Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 19:13
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
how to configure proxy in puppy?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Author Message
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Thu 08 Sep 2005, 02:39    Post_subject:  

you can install and use the standard ping program in Puppy too ... go to my dotpups page, press ctrl+F to search for ping
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppian


Joined: 18 Jul 2005
Posts: 538
Location: PuppyLand

PostPosted: Thu 08 Sep 2005, 15:45    Post_subject:  

GuestToo wrote:
you can install and use the standard ping program in Puppy too ... go to my dotpups page, press ctrl+F to search for ping

Thanks! Bruce has also sent me something similar too, many thanks for everyone's help! You guys are just great Smile

With the new ping,
Code:
PING www.l.google.com (66.249.89.99) 56(84) bytes of data.
From 202.130.xx.xx: icmp_seq=1 Dest Unreachable, Bad Code: 9
From 202.130.xx.xx icmp_seq=1 Dest Unreachable, Bad Code: 9
From 202.130.xx.xx icmp_seq=2 Dest Unreachable, Bad Code: 9
From 202.130.xx.xx icmp_seq=3 Dest Unreachable, Bad Code: 9
From 202.130.xx.xx icmp_seq=4 Dest Unreachable, Bad Code: 9
From 202.130.xx.xx icmp_seq=5 Dest Unreachable, Bad Code: 9

Any idea?
Btw, I just know that I've forgotten to disable my firewall when I try ping in WinXp Embarassed
Now with my firewall (McAfee) disabled, it gives:
Code:

E:\Documents and Settings\supxp02>ping www.google.com

Pinging www.l.google.com [66.249.89.104] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 202.130.xx.xxx: Destination net unreachable.
Reply from 202.130.xx.xxx: Destination net unreachable.
Reply from 202.130.xx.xxx: Destination net unreachable.
Reply from 202.130.xx.xxx: Destination net unreachable.

Ping statistics for 66.249.89.104:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

0% loss for the first time...though I don't know what that means Smile

_________________
Puppylinux.org - Community home page of Puppy Linux hosted by Barry (creator of Puppy), created and maintained by the Puppy Linux Foundation since 2005
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11109
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Thu 08 Sep 2005, 18:50    Post_subject:  

I don't know.

Ping yourself at 127.0.0.1 and at your Internet IP address and see what you get.

Increase the ttl

If you have enough ttl and your really are not blocking yourself with a firewall or something, call your ISP. Make their tech help explain it to you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppian


Joined: 18 Jul 2005
Posts: 538
Location: PuppyLand

PostPosted: Thu 08 Sep 2005, 19:09    Post_subject:  

Bruce B wrote:
I don't know.

Ping yourself at 127.0.0.1 and at your Internet IP address and see what you get.

ping 127.0.0.1 gives 0% loss:
================
PING 127.0.0.1 (127.0.0.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.130 ms
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.112 ms
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.115 ms
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.114 ms

--- 127.0.0.1 ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 2997ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.112/0.117/0.130/0.015 ms
================

Ping ISP IP address still gives 'bad code 9' and
4 packets transmitted, 0 received, +4 errors, 100% packet loss, time 3050ms
================

Bruce B wrote:
Increase the ttl

How? By typing myping -t XX in rxvt?
And what should be the value of XX?
Thanks for your patience with me. I'm a newbie in networking Smile

Bruce B wrote:
If you have enough ttl and your really are not blocking yourself with a firewall or something, call your ISP. Make their tech help explain it to you.

As I know nothing about 'ping' I'm asking another silly question Smile
Does it really matter if ping results in 100% packet loss?
And is my connection speed affected by that?
My browser, gFTP, wget...etc all seems working, except pupget.
So perhaps I should leave it that way?
(Of course it wiill be great if I can have '0% packet lose', but maybe it's too difficult for a newbie like me Smile)

_________________
Puppylinux.org - Community home page of Puppy Linux hosted by Barry (creator of Puppy), created and maintained by the Puppy Linux Foundation since 2005
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Hank


Joined: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Fri 09 Sep 2005, 17:24    Post_subject:  

For what it's worth, the ping issue could be due to location. I live in Central America and the way things are configured here, most likely with my internet provider, I can't ping anything beyond the name servers of my provider.

In Windows you can see if this is your problem by opening a dos window and running a trace route command. This will show you all the connections made between your computer and google (up to 30 hops):

tracert www.google.com

I found this thread in response to my inability to use PupGet. And now I know why. Thanks for the insight!

_________________
Experience is a wonderful thing; it enables you to recognize a mistake when you make it again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppian


Joined: 18 Jul 2005
Posts: 538
Location: PuppyLand

PostPosted: Wed 14 Sep 2005, 16:28    Post_subject:  

Thanks for the info Hank.
I've tried tracert www.google.com in XP (with firewall disabled) and it says "Destination net unreachable". I guess that means it's the ISP problem?

Anyway, it's great that we now know how to get PupGet works. Thanks BruceB and G2 Smile

_________________
Puppylinux.org - Community home page of Puppy Linux hosted by Barry (creator of Puppy), created and maintained by the Puppy Linux Foundation since 2005
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0672s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0094s) ][ GZIP on ]