Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 02 Aug 2014, 05:09
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
how to configure proxy in puppy?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [36 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
sensen_jessica

Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri 02 Sep 2005, 03:27    Post subject:  how to configure proxy in puppy?  

hi,

i am trying to use getpup in my office but i am behind a firewall. how do i set proxy for puppy? in dsl it is using export command in bash.rc. anything similar in puppy?

also, with gaim i cannot seem to login to msn in the office not sure why. maybe it is the same issue.

also puppy rocks!!! wish it has dsl's looks though.......
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 02 Sep 2005, 03:33    Post subject:  

You can change the way puppy looks with the icewm and fluxboxwm (wm = windows manager) once you are able to bypass your firewall. Also KDE window manager is on the way as a pupget . . .
_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Fri 02 Sep 2005, 09:06    Post subject:  

PupGet uses wget to download the package
if you chose to download from the nluug.nl site, there should be no problems, because it is an http website that uses http protocol, port 80

that is, if you can see web pages in your browser, then PupGet should work

if you choose to download from ibiblio.org, it uses ftp protocol, and you might have firewall problems

you can download the packages from here anyway, using your web browser, and install the package as an alien package
http://ftp.nluug.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/puppylinux/pupget_packages-1/

you download dotpup files with your browser, then click them, so there should be no problem with dotpups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sensen_jessica

Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri 02 Sep 2005, 12:42    Post subject:  

is there a way to tell pupget package manager as to where to get the packages? i mean tell it to go to ftp site or http site? thanks.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Fri 02 Sep 2005, 15:57    Post subject:  

i am running Puppy 1.0.5 alpha 2 right now
i have not used pupget much
i looked in the pupget script, and it seems to ask you where you want to download from, ibilio or nluug.nl
pupget in earlier versions might be different

you should still be able to download the packages using the browser, and install as a local package, it should be about as easy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sat 03 Sep 2005, 01:10    Post subject:  

sensen_jesica,

Puppy does not have multiple mirrors for the pupgets as other distributions have.

So you have to use the servers listed in the pupget.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
puppian


Joined: 18 Jul 2005
Posts: 538
Location: PuppyLand

PostPosted: Sat 03 Sep 2005, 06:56    Post subject:  

GuestToo wrote:
i am running Puppy 1.0.5 alpha 2 right now
i have not used pupget much
i looked in the pupget script, and it seems to ask you where you want to download from, ibilio or nluug.nl
pupget in earlier versions might be different

I can never download packages using pupget too. Both browser and gftp work fine. So there should be no problem accessing ftp sites.
"ERROR: 11 IS UNREACHABLE!
...are you connected to the Internet?
...maybe that site is down? Try another."

Why is it?
I'm using Puppy 1.0.3, Morizot Firewall and Intel 536 modem with Intel's driver (I load it using insmod -f and a few lines of other commands).

GuestToo wrote:
you should still be able to download the packages using the browser, and install as a local package, it should be about as easy

That's what I usually do, but that could be confusing and perhaps disappointing to newbies when they use puppy for the first time Sad

And sensen_jessica, at the mean time you can download your package somewhere (eg, /root/) and choose 'local' instead of 'ibiblio.org' and 'nluug.nl' when asked where you want to download the file.

_________________
Puppylinux.org - Community home page of Puppy Linux hosted by Barry (creator of Puppy), created and maintained by the Puppy Linux Foundation since 2005
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Sat 03 Sep 2005, 12:04    Post subject:  

pupget in 1.0.5 alpha 2 is probably different

it asks where you want to download from:
http://tinypic.com/dbp91v.jpg

it downloads:
http://tinypic.com/dbpair.jpg

everything is ok:
http://tinypic.com/dbpb0p.jpg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Sat 03 Sep 2005, 13:19    Post subject:  

when i use pupget:
pupget1.gif
 Description   it asks where i want to download from
 Filesize   5.96 KB
 Viewed   3393 Time(s)

pupget1.gif

pupget2.gif
 Description   the download doesn't start no matter which button i click (ibiblio or nluug) and an error message is shown
 Filesize   6.93 KB
 Viewed   3471 Time(s)

pupget2.gif

Back to top
puppian


Joined: 18 Jul 2005
Posts: 538
Location: PuppyLand

PostPosted: Sat 03 Sep 2005, 13:21    Post subject:  

me above Smile

btw it seems that no one is complaining about the same thing except me
perhaps only me have the problem...

_________________
Puppylinux.org - Community home page of Puppy Linux hosted by Barry (creator of Puppy), created and maintained by the Puppy Linux Foundation since 2005
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sensen_jessica

Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon 05 Sep 2005, 01:21    Post subject:  

thanks for all the suggestions and inputs. i have tried choosing either the ftp or http site in the office but it just doesnt work. i have set proxy for mozilla and i am able to browse in the office. but i guess getpup needs a global proxy setting. like in dsl you can do this by changing bash.rc file and do an export proxy.

in any case i can always do the alien package thing. so there is a way around it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11080
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Mon 05 Sep 2005, 02:06    Post subject:  

there are enviroment settings and .wgetrc settings, but even if all this were set correctly, there is no gaurantee that it will work, depending on the firewall restrictions and proxy services available.

pupget allows you to get your pups from anywhere on the local filesystem including cdrom thereby side-stepping the firewall and proxy.

you can download the pupgets and burn them to cdrom if you want.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Mon 05 Sep 2005, 03:07    Post subject:  

sorry, i was just thinking about the firewall part
what you really wanted to know was the proxy part

pupget downloads using wget
so all you need to do is configure wget to use your proxy

if you make a file in /root called .wgetrc (a hidden file because of the dot), you can put your proxy configuration in it ... some thing like:

http_proxy = 127.0.0.1:8118
ftp_proxy = 127.0.0.1:8118

of course, changing the ip and port to the values you need to use ... your proxy may have a name instead of ip numbers

i think you can also set a user name and password if necessary

proxy_user = string
proxy_passwd = string

if you can access web pages with your browser, then if you configure wget to use the same proxy, then pupget and wget should also work

i don't use an external proxy, but i tested .wgetrc with my Privoxy proxy, and it seems to work ok

see: http://tinyurl.com/828kk
and: http://tinyurl.com/djt23
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11080
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Mon 05 Sep 2005, 04:07    Post subject:  

BTW - If the firewall - proxy combination doesn't allow for FTP, you would want to choose nluug.nl

nluug.nl is http
ibiblio is ftp
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11080
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Mon 05 Sep 2005, 04:19    Post subject:  

Thinking more about it - I'd say that error 10 and 11 is generated by a failure of the ping command to get a response.

It seems to me that even IF all your configurations were correct AND IF the ping command failed you'd still be in the error loop.

AND - It seems to me by method of logical deduction, based on what you've already reported, the firewall is not permitting ping through.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [36 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0768s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0067s) ][ GZIP on ]