Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Apr 2014, 21:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
how to configure proxy in puppy?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [36 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
puppian_guest
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 05 Sep 2005, 13:28    Post subject:  

Fyi, wget works fine here when I type "wget http://url" in rxvt, without any manual configuration...so that really confuses when I first met puppy, all programs connecting to the internet work EXCEPT pupget!

I had tried to see if pupget will work before I install the firewall (long time ago, if I don't remember it wrong), and still no luck Sad

Would it be the modem? Confused
Back to top
puppian_guest
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 05 Sep 2005, 13:42    Post subject:  

Oh..forgot to say that my situation is perhaps different from that of sensen_jessica.
I don't think I'm behind any firewall (except Morizot Firewall which I installed) and I don't use any proxy.
Back to top
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11052
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Mon 05 Sep 2005, 15:44    Post subject:  

puppian_guest wrote:
Oh..forgot to say that my situation is perhaps different from that of sensen_jessica.
I don't think I'm behind any firewall (except Morizot Firewall which I installed) and I don't use any proxy.


That is a difference. The way I read the script is that a ping failure initiates the error loop.

How about testing ping?

# ping www.google.com

(ctrl-c to stop)

# ping ibiblio.org

I'd like to know what you get.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppian


Joined: 18 Jul 2005
Posts: 538
Location: PuppyLand

PostPosted: Tue 06 Sep 2005, 08:39    Post subject:  

Thanks for the input Bruce Smile

# ping www.google.com
PING www.l.google.com (66.249.89.99): 56 data bytes

--- www.l.google.com ping statistics ---
145 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100% packet loss
# ping ibiblio.org
PING ibiblio.org (152.2.210.80): 56 data bytes

--- ibiblio.org ping statistics ---
126 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100% packet loss

What does that mean?

_________________
Puppylinux.org - Community home page of Puppy Linux hosted by Barry (creator of Puppy), created and maintained by the Puppy Linux Foundation since 2005
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11052
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Tue 06 Sep 2005, 16:44    Post subject:  

puppian wrote:
Thanks for the input Bruce Smile

# ping www.google.com
PING www.l.google.com (66.249.89.99): 56 data bytes

--- www.l.google.com ping statistics ---
145 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100% packet loss
# ping ibiblio.org
PING ibiblio.org (152.2.210.80): 56 data bytes

--- ibiblio.org ping statistics ---
126 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100% packet loss

What does that mean?


ping -c 1 www.google.com
PING www.l.google.com (66.102.7.104): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 66.102.7.104: icmp_seq=0 ttl=243 time=24.0 ms

--- www.l.google.com ping statistics ---
1 packets transmitted, 1 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 24.0/24.0/24.0 ms

----------------

You have 100% loss and I have 0% loss.

I also pinged the IP address 66.249.89.99 with no packet loss.

----------------

This is why pupget works for me and why it puts you in a loop.

I don't know. Are you blocking PORT 8 with a firewall? Are you behing a router or something between your PC and a direct Internet connection?

I guess I'd need to have a better picture of your connection setup before I could guess what might be the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppian


Joined: 18 Jul 2005
Posts: 538
Location: PuppyLand

PostPosted: Tue 06 Sep 2005, 18:02    Post subject:  

Bruce B wrote:
You have 100% loss and I have 0% loss.

That's really a big difference Smile
Bruce B wrote:
Are you blocking PORT 8 with a firewall? Are you behing a router or something between your PC and a direct Internet connection?

I don't know. I install the Morizot firewall through the wizard.
If I don't know anything about router does it mean that I'm not behind one?

Btw, would the way I installed the modem driver make any difference? As Puppy 1.0.3 doesn't have the make/install command, I install it using insmod -f and a few other lines, something like this:
insmod -f Intel536.o
rm /dev/536ep
mknod /dev/536ep c 240 1
ln -s /dev/536ep /dev/modem

It's an Intel 536 modem and the driver was downloaded from Intel's website.
Would the lack of configuration, which should have been done by make/install, be the cause of the problem?

_________________
Puppylinux.org - Community home page of Puppy Linux hosted by Barry (creator of Puppy), created and maintained by the Puppy Linux Foundation since 2005
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11052
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Tue 06 Sep 2005, 18:56    Post subject:  

I guess you are not behind a router.

I presume a direct telephone modem Internet connection.

Let's look at my successful ping again

64 bytes from 66.102.7.104: icmp_seq=0 ttl=243 time=24.0 ms

I have a really, really fast connection. You don't.

One possibility is ping works, but the ttl (time to live) gets exceeded. Unfortunately, Puppy's ping doesn't seem have a way of extending the tll. It is a busybox ping lacking some features.

I would consider the possiblity of a problem due to a slow connection as one possibility. But there are other possibilities also.

The PING PORT IS PORT 8 - it accepts a specific type of protocol called an ICMP packet and responds to it with a reply.

The ping request is sent from your computer to the other computers PORT 8.

At this point we don't even know if the ping request is leaving your computer, as it could be blocked on outbound.

I'll PM you later with my IP address and see if my log shows receiving your request. That's about alll I can think of right now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11052
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Tue 06 Sep 2005, 19:02    Post subject:  

Afterthought: If you have Windows on the same computer you can try pinging it from Windows. As I remember from the Dark Ages, Windows ping has a way of extending the time to live and other options.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Tue 06 Sep 2005, 20:05    Post subject:  

you seem to have a direct dialup connection
the driver could be blocking the ping packets
i don't think it should be doing that though

i made the Morizot firewall here
i think i just used the default configuration
i hacked it a bit, so if it doesn't work right you can blame me

it isn't very restrictive
basically, it should allow all requests out
it should allow all replies to requests in
it should block all other incoming packets

so it should not block the pings
i use that firewall, and it doesn't block pings on my machine

you can easily shut down the firewall to see if it's the problem ... just type:

/etc/rc.d/rc.firewall-morizot stop

you can start it again by typing:

/etc/rc.d/rc.firewall-morizot

or something like that ... i don't actually use Puppy's firewall wizard ... i just put my own copies of the firewall in my-applications/bin, so i can just type
fw stop
fw
fw-azureus

i hacked it a bit, to stop the logging ... i found the logging annoying on the command line if i shut down X

another simple firewall which should be good is Quicktables ... there's a Quicktables dotpup somewhere
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Tue 06 Sep 2005, 21:12    Post subject: hacked PupGet  

here's a slightly hacked version of PupGet from Puppy 1.0.5 alpha 2

it may or may not be compatible with the version of Puppy you are using

this should install in my-roxapps

i disabled the ping test
pupget105a2hacked.pup
Description  hacked PupGet
pup

 Download 
Filename  pupget105a2hacked.pup 
Filesize  13.54 KB 
Downloaded  235 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppian


Joined: 18 Jul 2005
Posts: 538
Location: PuppyLand

PostPosted: Wed 07 Sep 2005, 01:12    Post subject:  

Bruce B wrote:
I guess you are not behind a router.
I presume a direct telephone modem Internet connection.

Yes, it's a direct telephone modem Internet connection Smile

Bruce B wrote:
One possibility is ping works, but the ttl (time to live) gets exceeded. Unfortunately, Puppy's ping doesn't seem have a way of extending the tll. It is a busybox ping lacking some features.
I'll PM you later with my IP address and see if my log shows receiving your request. That's about alll I can think of right now.

Yes please.

Bruce B wrote:
If you have Windows on the same computer you can try pinging it from Windows.

I have both Win98 and XP on the same computer, how to do I ping it from Windows? Type something in the command line?

GuestToo wrote:
you can easily shut down the firewall to see if it's the problem

Tried it according to your instruction but there's no difference. So the problem is not caused by the Morizot firewall.

GuestToo wrote:
here's a slightly hacked version of PupGet

Hey it works!!!!
I've downloaded the Impress Slide Presentation package in seconds!
So with help from both of you we can now conclude that the problem is caused by ping. Thanks! Very Happy

Now we can go on to check Bruce assumption:
"One possibility is ping works, but the ttl (time to live) gets exceeded..."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
puppian


Joined: 18 Jul 2005
Posts: 538
Location: PuppyLand

PostPosted: Wed 07 Sep 2005, 01:19    Post subject:  

Btw, when I go to http://www.all-nettools.com/toolbox to try their ping test, it gives:

www.l.google.com (64.233.161.104)
4 packets transmitted, 4 packets received, 0% packet loss
Host reachable, average round-trip time: 12.209 ms

It seems working! I don't know why...
I'm using Opera to access all-nettools.com.

Edit: Typing ping www.google.com under WinXP gives this:

E:\Documents and Settings\supxp02>ping www.google.com

Pinging www.l.google.com [66.102.7.99] with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 66.102.7.99:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

Again 100% loss.
I'm wondering whether the performance of my connection is affected with the 100% loss?
Or it doesn't matter at all?

_________________
Puppylinux.org - Community home page of Puppy Linux hosted by Barry (creator of Puppy), created and maintained by the Puppy Linux Foundation since 2005
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
John Doe

Joined: 01 Aug 2005
Posts: 1689
Location: Michigan, US

PostPosted: Wed 07 Sep 2005, 15:57    Post subject:  

Bruce B wrote:
Thinking more about it - I'd say that error 10 and 11 is generated by a failure of the ping command to get a response.


Well this explains my problem. I block all ICMP packets and thought the package installer just didn't work. I've been getting this since I started:

ERROR: 10 IS UNREACHABLE!
...are you connected to the Internet?
...maybe that site is down? Try another.

I ended up just downloading them and installing them from my local system. I think pupget should only fail on the actual HTTP GET or FTP request, not a ping.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11052
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Thu 08 Sep 2005, 00:46    Post subject:  

John Doe wrote:
Bruce B wrote:
Thinking more about it - I'd say that error 10 and 11 is generated by a failure of the ping command to get a response.


Well this explains my problem. I block all ICMP packets and thought the package installer just didn't work. I've been getting this since I started:

ERROR: 10 IS UNREACHABLE!
...are you connected to the Internet?
...maybe that site is down? Try another.

I ended up just downloading them and installing them from my local system. I think pupget should only fail on the actual HTTP GET or FTP request, not a ping.


It seems apparent to me, by reading the script that the pinging used as a health test to see if it's good to go through with the rest of the procedure.

Now that it is discovered people that some people are having problems with ping, wget could be used to check health if someone wants to rewrite the script. Also wget would use the actual server ports and get actual server response.

play with things like:

wget www.ibiblio.org --server-response --tries=1 --timeout=15 --cookies=off --output-file=/tmp/health.test

wget ftp.ibiblio.org --server-response --tries=2 --timeout=30 --output-file=/dev/null

(i don't know off hand the optimum timeout and tries to determine a pass or fail or way to go about it)

I think the key word string to look for in an automated health test is 200 OK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11052
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Thu 08 Sep 2005, 01:09    Post subject:  

Puppian, I don't Windows, but I'm almost postive you can adjust the ping ttl with the Windows ping.

Type ping /? and see what options it gives. If you can adjust the ttl as I suspect, you can determine if this is your problem, and more or less how much ttl you would need for pinging.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [36 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0925s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0134s) ][ GZIP on ]