Versitile Puppy (Long Post)

Booting, installing, newbie
Skepticus

Versitile Puppy (Long Post)

#1 Post by Skepticus »

Hi All,

I have just 'installed' (well burned and booted really) puppy on my desktop pc and was very impressed. It seems ten times bigger on the inside than on the outside, if you know what I mean. I was really looking for a distro, to load on my old Compaq Armada 1560D laptop, but I also love the idea of having a live distro that saves all of my user settings so my whole OS and desktop is portable and can go with me. I can show other people my desktop and still maintain all of my familiar settings and modifications. Thats just fantastic!! Well done Bruce and everybody involved in putting together this amazing little distro. :D

I had hoped to do something similar in Simply Mepis, which I have been using for several months now. The main sticking point with the live CD's of other distros, is that they are not functional out of the box to use as a working OS. The 'live' part only serves as a demo mode. You have to do some research and configuration to save settings and store user files, so that it functions as a useable live OS. I would have knocked up a little utility to configure and mount a usb-drive/floppy as a home partition and have it syncronise the files that store user deffined settings; but now I have a puppy, why bother?

The iceing on the cake is that I can customise my environment and remaster this as new CD. I will certainly be trying this out. I hope it will be the functional equivelant of re-mastering a new distro (based on Puppy).