Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 22 Aug 2014, 19:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
gCAD3D: a 3D CAD program
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 6 [81 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6678
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Wed 24 Jun 2009, 21:31    Post subject:  

Uploaded v1.28.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6678
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Fri 07 Aug 2009, 08:42    Post subject:  

Uploaded v1.30.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jrb


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1031
Location: Smithers, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Fri 07 Aug 2009, 11:01    Post subject:  

I have packaged gCAD3D and its 3 dependencies as ch-gCAD3D-1.30.sfs. You will still need OpenGL.

I am not a CAD user (yet!) but so far it seems to run well in ChoicePup 412 and should run as well in other pups. The help function doesn't find a browser but the numerous help files may be accessed in /usr/local/gCAD3D/doc.

Thanks Muggins, J
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6678
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Fri 07 Aug 2009, 19:22    Post subject:  

jrb,

I wonder which browser you're using? As browser works with p412, (although there are some docs missing in English as haven't been translated.)

If you run, in console:

/usr/local/gCAD3D/gCAD3D

does it detect your browser?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jrb


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1031
Location: Smithers, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Fri 07 Aug 2009, 20:52    Post subject:  

muggins wrote:
I wonder which browser you're using?

Netsurf is my defaulthtmlviewer and browser until another is loaded. I was running Opera as my defaultbrowser when I tried accessing help files.
Quote:
If you run, in console: /usr/local/gCAD3D/gCAD3D
returns:
Code:
 **** kein HTML-Browser gefunden
** ERROR: cannot find a browser to display file  /usr/local/gCAD3D/doc/gCAD3D_startMAN_en.htm

If I go to the /doc subfolder I can click on any of the htm files and they open in netsurf.

I'd try it in p412 but I don't have that setup with OpenGL. Maybe I'll do that later this evening.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6678
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Fri 07 Aug 2009, 22:34    Post subject:  

Unfotunately I can't see any easy way to specify a browser. I'11 send a query to the developer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
xandas

Joined: 23 Jun 2006
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Fri 14 Aug 2009, 08:22    Post subject: Trying Bricscad 9 (the last edition)  

First I installed Bricscad 6 downloaded from the Bricsys page, native Linux.
It a trial for 30 days (or runs?).
It is good but old, and not runs with the fluidity needed in for a CAD user.
Now I am trying the version 9 (the latest one), in Muppy 083f.
I dont uninstalled the 6 version.
I downloaded the v.9 seeking in Google "Bricscad Portable".
It runs so good as the Win version.
Really a good program, and it runs in Muppy faster than Autocad in Windows. It is nearly full compatible.
It is not free, but it is a cheaper alternative.

I discover that Muppy 083f (and 084) is the most complete an solid version of Puppy I tried. Really the first version to make a complete windows replacement.
The linux programs runs very well, and a lot of windows programs too.
Thanks Mark.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6678
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Sun 06 Sep 2009, 18:48    Post subject:  

Uploaded v1.32.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1004
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Wed 09 Sep 2009, 02:48    Post subject:  

Hi Muggins,
muggins wrote:
Uploaded v1.32.

Thanks a lot for your job as also jrb's .sfs !
I tried the 1.30.sfs and it runs straight forward (need xorg.xorg.....full-dri.pet - which I don't remind exactly the syntax).
Using gcad3d is rather unusual when used to Autocad or even QCad. I'm now learning to work with (when I have time to) with the goal to use it more intensively for my job for 3D structures design. It looks promising.
I'll tell the forum more in the future - don't know when...
Cheers
Charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6678
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Wed 09 Sep 2009, 05:55    Post subject:  

Charlie,

good to hear you're getting to grips with using gCAD3D...I've never used
any CAD programs, so would be of no help if you had any queries...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1004
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Thu 01 Oct 2009, 10:47    Post subject:
Subject description: ch-gCAD3D-1.sfs tested on puppy4.3 k2.6.30.5: won't run
 

Hi,
after sfs4 conversion, ch-gCAD3D-1.sfs tested on puppy 4.3 k2.6.30.5: won't run.
Should it be kernel version sensible?
OpenGL is working though.

here is the error message when running gCAD3D from terminal:
Code:
# ./gCAD3D
...
GUI_Tx_Win
GUI_Pix /usr/local/gCAD3D/xa/xa_logo.xpm
The program '<unknown>' received an X Window System error.
This probably reflects a bug in the program.
The error was 'BadMatch'.
  (Details: serial 935 error_code 8 request_code 144 minor_code 5)
  (Note to programmers: normally, X errors are reported asynchronously;
   that is, you will receive the error a while after causing it.
   To debug your program, run it with the --sync command line
   option to change this behavior. You can then get a meaningful
   backtrace from your debugger if you break on the gdk_x_error() function.)
#


also tested on puppy4.3 k2.6.25.16: OK! after getting OpenGL working

Cheers
Charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6678
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Fri 02 Oct 2009, 00:50    Post subject:  

charlie6,

I don't know about the .sfs, but the current .pet, v1.32, seems to work, providing you install only openGL & libgtkgl-2.0.so.1.0.0.pet. I just tried it on p430, kernel 2.6.30.5, and was at first mystified when my graphics were corrupted. But then I see that libgio is already included in p430, so after removing save file, and just installing gCAD3D, openGL & libgtkgl-2.0, it seems to run OK.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6678
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Fri 02 Oct 2009, 00:52    Post subject:  

I've also amended the first post to advise people Not to install libgio, if using p430. And it appears that libselinix isn't needed for p430 as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1004
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Fri 02 Oct 2009, 02:31    Post subject:  

Hi Muggins, thank you for your time!
muggins wrote:
I've also amended the first post to advise people Not to install libgio, if using p430. And it appears that libselinix isn't needed for p430 as well.

I have to admit that I am a bit "lizy" as a .sfs file is more convenient to install than a heap of pets...Smile
I'll have a try on those pets.
cheers, charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1004
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Fri 02 Oct 2009, 11:46    Post subject: Re: gCAD3D: a 3D CAD program
Subject description: How to get OpenGL working on latest pup430 k2.6.30.5 ?
 

Hi Muggins,
I have tried the pets on page 1...thanks again for them !
question 1
Quote:
N.B. Just tried it on Barry's latest p430 release and, besides needing openGL ...

Could you help how to get OpenGL working on latest pup430 final?
No success using the xorg_xorg_full_dri-7.3.pet Sad (snif!)

On one machine with basic Intel-845G-graphic-onboard I did not get OpenGL working whereas xorg_xorg_full_dri-7.3.pet installed
(glxinfo gives a very short comment; does not even tell "direct rendering:No"; seems really not being working on the new kernel);
whereas on the same machine running pup430 k2.6.25.16 + xorg_xorg_full_dri-7.3.pet it tells "direct rendering: Yes" +gCAD3D .working;

On a second machine with NVIDIA Ge6 graphic card, using gray's Nvidia.pet drivers (thanks gray ! - see here
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=341972#341972) - that driver has laready OpenGL in it - I got this:
- gcad3d working on pup430 k2.6.25.16
- gcad3d NOT working on pup430 k2.6.30.5
Code:
# glxinfo         [i]on pup430 k2.6.30.5[/i]
name of display: :0.0
display: :0  screen: 0
direct rendering: Yes
...
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce 6200SE TurboCache(TM)/PCI/SSE2
OpenGL version string: 2.1.2 NVIDIA 185.18.36
...


thank you for your reply
cheers, charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 6 [81 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0762s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0028s) ][ GZIP on ]