-desk.

User avatar
nutts4life
Posts: 263
Joined: Fri 15 Feb 2008, 09:52
Location: UK

#43 Post by nutts4life »

I've got the script in .jwmrc-tray and it has -above-desk in the call.

I was under the impression that the -above-desk is essential to keeping the wbar start ontop of the ROX pinboard.

so where is your call? Is it also in .jwmrc-tray?

do you every lose the focus of wbar with -above-desk left out?

do you have the nolist option in your .jwmrc as well?

thanks for your help,

n4l

User avatar
prit1
Posts: 542
Joined: Fri 04 Jan 2008, 00:10
Location: Los Angeles

#44 Post by prit1 »

My script is just before the minixcal in the .jwmrc-tray. I didnt have to do anything else.

Code: Select all

      <Swallow name="wbar">
            killall wbar ; wbar -pos top &
      </Swallow>

The wbar does not lose focus at any time. You can see other wbar options by doing wbar -help from the console.

Yesterday I was playing around with different options and now my wbar looks even better - no border, bigger icons, larger icon spacing, closer to the window border. And using the dummy tray mentioned earlier in this thread, we can prevent other windows from overlapping the wbar.

User avatar
prit1
Posts: 542
Joined: Fri 04 Jan 2008, 00:10
Location: Los Angeles

#45 Post by prit1 »

I thought I will explain the different options I tried with wbar and how I could get the setup as in the screenshot shown below.

This is my current wbar setup: This does just before minixcal in the .jwmrc-tray

Code: Select all

<Swallow name="wbar"> 
killall wbar; sleep 4; wbar -jumpf 0 -pos top -nanim 3 -zoomf 1.8 -idist 10 -isize 38 -bpress -balfa 0  &
</Swallow>

jumpf 0 - icons zoom in the downward direction (1 would reverse this)
nanim 3 - number of animated icons. I didnt understand this fully, but I noticed that this helps the wbar from getting elongated too much horizontally.
zoomf 1.8 - the zoom factor for the icons
idist 10 - just to increase icon spacing
isize 38 - to increase icon sizes
bpress - to show icons being clicked when you click on them
balfa 0 - this makes the border disappear.

You can get all the available options by doing wbar -help in the console.

One other interesting thing, is to add a dummy jwm tray if you are using jwm. Using this, other windows will not overlap the wbar.

Code: Select all

<Tray  autohide="false" insert="right" x="500" y="90" border="0" height="1" width="1" >
I got all this information from this thread, by doing wbar -help and from Rhino's MyPup. :)

Here is the screenshot.
Attachments
screen2.jpg
(56.81 KiB) Downloaded 2944 times

User avatar
Eyes-Only
Posts: 1043
Joined: Thu 10 Aug 2006, 06:32
Location: La Confederation Abenaquaise

#46 Post by Eyes-Only »

@Prit1: These options are really terrific!! I never would've given it a second thought that wbar could've done all these fabulous things until I read the above post by you and then saw your fantastic screenie in the screenshot thread. Truly remarkable! 8)

Thanks so very much for posting all of the above per my request in the other thread---I really appreciate this more than you'll ever know. I've been really thankful for having wbar as it's made my computer work a lot easier for me. Now with these settings? Far more stunning as well.

Thank you once again Prit1!

Amicalement/In Friendship,

Eyes-Only
"L'Peau-Rouge"
*~*~*~*~*~*
Proud user of LXpup and 3-Headed Dog. 8)
*~*~*~*~*~*

User avatar
prit1
Posts: 542
Joined: Fri 04 Jan 2008, 00:10
Location: Los Angeles

#47 Post by prit1 »

@Eyes-only:

Am glad this helps you. Even I really love the wbar. Thanks should go to the folks on this thread who revealed this application and provided all the required information.

The only thing I am yet to make out is how to make wbar appear automatically on startup. Right now, I have to click on the desktop for the wbar to appear.

Anyone knows how to do this?

User avatar
ttuuxxx
Posts: 11171
Joined: Sat 05 May 2007, 10:00
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia
Contact:

#48 Post by ttuuxxx »

prit1 wrote:@Eyes-only:

Am glad this helps you. Even I really love the wbar. Thanks should go to the folks on this thread who revealed this application and provided all the required information.

The only thing I am yet to make out is how to make wbar appear automatically on startup. Right now, I have to click on the desktop for the wbar to appear.

Anyone knows how to do this?
Hi Prit1,I had it working in icewm by placing these lines


<Swallow name="wbar">
wbar -pos top &
</Swallow>

in the /root/.icewm/startup about mid way and worked for me that way
ttuuxxx
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games :)

User avatar
prit1
Posts: 542
Joined: Fri 04 Jan 2008, 00:10
Location: Los Angeles

#49 Post by prit1 »

Thanks Ttuuxxx. I will try this. If I remember, I was trying to use the startup script and it kept hanging my system. I will try again. :)

User avatar
Eyes-Only
Posts: 1043
Joined: Thu 10 Aug 2006, 06:32
Location: La Confederation Abenaquaise

#50 Post by Eyes-Only »

Hi Prit1,

In all of my "starticewm" files (I have 5 distros installed and use IceWM on each) in "/usr/bin" I have the following line now placed in the coding:

Code: Select all

sleep 1 ; wbar -above-desk -bpress -balfa 0 &
...and wbar starts up just fine. You may want to add the "-pos top" parameter in there somewhere though if you want wbar on top. I run mine on the bottom as I have a "fake gnome-look" to my IceWM in most cases.

Depending upon your processor speed as well you may want to change the "sleep" parameter to make it either 2 or 3, depending upon whether wbar gives you just an iconic menu, or comes up in a windowed background. You'll see what I mean I think. ;)

I start wbar this way in about all of my window managers or desktop environments (I run a lot of different ones), along with a lot of other programmes that run for me in the background, like conky, numlockx, ROX pinboard/desktop (when outside of Puppy), etc.

I hope this has helped?

Amicalement,

Eyes-Only
"L'Peau-Rouge"
*~*~*~*~*~*
Proud user of LXpup and 3-Headed Dog. 8)
*~*~*~*~*~*

Post Reply